Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...I'll Climb That Hill In My Own Way..." - Meddle by PINK FLOYD (2011 Single Disc 'Discovery Edition' Remaster)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 VERSION ***

Released 30 October 1971 on Harvest Records SMAS-832 in the USA and 13 November 1971 in the UK on Harvest Records SHVL 795 - original UK vinyl copies of PINK FLOYD'S "Meddle" came in an untitled textured gatefold sleeve. American issues were titled and featured reversed artwork on a hard-card sleeve - the back of the...
Published on 27 Sept. 2011 by Mark Barry

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Excellent cd tunes are fantastic although the album is old but revamped but still sounds great.
Published 26 days ago by Malcolm Duncton


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...I'll Climb That Hill In My Own Way..." - Meddle by PINK FLOYD (2011 Single Disc 'Discovery Edition' Remaster), 27 Sept. 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Meddle [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 VERSION ***

Released 30 October 1971 on Harvest Records SMAS-832 in the USA and 13 November 1971 in the UK on Harvest Records SHVL 795 - original UK vinyl copies of PINK FLOYD'S "Meddle" came in an untitled textured gatefold sleeve. American issues were titled and featured reversed artwork on a hard-card sleeve - the back of the UK cover put on the front. This 26 September 2011 version (27 Sep 2011 in the USA) on EMI 50999 028942 2 5 is a straightforward 6-track remaster of that studio album and comes in a gatefold card sleeve (using UK artwork) with a 12-page colour inlay inside (total playing time 48:51 minutes). It's called the `Discovery Edition".

1. One Of These Days [Side 1]
2. A Pillow Of Winds
3. Fearless
4. San Tropez
5. Seamus
6. Echoes [Side 2]

JAMES GUTHRIE and JOEL PLANTE have carried out the remaster on this and all 14 albums in their catalogue at the Das Boot Recording Studios in Tahoe in California (Guthrie is a Sound Engineer associated with the band since 1978). The original 1st generation master tapes have obviously been given a thorough going over because it truly feels like each song has had a staggering amount of time spent on them worrying out every single nuance possible. The audio result is truly impressive.

On the 1995 remaster the six-minute opener "One Of These Days" took ages to arrive and even when it did it was somehow dull and lackluster. How things have changed - when the huge synth riff kicks in about 2:50 on this 2011 version - the sound is incredibly clear - allowing you to hear crashes and bangs going on in the background that I've never heard before. Then the sort of Piltdown Man voice says "One Of These Days I'm Gonna Cut You Into Little Pieces..." and all Hell breaks loose - Gilmour's guitar indeed sounding like a musical chainsaw. It's revelatory genius and in that uniquely peculiar Pink Floyd kind of a way.

But even that is trumped by the awesome clarity of the forgotten and hugely underrated "A Pillow Of Winds". Put simply - it sounds 'beautiful'. The jaunty "San Tropez" and the rather pointless ditty that is "Seamus" are both the same - so clear and renewed. The 23:25 minute Side 2 opus "Echoes" has hiss as it opens on sonar pings - but luckily Guthrie and Plante have allowed it to breath instead of using some no-noise dampening technique. So when the funky break takes place at about seven minutes (now being used by Dance DJs in the UK as a mix in sets) it sounds just HUGE. It's impressive stuff, it really is.

But on this album my heart has always been with "Fearless" - issued as a B-side to "One Of These Days" in the USA and other European territories. It seems like I've waited literally 40 whole years to hear this fabulous song in such clarity (lyrics above). It's a genuine wow - and reminds me of a club I used to go to in Dublin called The Grove in the Seventies when they actually used this song as a 'lurch' (a slow tune in Ireland). As it fades out to the Liverpool Football Club fans singing "You'll Never Walk Alone" (a no.1 UK hit for Gerry & The Pacemakers in 1963 and adopted by them as an anthem) - I'm in floods...

I wish I could say the same for the staggeringly unimaginative packaging. The 'Pink Floyd' logo you see in all the photos advertising these new reissues turns out to be a sticker on the outer shrink-wrap that gets lost the second you unpeel it. The card sleeves are like The Beatles 09/09/09 EMI reissues - glossy and flimsy - so they smudge with finger prints the second you open them and are easy to bend and crease. The CD itself has new generic artwork that's repeated in different colour variations throughout the series - a sort of Turquoise and Pale Green for "Meddle", a garish Red and Pink for "Obscured By Clouds" etc. It has no relevance to the original albums whatsoever (where's the original Harvest label they've used on other reissues or the colourful inner bag?) but also has no protective gauze sleeve so it will scuff on repeated plays.

But the skimpy booklet is the biggest disappointment. Although it has the lyrics (like this is a major improvement) it seems little different to the 1995 issue. It has no history on the album, pictures of European and Worldwide 7" sleeves, the different US artwork etc. OK - it does look nice and does the job adequately - but that's all. It's a lazy-assed approach on behalf of EMI and undermines the sterling work done on the sound front. I hate to come across like some nick-picking fan boy here, but it would have been nice to actually 'discover' something on this so-called 'Discovery' version (docked a star for that). And there are no outtakes either...and man would they have been worth a listen.

To sum up - we finally get five-star sound - but it's housed in 3-star presentation. Still - with the truly beautiful sonic upgrade, the casual listener is advised to dig in, rediscover and enjoy.

Die-hard fans however might want to wait for the Japanese Editions that will inevitably arrive in 2012 on the far superior SHM-CD format (a better make of CD playable on all players). With their faithfully reproduced artwork and audiophile reproduction - they may give your bank manager a cold sweat - but they will absolutely be the ones to get if the best is all you'll accept.

"Meddle" is a gem in the Pink Floyd canon and on the strength of this remaster alone - I'm going to have to buy the new "Dark Side Of The Moon " and "Wish You Were Here" versions too. I suspect many will feel exactly the same...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stand in the fireplace, between the speakers ... go on!, 10 Jun. 2004
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
First I bought this album on 8-track (that would have been about 1972 or 73), then LP, then cassette, now CD. I must like it. First time I heard it my friend Kathy grabbed me by the elbow as I walked past her room and said stand there, in the fireplace, between the speakers and listen to this. It was "One of These Days". It was loud enough to cause brain damage. I'm still a bit deaf and never came out of the altered state. It was just (excuse the expression) mind-blowing. We were too primitive back then to own a set of head phones so the experience of the jet of sound squirting right through the middle of my head, from one ear to the other then back again, was like a new revelation - the sort of thing that hippies were guzzling all sorts of expensive substances in order to achieve. Then some creep said he was going to cut me into little pieces. Unusual lyrics too and a far from sensual singing voice, as befits a psycho. Never heard the like before!
"One of These Days" was enough on its own to sell the album to me. But every number was a shiny gem (varying degrees of brightness). It's been a star in my music collection for 3 decades. It's music like this that slows the onset of old age (or at least maturity in my case). Even my dogs like it. One of them likes to howl along with Seamus.
This is special. If you haven't heard it, you should seek it out and discover that it's something you wouldn't have wanted to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes of Pink Floyd's experimental psychadelic era, this is one of their best, 3 Oct. 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
"Meddle" is one great album, and still sounds surprisingly fresh after almost 40 years.

For the younger listener who might still be discovering Pink Floyd's epic musical legacy, some of the albums which followed on from "Meddle", notably the 30-million seller "Dark Side of the Moon" from 1973 (which deservedly took the band from the interesting and experimental fringe into something close to a mainstream supergroup) might be a more accessible gateway. "Meddle" still carries the inheritance of the earlier, more psychedelic and experimental era but the band was starting to find its way to a more structured and disciplined sound, showcasing lyrics driven by the societal-alienation themes which dominated the "Roger Waters" era up to and beyond "The Wall."

"Meddle" divides naturally into different halves of equal length. The original Harvest-label vinyl LP had five tracks on side one:

1. The driving, powerful and essentially instrumental opener "One of these Days" with an insistent single-note bass motif introduced over the recorded sound of howling wind, gradually overlaid with raunchy guitar, held together by powerful high-register keyboard chords over a driving rhythm: a real rocker with a hard edge and a quirky but short distorted vocal phrase right in the middle: "One of these days, I'm gonna cut you up into little pieces" - scary psycho, or what?

2. The whimsical "Pillow of Winds" with Wright and Gilmour providing melodious complimentary vocals and calming down the mood

3. "Fearless", a slow but powerfully insistent song with a slightly syncopated rhythm whose lyrics express ideas of detached alienation later explored so much more fully in DSOTM (the crowd singing "You'll Never Walk Alone" on the soundtrack at the end of the song was the Liverpool Football Club "Kop")

4. The delightfully upbeat "San Tropez" with its summer beach-town feel, written and sung by Roger Waters

5. The peculiar and downbeat blues track "Seamus" which sounds like it might have been recorded when the band was drunk, complete with howling dog on the soundtrack

Then side two: "Echoes", arguably the greatest single track ever composed and recorded by the band. If you've not yet heard "Echoes" but have heard "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" then you have some idea of the long, slow, predominantly instrumental musical form full of richness and complexity of which the band is capable.

"Echoes" is a classic mood-piece, symphonic in concept and execution. With its theme of the sea, of the eternity of rolling waves and coral caves, it builds from a repeated single-note "ping" through a slowly-wake-up intro to a gradually more insistent and rhythmic main theme complete with harmonised vocal line; then moves through a thumping, rhythmic instrumental section into a long, spacey, stretched-out mid-section with eerie but simply beautiful electronically-generated whale-song sounds; rediscovers the main theme and builds melodically to a satisfying climax, and winds down with whale, sea-bird and ocean sounds to leave the listener spaced-out and simply awed. Put on the headphones, recline, crank up the volume and enjoy. You'll be won over. It's an all-time great, one of those rare instances where musical virtuosity, a simple but innovative idea, a kind of intuitive, psychic connection between musicians and the confidence to experiment with new sound techniques whilst remaining restrained and disciplined to form, all came together to distil something unique and wonderful. It's a great, unforgettable piece, a timeless treasure.

"Echoes" of course supplied the title of the 26-track retrospective compilation album, which features a slightly edited version of the eponymous piece sandwiched between "Another Brick" and "Hey You". However, the version here on "Meddle" is the full-length, unedited original.

If you can't work out what the weird image on the album cover is, it's a close-up of an ear. Nice idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic & diverse album, 26 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
pink floyd seem to have that knack of moving effortlessly into different genres with each progressive album - and meddle is no exception. the feature tracks are without a doubt 'one of these days' and 'echoes' which are both brilliant tracks. 'echoes' gets my vote for greatest rock epic of all time. it takes up the whole b-side on the old vynil version and is very moody. 'pillow of winds' follows the tumult of 'one of these days' beatifully and soothingly. 'fearless' is like an anthem and very much a classic track. 'st tropez' and 'seamus' give the album a touch of blues and jazz. all in all one of pink floyds better efforts although the same could be said for every album up to 'the wall'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just My Review....., 25 May 2001
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
Atom Heart Mother, for all its glories, was an acquired taste, and Pink Floyd wisely decided to trim back its orchestral excesses for its follow-up, Meddle. Opening with a deliberately surging "One of These Days," Meddle spends most of its time with sonic textures and elongated compositions, most notably on its epic closer "Echoes." If there aren't pop songs in the classic sense (even on the level of the group's contributions to Ummagumma), there is a uniform tone, ranging from the pastoral "A Pillow of Winds" to "Fearless," with its insistent refrain hinting at latter-day Floyd. Pink Floyd were nothing if not masters of texture, and Meddle is one of their greatest excursions into little details, pointing the way to the measured brilliance of Dark Side of the Moon and the entire Roger Waters era. Here, David Gilmour exerts a slightly larger influence, at least based on lead vocals, but it's not all sweetness and light - even if its lilting rhythms are welcome, "San Tropez" feels out of place with the rest of Meddle. Still, the album is one of the Floyd's most consistent explorations of mood, especially from their time at Harvest, and it stands as the strongest record they released between Syd's departure and Dark Side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ground-breaking and breath-taking album, 14 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
This is the last Floyd album written before those which were based on alienation and struggle. In comparison it has a joyful feeling overall.
The first half has a diverse selection of pieces: One of These Days is very brooding, A Pillow of Winds is quite light and refreshing, San Tropez is very laid back, Fearless is invigorating (especially for Liverpool fans) and Seamus is just a bit of fun.
The second half consists of the superb Echoes, a rock symphony that leads us enchantingly from the sub-marine to the sublime. Bathe in its deep, warm ambience and drift away! This is their first and arguably their best masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meddle 2011 version, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Meddle [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
OK, so another version of a cd that has been released 3-4 times before, one of which I have, the Shine On Box set version to be precise, and what is new?

Well this is a hard one to put my finger on, so let me attempt to help clear up a few things. First the gatefold sleeve is an improvement over the jewel case, although I can see why it annoys a lot of folk. It is a bit fiddly getting the cd out, some of these gatefold sleeves can be tighter than others. Same outer image, new inner one-an outtake from the same photo session though.

The sound quality, well this is the tricky part. It definitely sounds better, not sharper, not louder, but more musical overall, more vinyl. In an A/B test it was difficult to actually nail down the difference, I simply preferred the new version. I thought about how to describe it for a while and try and think of an analogy to compare it to. Here goes-the new version has more inner detail, the sounds are no sharper than previously, it is just that the instruments sound more realistic, the acoustic guitars more obviously hollow wooden boxes with vibrating metal strings over them, the cymbals sound more genuinely metallic and rich decaying realistically, the sound of the drum heads is cleaner, Rogers bass has a deeper plummy tone and all the instruments are better separated. If it was a tv the new one is HD the old is not, the shapes are the same , the colours are the same, but the textures are better in the new one.

Overall not a day night difference, but if you are a fan of hifi and love Floyd this is an improvement.

Why only 4 stars,? Well the booklet is a bit ho-hum, not a patch on Storms previous inventiveness, nor a faithful copy of the original artwork, sort of a halfway house so to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars same great music, questionable mix adjustments, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meddle [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
this "discovery edition" malarky is the floyd's way of saying they've given everything a 21st century big sound, as if this had been recorded just yesterday on today's sophisticated equipment, verb units and compressors, tailored for today's audience. All those delicate passages from Pillow of Winds and San Tropez have disappeared as the entire sound ambience has been brought as far forweard as it can come without it all spilling out of the loudspeakers, and Gilmour's voice is often upstaged by structural instrumentation. They've really jumped the piano right to the front in San Tropez, rather killing it's hot lazy summerday rag-time feel, and there's some unnecessary extra reverb on the psychedlic football hordes on Fearless - the original was quite enough to get their art across. You can hear every minute detail now in Echoes, even an occasional studio sound, a tap or a hum from something or other - and the percussion on this track is what has been ramped up and hardened.

Well, they have their new toys, the latest sound processing modules, and they're as determined as Genesis were 3 yeasrs ago to fiddle and tinker with stuff that honestly ought not to be fiddled and tinkered with, it was absolutely perfect the first time around. I'm sure some people - today's Coldplay generation perhaps - will like the Big Sound. Not sure I do. But you can't fault the music here, this is the floyd doing exactly what they want to do without any interference from record label micro-executives. Hunt down the original AAD release of this title, that for me is where it's at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes In My Head, 16 Feb. 2005
By 
Paul Van Dijk "davebatista" (Middle Of Nowhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
This is Pink Floyd in their prime. People may argue that without Barrett the Floyd were never in their prime but we must remember that Barrett was only with Floyd for a very short period in their history and this is their best effort without him.
The opener "One Of These Days" totally rocks. Gilmour's guitar and Waters bass just thump away inside your head for hours afterwards if you listen to this song at high volume.
Echoes is one of Pink Floyd's best. A long sprawling effort (which is what their best at) that builds you up gradually for the explosion of some awesome Gilmour guitaring.
This is what the floyd are all about!
This album is very often under-rated but I'd rather look at it as being true GENIUS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meddle: Pink Floyd - A fearless exploration of new musical vistas that still echoes today, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
Meddle, released in 1971, was the the sixth album from Pink Floyd. Released back in the day when they produced an album a year rather than every two decades, there is a feeling of fresh inventiveness about it where most other bands would have slipped into banality as a result of the heavy recording and touring schedules.

Their previous 5 albums all have their moments, but this is the first one where I enjoy the whole album and regularly replay it. And while I thoroughly enjoy later classics, such as Dark Side Of The Moon or Wish You Were Here, it is this one that I keep returning to.

The original album had 5 tracks on side 1, and the monster 23 minute masterpiece `Echoes' taking up the entirety of side 2. Side 1 starts with the moody `One Of These Days, with its slow throbbing bass intro leading into a virtuoso experimental electric guitar solo and then off into a sonic landscape all of it's own before delivering a chilling snarling message and wandering off into an almost traditional sounding heavy rock workout. Pillow of winds is a direct juxtaposition to its predecessor's urgency, a soft, mellow track with haunting vocals and guitar work. A soft panacea following the harsh opener. Fearless is my second favourite track on the album with its classic opening riff, light and airy singing and leading into a crowd chant of `you'll never walk alone', which surprised me the first time I heard it and still does every time I listen to the album. I always think of the two last songs on side 1 (San Tropez and Seamus) as being disposable, but when I try to listen to the album and skip these two I find something is missing and the experience not as satisfying as it should have been.

OK, that's the old side 1, and it's pretty darned good, marking Pink Floyd out as something different while still producing music that is listenable and not to hard to get into (unlike some of the avante garde experiments that they were influenced by). In the old days you would then flip the disc to get side 2, but these days Echoes just follows straight from track 5 on the CD player. And when it does start you realise that this is something else entirely. What went before was good, but this is brilliant. It's a 23 minute musical experiment, proto prog rock, that never feels stale or tired, never feels repetitious, never feels as though it is too long. It's a musical landscape that just sucks the listener in, the time seems to fly by. I quite like it, if you hadn't already guessed!

Strangely, much as I love this album, I find that I cannot listen to it in the car. `One of These Days' takes me over, and I find that if t is playing in the car I become a very aggressive driver. On the other side, I find `Echoes' strangely hypnotic, and I become so immersed in the music that I stop concentrating on the road. An album to be listened to at home!

I rate it as Pink Floyd's best album. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meddle [Discovery Edition]
Meddle [Discovery Edition] by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews