Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animals killer 2011 remaster
To date I have got Dark Side, the 2 cd version, Meddle, Atom Heart Mother and Animals from the Pink Floyd remasters. Of the 4 albums that I have heard so far this has got to be the most impressive in terms of remastering. It has benefitted most from the work carried out at Das Boot Studios, not what I would have expected considering the age of the recording, in having the...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (...

versus
36 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A single star because of the awful packaging!!!! not for the music!!!!
I am an absolute sucker for remasters and I have just bought the entire Pink Floyd set of remasters.
No issues with the sound quality, they are brilliant and well worth the money. The sound is less harsh than the original CD's and much more like the original vinyl. Really great sound!
No this is a single star for the awful packaging quality. I actually like the...
Published on 4 Oct 2011 by GadgetMan


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animals killer 2011 remaster, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Animals [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
To date I have got Dark Side, the 2 cd version, Meddle, Atom Heart Mother and Animals from the Pink Floyd remasters. Of the 4 albums that I have heard so far this has got to be the most impressive in terms of remastering. It has benefitted most from the work carried out at Das Boot Studios, not what I would have expected considering the age of the recording, in having the music presented better than ever before.

For a start the acoustic guitar work on the opener Pigs On The Wing just sound so much better, more realistic, natural, better filled out in the lower mid range eq and more obviously wooden in nature. Rogers singing is cleaner clearer and yet less harsh than the Shine On Boxset version I have.

Dogs is just an amazing tour de force. David Gilmour wrote the music for this and his guitar work is at a peak, better and more varied than anything he did before or since. This track has great shifts in dynamics moving through a series of movements like an orchestral piece. Again the use of acoustic and electric guitars sound so much better, being separated into individual instruments playing together rather than an amalgamated sound that approximates both together. Lyrically, care of Rog, this track is a damning of the business approach to life in a clear and unambiuous way.

Pigs, again vitriolic and direct, gains a lot from the remastering. The harmonies in Rogers overdubbed vocals really 'sing' and are distinctly clearer than the 1994 version. The sound of the pigs themselves is more resonant and natural. For me this track is the highlight of the album thanks to the jaw dropping range and quality of guitar work on show. There are acoustic guitars in the mix, along with various electric guitars processed differently and then the killer solo featuring the guitar being fed through a Dunlop Voice Box to allow DG to emulate the pigs and to give the solo greater emotive range.

Sheep, again the recorded animals sounds are so much more natural than before, and the ping ponging sound of Rick Wrights keyboards is so much more apparent and enjoyable. Rick Wrights contribution to this album is of the highest order. I reckon it is the best example of his skills as a musician, using various synth, organ and piano sounds to lift the songs to a new level.

I also thing that the pitch on the previous issue was wrong. I am fairly sure everything here is presented a third or a half tone down on the last one, without affecting the tempo. I think there must have been a software problem or a careless techie behind this fault. The new album has a better defined mid to lower end and is much more musically tight, for lack of a better term. The animals and birds all sound right this time, not processed or tweaked.

So, for fans of Floyd, do not hesitate, get this and enjoy an album, that I have literally avoided on cd for years due to its harsh presentation, sounding better than I would have imagined it could.

edit - this album features some of the finest keyboard playing that Rick Wright did with Floyd. He, to use a football term, plays a blinder, getting the keyboard to morph into Rogers voice, Daves guitar and so on.......taking what is a rough run through of Dogs and Sheep on the Wish You Were Here bonus cd and turn them into the superb polished monoliths that are here. His playing and ability to conjure up powerful moods is overlooked too often in favour of David Gilmours guitar work and Roger Waters Lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last Floyd classic, 14 Oct 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animals (Audio CD)
Stuck halfway between the exalted "Wish You Were Here" and the controversy-beset "The Wall", "Animals" remains a relatively publicity-shy Floyd album. Released during the rise of punk rock, it conceded nothing to the new attitude. Just three tracks comprise all but three minutes of the album. Much as I like much of the punk and new wave music, I've never wavered in my liking for "Animals". The track "Dogs" may be seventeen minutes long, but it consists of sustained energy and Roger Waters' vitriol. It is also superbly crafted, allowing the band to stretch out without losing control. As ever, Waters' articulation of his feelings about the human condition, in this case the social workplace, is more incisive than anything produced by more recent songwriters. "Dogs" is a potent combination of the violent and the eerie.
"Pigs", which opens side two, is memorable for some inspired lyrics, such as "You radiate cold shafts of broken glass". It's also widely remembered for its attack on Mary Whitehouse. The pauses between phrases add suspense to your anticipation of what's about to follow. There's a feeling that Floyd are tightening someone's noose.
"Sheep" provides a wonderful climax to the album, driven by a galloping rhythm reminiscent of the bass on "One Of These Days" from "Meddle". There's a macabre interlude in which the "Lord's Prayer" is subverted and an air of maniacal, bloodthirsty laughter. The tiny songs which bookend "Animals", "Pigs On The Wing" (1 and 2) at first appear insignificant, but against the tension of the rest of the album they provide a gentle release.
"Animals" is in the same league as the previous two albums and far better than "The Wall". If you like any of those albums, you'll probably like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLOYD HAVE TEETH AND NOT SCARED TO BITE!, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Animals (Audio CD)
All I can say about this terrifying album has already been said in the other reviews here. The only word missing from any of those reviews is 'AWESOME'. The sound on the three long tracks 'Dogs', 'Pigs (three different ones)' and 'Sheep' is violent, aggressive and strong. The lyrics were the most powerful to date from Roger Waters. Only his anthologies on 'The Final Cut', 'Radio KAOS' and 'Amused to Death' come close. Even though Animals makes uneasy listening it is compulsive. It is often on my CD player when the wife's out so the volume can be raised a little.
If you are new to Floyd but own 'Echoes' or 'A Collection Of Great Dance Songs' then check out 'Sheep' more closely. The sound/feel of this one track is the same as on Dogs and Pigs. The two ballads on the album, Pigs on the Wing 1 and 2 only amount to 3 minutes of this 42 minute magnum opus and are rare because they are love songs. Love songs on a Floyd album indeed, next there will be comedy. The last time one could laugh with Floyd was back in '69 when they were taking the mick of the Scots in 'Several Species Of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together In A Cave And Grooving With A Pict'.
This is a very bleak, miserable album, cold and desolate but I love it. Nick Mason adds sombre drumming, almost funeral beat in the mid part of Dogs. His traditional cymbal playing is here which just brings enough life to each piece. David Gilmour pours his soul out on any of the guitar solos. Richard Wright's grand piano is fragmented and broken (it's meant to be) so its superb construction makes for an even colder feel. To me, Wright has never matched his piano (not keyboards) playing here. But come the showdown of each piece everyone gels and the finest Hard Rock is produced.
The cover is again by Hipgnosis but Roger had a lot to do with it but not fully credited for it so he fell out with them. Hence, Scarfe on The Wall. Even though the pig on the cover is painted in a real inflatable was used but broke away causing air traffic chaos until it landed in Kent. The photo inside the booklet are more comprehensive than the original LP version and include colour. This does not detract anything from the original artwork. The building used on the cover is Battersea Power Station, London. It is now a shell of its former self but it radiates a menacing coldness which suits this album perfectly.
Musically I cannot liken this to any other album (by any artist). It is simply stunning and unique. This is what George Orwell's 1937 novel "Road To Wigan Pier" set to music would have sounded. Others (Bowie and Rick Wakeman icluded) have tried their hand at an Orwellian approach but this is the best.
Thanks for reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oink Oink, Woof Woof, Baaa, 6 Mar 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals (Audio CD)
Enter Battersea Power Station and the infamous Flying Pig. Animals is a bleak yet refreshing departure from the Floyd's higher selling albums of the 73-79 period. Haunting acoustic guitars, drums that echo like distant World War II guns, eerie keyboards, rolling bass (a la "early Floyd") and seething guitars paint a desolate landscape. But amazingly this album has a refreshing quality that somehow puts it in a class of its own. Roger Water's Orwellian view of Britain captures the bands eccentric and very English sense of humour, but at the same time asks serious questions about the greater scheme of things. Sheep, downtrodden and aimless. Dogs, predatory and menacing (surely not the products of the Thatcher generation!) and the bellicose, bullying and elitist "Pigs" all contribute to the albums considerable weightiness. So how is it refreshing ? Well simply put and forgive the pun - its got a real bite. Simple as that - Pink Floyd with a real edge.

Dogs is the most ambitious piece. It is a genuine spine tingler. The band build real tension on this track and the rest of the album - you can almost reach out and touch it. Pigs has an almost funky feel and Sheep has the Floyd's trademark throbbing base line. Give a thought though to the keyboards which are beautifully subtle throughout - Richard Wright proving yet again that he really was a vital part of the band's chemistry and what a truly superb album on headphones - revealing both a subtle and sometimes very punchy interplay between the various band members.

I never did quite work out what Pig's on the Wing was all about and the ending to Dogs seems misplaced musically if not lyrically, but I have listened to this album thousands of times and still find it stands the test of time -sometimes I think it's their best. I saw them perform it on their 77 UK tour - so it has a special place for me, but of no doubt it completes a wonderful run of three albums starting with Dark Side of the Moon, then Wish You Were Here and then Animals itself. Oh I hate to go on about it, but the art work is just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANIMAL CRACKERS..., 21 Dec 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animals [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
Took a while but i finally got around to purchasing this 2012 remaster(specifically because there was no extra's),for me the 4 albums released from DARK SIDE.... thru to the '....WALL' are the high point in Floyd's history,4 incredible releases,arguably this is the best and yet the least talked about.

As with the others,this is a digipak release,with tight fitting CD and glossy booklet which is murder to put back in the sleeve,so annoying that EMI can be so shoddy and cheap.

But the sound quality is fantastic,didnt hear too much difference on the Dark Side release,but this one,well its there for all to hear,the clarity breathtaking,acoustic guitars to the fore more than previous releases,the drums,to my ears more prominent and if its possible,Roger's vocals even more chilling,listening with the headphones,this new release is quite spectacular.

The music was never in doubt,Floyd perfection to the fore,Roger ranting at the world,the way Punk wanted to but wasnt quite able to ,the irony that bands like Floyd were wanted dead and here they were agreeing with some if not all of punk's sentiments(although still have a 'punk' mate who spews forth venom at the mere mention of Floyd).

Highlights,well all of it really although if pushed the epic 'Dogs' with stun guitar from Dave Gilmour whilst 'Sheep' and 'Pigs' are quite sinsiter with Rick's keyboards enhancing the malevolant mood,yeh like i said ,all of it ,really.

Ignoring the poor packaging and no extra's,(the Snowy white track found on the american 8 tracks would have been fantastic) but it would still be churlish to award anything less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I can hear the difference anyone can!!!, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animals [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
Having been disappointed in the lack of diffence in sound quality between the new DSOTM and my old copy I held back on buying this. But as I read the reviews here on Amazon it seemed that perhaps it was worth taking a chance on. And am I glad I did. I'm not some sort of weird audiophile who can talk for hours about the midrange, EQ and compression but I do know what I like. And I like this. I could hear the difference straight away when I compared it with my old copy. Everything sounds clearer and better, but not louder. I could never understand why Animals was seen as the runt of the litter, I prefer it to The Wall. So if you're of a similar opinion but wondering whether this new version is worth your hard earned dosh, the answer is most certainly YES. Afterall as the title of this review says........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a harsh listen??, 27 Sep 2011
By 
d r pengelley (Biggin Hill , Kent.ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Animals [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
A quick summary would be a simple NO !!

So , my advice , don't dither. If you love this album , as i do , but have previously found the sound harsh , tinny & all in all, a general let down . Rest assured your new umpteenth re purchase will provide you with the best sounding version.
Its not hugely loud , like some re issues (Zep)for instance.this is i think a good thing.

The previous ultra harsh sound has largely gone . The bass de la Rog is full & resonant, There is so much more detail , what was mushy is now clear.The band sound great. Balanced & enjoyable.

Don't get me wrong this is not light & day, but it is a vast improvement.
Pigs 3 different ones , in particular is fantastic.

Buy , Listen & Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Pink Floyd Record, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animals (Audio CD)
My liking of The Floyd started in 1989 with the Television Broadcast of the In Venice movie. Live, as it happened, and my brother recorded it on a old, battered VHS tape. On the dainty Long Play facility, so that now, some 15 years after, I've never been able to watch it or copy it since. For years, scraping by on pocket money, I never bothered with Animals or The Final Cut, reasoning that if The Floyddidn't play anything from it, it probably wasn't very good.

How wrong I was.

Animals is by no means an easy album : no collection of radio-friendly unit shifters here. But then again, genius is rarely easy either. Animals is undoubtedly the densest, darkest Floyd album there is.

For some, Animals has always been perceived, somewhat appropriately, the runt of the litter. : it was just another FloydCD box staring out of a rack (admittedly one that has a really cool picture on the front), another album where the songs never got played live or on the radio, and who wants 17 minute epics where you can sing to pretty songs like Wish You Were Here on the radio.

And I was one of those. It took me until 1999 to buy a copy of Animals. In the past few years it has been the Floyd album I return to the most, and for good reason. Even now I feel as if there is still more to be gained from listening to again - yet another layer of meaning to be unravelled from the complex lyrics and the inventive musicianships. And whilst some may say that Animals is the Floyd's simplest album, in terms of the bluntness of the lyrics, concept and music, one of the beauties of a democracy is that some have the right to be wrong.

Let us start with the cover.

Everyday, as I look out of my bedroom window, I see four white cannons reaching to the sky. I live in the shadow of perhaps the greatest symbol of human ambition, and human failure there is. The single largest piece of undeveloped inner-city real estate in the whole of Europe.

Battersea Power Station, now derelict, the ancient, rotting skeleton of the industrial revolution. On the cover to Animals, in its glory days, the station stands immobile, surrounded by trains, sheds, rail tracks. And a small, tiny pig hovering near one of the chimneys.

Mankind might create something of worth in this world. Man's ambition to conquer nature may prevail. But we're all Animals, even the ones that wear clothes. And pigs might fly.

Animals is the most under-rated Floyd album in their body of work. Whereas the albums around it, the immensely popular Dark Side Of The Moon, Wish You Were Here and the bloated The Wall, were all chock full of shorter, more palatable material, Animals, is a dense, difficult work, reprising the side-long 17 minute epics that characterised Meddle and Atom Heart Mother. There's little chance of ever hearing the splendour of the full version of "Dogs" on the radio, even if it weren't for the songs aggressively spiteful lyrics and barbed deconstruction of capitalism.

Lyrically and musically Animals is, unwittingly, very much a precursor to the punk revolution. At the time of its release Floyd looked to be just another dinosaur, another relic of the past that may very well be swept aside in the new wave. In some respects, the Floyd were everything that Punk was fighting against, and in the midst of this, they released their most obviously anti-establishment album : Animals is a damning indictment of capitalism, hypocrisy, and near enough everything and everybody.

Thematically, the album revolves around a sort of retelling of Orwell's Animal Farm, adrift as it is with Sheep and Dogs and Pigs (the three strata of society), and making clear the underlying themes of both texts : man is an animal who happens to wear shoes, and is as ruthless as any other animal in the wild. This theory is offset by Waters sweet love songs "Pigs On The Wing" - the one chink of light in a resolutely grey sky - which serve both as relief from the unremitting nihilism and to reinforce the darkness of the rest of the set.

Following "Pigs On The Wing", comes "Dogs" : the centre point of the album, and baring the emotional resonance of an album in itself. The song, which evolved from "You Gotta Be Crazy", premiered on the bands 1974 tour, was a long established staple of their live set by the time of release, and was the only Waters / Gilmour collaboration on the album. In fact "You Gotta Be Crazy" was probably the last time that the Floyd worked together as a cohesive unit, borne as it was from the same writing sessions that gave us "Wish You Were Here". But the song barely changed from its premiere performances to its final recording in January 1977.

As a whole, "Dogs" is a long, hard song. 17 minutes of Waters spewing bile about humanity : a dog-eat-dog world of hardnosed predatory capitalism, probably best espoused in this lyric:

"Everyone's expendable, and no one has a real friend And it seems to you the thing to do would be to isolate the winner Everything's done under the sun And you believe at heart everyone's a killer"

In "Dogs", human beings - that is the majority of the population who enforce the Status Quo are presented as not particularly clever or informed, slightly vicious, and generally ignorant and fearful. Everyone's scared of showing weakness and being exploited by other around them, and the general mood of the song is ruthless paranoia. But "Dogs" is also, in my mind, Pink Floyd best song. The song, constructed out of dozens of small parts, constantly shifts in style and stature from intimate to bombastic, and reveals a few excellent stylistic tricks : the bizarre moment where Waters vocals merge slowly and indistinguishably with an eerie synth line in the middle of the song is a moment that I still feel slightly uneasy listening to no matter how many times I listen to it. The other moment of unease in "Dogs" is the masterful work of Gilmour, who transforms his guitar tones to resemble those of barking dogs, and braying sheep through some wonderful playing and inventive use of effects pedals.

Side Two - for those of us ancient enough to remember vinyl records - commences with "Pigs (Three Different Ones)". In Orwell's Animal Farm, the Pigs are the FatCats, the leaders, the privileged elite who live in a world of luxury, and the three verses of "Three Different Ones" deconstruct three different types of `Pig'. The verses take respectively, a fatcat businessmen endlessly chasing profit, a powercrazed political leader (modelled on Margaret Thatcher), and finally, a very specific attack upon Mary Whitehouse. Probably the most provincial and local of the targets in Animals, Mary Whitehouse came to fame as a staunchly, overconservative campaigner for censorship of television and radio : the equivalent of a very grey, very wrinkled, very old Tipper Gore campaigning for "Parental Advisory" stickers on CD's. In their ways these three Pigs reinforce the Status Quo in different ways, being seen by Waters as equally problematic : The Pig of the first verse being the driver of big business, mercilessly exploiting anything and everything, the Pig of the second verse being the effectively-mindless reflexive politician chasing comfort and power, and the Pig of the third verse being that of repressed, scared, middle England who wants to live wilfully in ignorance. Musically, "Pigs (Three Different Ones)" is the least interesting song on the album, and one to which I still have difficulty remembering what the music goes like. That said, Thematically it works perfectly in establishing and cementing the concept of the album, despite being relatively slight musically.

The final major song on the album is "Sheep". "Sheep" is another epic, also premiered on the bands 1974 Winter Tour, which acts as the final closing point of this narrative : In "Sheep" (originally titled "Raving And Drooling", as we all know), the music is a harsh pounding assault, reminding one of being under hot pursuit by Dogs, and lyrically seems to tie up the loose ends of the other two songs. What are the "Sheep" though? In some respects the Sheep of the song are what a particularly patronising politician may call The People. That is, the generally ignorant working/middle class who know only what the television feeds them, believe what they are told, buy what they are told, and follow the leader, as indicated in this particularly telling couplet :

"Meek and obedient, you follow the leader Down well trodden corridors, into the valley of steel"

Further into the song, given the retelling of Psalm 23, acts as a warning. These sheep, We the People, are being lead to our slaughter by our own ignorance, like lambs in an abbatoir, it is only too late, when the truck enters the killing floor and the noise of sluices and grates is heard, that we realise, too late to act, that we are just meat fed into the grinder, like children being ground into sausages in The Wall. Following the ritual slaughter of the Sheep, and thus, the collapse of society in lyrical form caused by the untenable continuation of a rampant capitalist / consumerist society, there is nowhere else for "Sheep" to go. Mankind has amused itself to death. And Orwells vision has become flesh.

Following this, the final, swift reprise of "Pigs On The Wing". In one respect, this resurrects the initial hopeful conclusion, that somehow man can be saved from destruction through the healing power of love, but also provides sharp contrast to the sural and lyrical apocalypse around the album. It doesn't have to be like that, it says. Because someone can, and does care. And maybe, like John Lennon said, Love Is All You Need.

Animals is hard work : hard to sell, hard to digest, but my God, it rewards repeated listening. It's also easily the hardest of Floyd's albums in another, less obvious way. Where as every record before - and after - Animals uses rock and blues as a template, Animals sounds and roars like a hard rock album. Like a beast. Take, if you will, the duelling guitars, the pounding bass and seemingly relentless drums of the climax of "Sheep" - never, not even in "Run Like Hell", have Floyd sounded so aggressive, so uncompromising, so fierce.

Whereas each Floyd album rotates around a central theme or idea, Animals is the one that most clearly expresses that idea simply and clearly. Not for this album the convuluted, confusing plots of The Wall or The Final Cut, or the vagaries of Dark Side Of The Moon and Wish You Were Here but a simple and clear statement : Animals is a rock reshaping of Orwell's Animal Farm, equating all human behaviour to that of Animals.

Animals though, far more than any other Floyd album, is the one for whom there is the deepest affinity. One could be flippant and says it allows an old nihilist like me to vent his absolute disgust with human nature to a pleasing and unchallenging blues-rock soundtrack. On the other hand, one could say that it's a dark and damning statement about human nature and capitalism. But ultimately, Animals is the Floyd album to which I return the most, for me, it is the most satisfying, most complete of Floydrecords, and also the one in which I feel The Floyd were working at the height of their powers. Then again, when you live in the shadow of Battersea Power Station and see it every day on the train to work, I would say that, wouldn't I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pivotal point in Pink Floyds history.., 31 Oct 2005
By 
Mds Davis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animals (Audio CD)
It’s no doubt this album hailed a significant shift in who had the most creative control over the band. Nine years since the departure of Syd Barett from the bands line up, after nine years of working strenuously together, it transpired that for this 1977 album it was Roger Waters, rather then David Gilmour, who contributed most to the output of the band. Five years and two more albums later, this shift in power would lead to the bands temporary demise and a much speculated lawsuit.
This was four years after what is generally acknowledged as Pink Floyd’s finest moment, Dark Side of the Moon, which was no doubt a seminal moment in recording history for a number of reasons. However, by this point the musical climate was changing. Floyd were beginning to be viewed as ‘Dinosaurs’, and a type of music called punk that had been brewing in NYC for many years had exploded onto the scene, changing social and musical attitudes worldwide (although soon the notion of punk music would become as equally contrived as the view of Floyd as a pretentious band for stoners). Floyd had become associated with an old age of hallucinogenic, hippy led space rock, and the long tracks that had peppered their fantastic 1975 album Wish You Were Here only enforced that view.
With those two points in mind, it’s not difficult to see why Animals does have a partly different sound to Floyd’s previous two masterpieces. It is edgier and more guitar driven, Waters (who supplies all the albums vocals) spits with more sarcastic malice then ever before. However, Floyd had thankfully not given up their penchant for epic tracks, and the album’s core three songs all clock in at over ten minutes. In fact, the album keeps many of the aspects that make Floyd such an excellent and unique group, such as the long instrumental sections and the ambient noises (heard here in the form of cows, sheep etc). It has a definite floydian stamp all over it, and that, for me, is why it is one of Floyd’s greatest albums.
With Animals, you get everything brilliant about Floyd cased into fifty minutes. Roger Waters’s lyrics are incredible, drawing on Orwellian influences and making them relevant to 1970’s society. He sounds as disaffected and angry as many a punk rocker on the song ‘Pigs (Three Different Ones)’, and although they give a definite indication to the lyrical directions he would take to an extreme on ‘The Wall’ and ‘The Final Cut’, they are less personal here, making them more relevant and in a sense more affecting.
Although Gilmour has less of a say here then on previous albums, his musicianship is reliably mindblowing, from the atmospheric ‘Dogs’ to the brooding riff on ‘Pigs’. This album stands as possibly the last time in the bands four member period that every member is utilised to the best of their ability.
Also, Unlike ‘The Wall’, which was indeed a sprawling, epic concept album, every track here stands up brilliantly in its own right. There is no filler. Each song is marvellous in its own way, and each could be a classic, yet for some reason the songs from this album do tend to be slightly overlooked. ‘Dogs’ certainly stands alongside ‘Echoes’ as Pink Floyd at their very best, despite the differences between the two songs. Seventeen minutes long, it is a simplistically complex creation which combines some of Water’s greatest lyrics with Gilmour’s mammoth guitar performance to create a warningly malevolent soundscape. The afore mentioned Pigs is a snarling tirade against society, driven by bleak, fast paced guitar and eerie keyboard. Sheep is bizarre, eclectic, but still brilliant, and the first and last tracks, Pigs on The Wing (parts 1 and 2) are both acoustic, and both poignant.
In the history of one of the worlds greatest ever bands, Animals could certainly be viewed as a transition album. Water’s social indignation began to monopolise the lyrics, and other members began to take a back seat when it came to song writing. However, taken out of context, it stands tall as an incredible, still very relevant album, a magical moment when all four members of the band came together one final time to create a small slice of still underrated musical perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANIMAL MAGIC, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Animals (Audio CD)
just when you thought it couldnt possibly get any better the floyd come up with this masterpiece. I thought that the floyd had reached the pinnacle with 1975s gem of an album WISH YOU WERE HERE (am i the only floyd fan who finds the previous album D.S.O.T.M. a tad overrated??) but i digress. ANIMALS was both dark and had a black humour to it too. you can almost see the cynical smile on roger waters face as he sings PIGS ON THE WING. then next up is the masterful DOGS a whirlwind of musical emotions, with some outstanding guitar work by GILMOUR THE GOD.(sorry mr claptout) PIGS (three different ones ) sets the musical tone for the outstanding(to me) track on the album. the truly awesome SHEEP. to me one of roger waters finest moments.How this album is frequently overlooked is beyond me. My advice to anyone who loves music is to get this masterpiece. anyway enough of my bleating and babbling im off now to listen to my non-remastered cd version but trust me i am going to buy it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animals [Discovery Edition]
Animals [Discovery Edition] by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews