Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars68
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2006
With Syd Barrett (Pink Floyd's original frontsman) becoming more and more unstable, Pink Floyd seemed on the verge of collapse. After all, he had penned all their singles and all but one song from their debut album, 'The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn'. So, when he 'left' (read sacked) in April 1968, it wouldn't have been unreasonable to think that they wouldn't last long. How wrong they were.

'A Saucerful Of Secrets' did indeed reveal secrets; Roger Waters and Rick Wright could write songs! And great songs, too. Hypnotic beats and bizarre lyrics showcased in one heck of an album, which does feature one Barrett composition, 'Jugband Blues'. New guitarist David Gilmour doesn't contribute any material here, bar a little on the title-track, so you could argue that this is the most disjointed Pink Floyd album, as Barrett, Waters, Gilmour, Wright and Mason can all be heard; the only Pink Floyd album that can boast that.

Let There Be More Light - space rock riff, weird lyrics, great song

Remember A Day - brilliant. Probably the best song on here

Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun - a mouthful and-a-half! But another great song

Corporal Clegg - Decent song, not bad, not great

A Saucerful Of Secrets - actually, this is the best song on here. Betters 'Interstellar Overdrive' as far as I'm concerned.

See Saw - good song, perhaps best appreciated in a cloud of incense and blue smoke

Jugband Blues - goodbye Syd. Very good song with haunting last line ('And what exactly is a joke?')

Not so much for the casual listener as the Floydian. However, 'A Saucerful Of Secrets' delivers everything its cover promises.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2007
In a way this is Roger Waters et al trying to be syd barrett, "corporal clegg" superficially with its themes of englishness fulfills this role, but bubbling just below the surface is roger waters bile, and "set the controls" sets the template for the meanderings of pink floyd for the rest of the 60's. A cool curio of a album that will appeal to fans of syd as well as fans of the later floyd because this is the album were they began to find their own identity sans syd.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
One of my personal favourites, not only of the Floyd canon but in general. I've been looking forward to this edition as the previous 'remaster' was very woolly indeed and I can say it did not disappoint. In fact it's made me love it all over again.
Don't want to go on and on about it as I know other people will be more thorough but felt compelled to add my voice to the throng. I must mention though that the coda in 'Jugband Blues' still brings a wee tear to my eye.
66 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
" A saucerful of secrets" is probably the most neglected mainstream album in the floyd canon, It came after syd left the floyd and follows on from their 1967 psychedelic classic "The piper at the gates of dawn". I won`t go into a track by track analysis of the album because it has already been done in other reviews. What i will comment on is the overall sound and feel of the album, which is still psychedelic but also folky and experimental. Rick wright shines brightly here with his innovative use of the farfisa organ and effects to produce swirling techniclour soundscapes that start to define the floyd sound for years to come. The floyd created an album which was very unusual and innovative in 1968 and also hugely influential (future krautrock musicians such as Klaus Schulze, Edgar Froese, manuel gottsching etc. were taking very careful notes.), most of the space rock genre, not to mention experimental ambient can trace their roots to this album. " Saucerful" was so strange and otherwordly the first time i heard it that i did not know what to make of it, but over the years it has become my favourite floyd album. Later floyd albums are great but none are as interesting as "Saucerful". I just keep returning to it again and again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2002
I must say that, this is one of the best Pink Floyd albums. If you like a little psychedelic touch, this is a " must have"!! I love most of Pink Floyd's work, but there is something special about this album. Maybe it is just the lack of commercial pressure, but there is a sense of peace over the whole creation. Roger Waters`s first song about his spite of the military in "Corporal Clegg" is one of my all time favourite songs performed by Floyd, or anyone else. "Set the controls for the heart of the sun" is a lovely song whit a wonderful melody, and appear both on "Echoes, the best of Pink Floyd" and "In the Flesh" Waters`s last solo album and his world tour. And the opening track "Let there be more light" has a marvellous psychedelic shape witch I love. If you are one of those who just think "Another brick..." is a nice song, and have heard "Whish you were here" in a rap version (crappy, I might add!) you will probably be disappointed, and should by on of the newer Floyd albums first, but for the rest of us this album belongs in the collection.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2002
I must say that, this is one of the best Pink Floyd albums. If you like a little psychedelic touch, this is a " must have"!! I love most of Pink Floyd's work, but there is something special about this album. Maybe it is just the lack of commercial pressure, but there is a sense of peace over the whole creation. Roger Waters`s first song about his spite of the military in "Corporal Clegg" is one of my all time favourite songs performed by Floyd, or anyone else. "Set the controls for the heart of the sun" is a lovely song whit a wonderful melody, and appear both on "Echoes, the best of Pink Floyd" and "In the Flesh" Waters`s last solo album and his world tour. And the opening track "Let there be more light" has a marvellous psychedelic shape witch I love. If you are one of those who just think "Another brick..." is a nice song, and have heard "Whish you were here" in a rap version (crappy, I might add!) you will probably be disappointed, and should by on of the newer Floyd albums first, but for the rest of us this album belongs in the collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Pink Floyd's second album features new member Dave Gilmour on guitar and vocals on most of the tracks but also contains some leftovers from the Barrett era prior to the onset of Syd's mental problems, so Syd is given equal billing as a member of the band: ergo, Pink Floyd is credited as a five-piece. The management and the band actually considered having the more reliable (and better musician, let's face it) Dave replace Syd onstage, and keeping Syd on as the principal creative songwriter in the background.

The decline and departure of Syd from Pink Floyd seemed to force a new creativity to the surface in Roger and Richard in particular, and here their songwriting skills began to emerge into the sunlight. This band obviously had a future as not just the Syd Barrett Backing Group. Although Dave Gilmour's songwriting here extends to only a part-credit on the title track, the energy and new dynamism he injects into the Pink Floyd bloodstream is palpable in many of the songs.

The format of ASoS resembles the debut `Piper': lyrical songs (plus Roger's rather harsh and cynical `Corporal Clegg') with two longer space-rock pieces, the title track and `Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun' both of which became extended live-on-stage set-pieces for the band until 1973.

The final song on the album is 'Jugband Blues'. Composed and sung by Syd, it's the quintessentially quirky Barrett piece and leaves the listener with his departing words "...and what exactly is a dream, and what exactly is a joke?" And what exactly is international success, Syd? Answer: Pink Floyd without you onboard, as time would prove.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
The sound quality on this remaster is brilliant...the older 1 was great also but this is crystal clear...you can hear the tiny details come through...which is awesome on an album like this...to people who say they don't hear a difference...bo$"!x!I am impressed with these remasters...and pretty much everythin that pink floyd release!I wish people would shut up about the packaging of these re-releases and enjoy the music!
66 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It soon became apparent that Syd Barrett's tenure in Pink Floyd would be a short one due to his declining mental state. Dave Gilmour was brought in and essentially the band evolved with Barrett finally leaving both for his own good and that of the bands. So is this a transitional record? Well in many ways the answer is yes. Its intent soon becomes evident on Roger Waters' opening track Let There Be More Light which immediately has a more progressive rock feel to it than anything on Piper. Remember a Day was written by Richard Wright and has a nodding acquaintance with psychedelia but then Waters weighs in with one of the group's most endearing and moody pieces "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun.

Corporal Clegg sees Waters turning to the military stage - somewhere he would inhabit many times in the future. The title track lasts for almost 12 minutes and gives Gilmour his first co-writing acknowledgement. It's a strange concoction of sounds, almost experimental in nature but with some strongly layered textures and an impressively understated choral ending. The album concludes with another Wright composition "See-Saw" and Barrett's "Jugband Blues" - his final effort for a band that was growing up fast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
The Music was and is as to be expected brilliant. A great re-master of a truly great album. However the life expectancy of the product is significantly reduced by the form of packaging. Nowhere in the description are you advised that this CD will be supplied in cardboard sleeves. The risk of damage to the CD in this form of packaging is quite significant. AMAZON and their preferred Jersey supplier, Indegostarfish, would do well to advise their customers that this CD does not come in a crystal box type packaging to avoid further disappointment.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)