Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space rock meets psychedelia
With Syd Barrett (Pink Floyd's original frontsman) becoming more and more unstable, Pink Floyd seemed on the verge of collapse. After all, he had penned all their singles and all but one song from their debut album, 'The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn'. So, when he 'left' (read sacked) in April 1968, it wouldn't have been unreasonable to think that they wouldn't last long...
Published on 22 Dec 2006 by Brian O'Hanrahanrahan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed but interesting bag
Fans of later Floyd may find this a bit of a curates egg. Saucerful of Secrets catches the transition from psychedelia to prog rock. Syd Barret's sole writing contribution - the remarkable 'Jugband Blues'- appears to describe psychological disintigration, assisted by a Salvation Army band. Suffice to say, it sticks out like a sore thumb amongst Wright and Water's...
Published on 13 Dec 2001 by jt@jayefen.demon.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space rock meets psychedelia, 22 Dec 2006
This review is from: Saucerful Of Secrets (Audio CD)
With Syd Barrett (Pink Floyd's original frontsman) becoming more and more unstable, Pink Floyd seemed on the verge of collapse. After all, he had penned all their singles and all but one song from their debut album, 'The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn'. So, when he 'left' (read sacked) in April 1968, it wouldn't have been unreasonable to think that they wouldn't last long. How wrong they were.

'A Saucerful Of Secrets' did indeed reveal secrets; Roger Waters and Rick Wright could write songs! And great songs, too. Hypnotic beats and bizarre lyrics showcased in one heck of an album, which does feature one Barrett composition, 'Jugband Blues'. New guitarist David Gilmour doesn't contribute any material here, bar a little on the title-track, so you could argue that this is the most disjointed Pink Floyd album, as Barrett, Waters, Gilmour, Wright and Mason can all be heard; the only Pink Floyd album that can boast that.

Let There Be More Light - space rock riff, weird lyrics, great song

Remember A Day - brilliant. Probably the best song on here

Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun - a mouthful and-a-half! But another great song

Corporal Clegg - Decent song, not bad, not great

A Saucerful Of Secrets - actually, this is the best song on here. Betters 'Interstellar Overdrive' as far as I'm concerned.

See Saw - good song, perhaps best appreciated in a cloud of incense and blue smoke

Jugband Blues - goodbye Syd. Very good song with haunting last line ('And what exactly is a joke?')

Not so much for the casual listener as the Floydian. However, 'A Saucerful Of Secrets' delivers everything its cover promises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super, 19 Sep 2007
This review is from: Saucerful Of Secrets (Audio CD)
In a way this is Roger Waters et al trying to be syd barrett, "corporal clegg" superficially with its themes of englishness fulfills this role, but bubbling just below the surface is roger waters bile, and "set the controls" sets the template for the meanderings of pink floyd for the rest of the 60's, cool curio of a album that will appeal to fans of syd as well as fans of the later floyd because this is the album were they began to find their own identity sans syd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What exactly is a joke?, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Gary Ward "gengchef" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Saucerful Of Secrets [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
One of my personal favourites, not only of the Floyd canon but in general. I've been looking forward to this edition as the previous 'remaster' was very woolly indeed and I can say it did not disappoint. In fact it's made me love it all over again.
Don't want to go on and on about it as I know other people will be more thorough but felt compelled to add my voice to the throng. I must mention though that the coda in 'Jugband Blues' still brings a wee tear to my eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Floyd albume.......?, 3 Jan 2002
By 
Lars Kjxlen (Heggedal, Akershus Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Saucer Full of S.. (Audio CD)
I must say that, this is one of the best Pink Floyd albums. If you like a little psychedelic touch, this is a " must have"!! I love most of Pink Floyd's work, but there is something special about this album. Maybe it is just the lack of commercial pressure, but there is a sense of peace over the whole creation. Roger Waters`s first song about his spite of the military in "Corporal Clegg" is one of my all time favourite songs performed by Floyd, or anyone else. "Set the controls for the heart of the sun" is a lovely song whit a wonderful melody, and appear both on "Echoes, the best of Pink Floyd" and "In the Flesh" Waters`s last solo album and his world tour. And the opening track "Let there be more light" has a marvellous psychedelic shape witch I love. If you are one of those who just think "Another brick..." is a nice song, and have heard "Whish you were here" in a rap version (crappy, I might add!) you will probably be disappointed, and should by on of the newer Floyd albums first, but for the rest of us this album belongs in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Floyd albume.......?, 26 Jan 2002
By 
Lars Kjxlen (Heggedal, Akershus Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saucerful Of Secrets (Audio CD)
I must say that, this is one of the best Pink Floyd albums. If you like a little psychedelic touch, this is a " must have"!! I love most of Pink Floyd's work, but there is something special about this album. Maybe it is just the lack of commercial pressure, but there is a sense of peace over the whole creation. Roger Waters`s first song about his spite of the military in "Corporal Clegg" is one of my all time favourite songs performed by Floyd, or anyone else. "Set the controls for the heart of the sun" is a lovely song whit a wonderful melody, and appear both on "Echoes, the best of Pink Floyd" and "In the Flesh" Waters`s last solo album and his world tour. And the opening track "Let there be more light" has a marvellous psychedelic shape witch I love. If you are one of those who just think "Another brick..." is a nice song, and have heard "Whish you were here" in a rap version (crappy, I might add!) you will probably be disappointed, and should by on of the newer Floyd albums first, but for the rest of us this album belongs in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sounding Remaster!, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: A Saucerful Of Secrets [Discovery Edition] (Audio CD)
The sound quality on this remaster is brilliant...the older 1 was great also but this is crystal clear...you can hear the tiny details come through...which is awesome on an album like this...to people who say they don't hear a difference...bo$"!x!I am impressed with these remasters...and pretty much everythin that pink floyd release!I wish people would shut up about the packaging of these re-releases and enjoy the music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 April 2010
By 
G. Hutchinson (My house) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the vinyl first came out I was on the point of purchasing the much desired Saucerful of Secrets. I just had to go for the double, and I never looked back. I am really pleased to have this on CD. If you are into 60's psychedelia rock, be it second time around or a teenage neo-goth then this is a definite must for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars set the controls for the heart of the floyd, 6 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Saucerful Of Secrets (Audio CD)
" A saucerful of secrets" is probably the most neglected mainstream album in the floyd canon, It came after syd left the floyd and follows on from their 1967 psychedelic classic "The piper at the gates of dawn". I won`t go into a track by track analysis of the album because it has already been done in other reviews. What i will comment on is the overall sound and feel of the album, which is still psychedelic but also folky and experimental. Rick wright shines brightly here with his innovative use of the farfisa organ and effects to produce swirling techniclour soundscapes that start to define the floyd sound for years to come. The floyd created an album which was very unusual and innovative in 1968 and also hugely influential (future krautrock musicians such as Klaus Schulze, Edgar Froese, manuel gottsching etc. were taking very careful notes.), most of the space rock genre, not to mention experimental ambient can trace their roots to this album. " Saucerful" was so strange and otherwordly the first time i heard it that i did not know what to make of it, but over the years it has become my favourite floyd album. Later floyd albums are great but none are as interesting as "Saucerful". I just keep returning to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great second album, 15 Jun 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerful Of Secrets (Audio CD)
I listened to this CD this morning on the way to work during a foggy drive with the sun only just starting to get above the horizon, and it was the perfect CD for the journey! It is a slice of spacy psychedelia where the band are starting to find their direction, but going through the transition of guitarists.
Roger Waters makes a bigger impact on this album than on 'Piper at the Gates of Dawn', and gives us a great opening track in 'Let There be More Light', and two tracks later we get the epic 'Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun'. In between is a chilled out, drifting 'Remember a Day' from Rick Wright before the first of Roger Waters' recorded anti-war songs - the gloriously kazoo-driven 'Corporal Clegg'.
The title track is a very crude version of what the band were to become in the 70's, but with a far heavier psychedelic lean than anything later. The last two tracks have Syd Barrett written all over them, but they are not the strongest tracks.
It's goodbye to Syd and hello to Roger on this album, and it makes the transition pretty well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transitional not a new band, 24 Nov 2006
This review is from: Saucerful Of Secrets (Audio CD)
Still my favourite Floyd album, although that may be as much nostalgia for 1968 and teenage. Interestingly, this is more a patchwork than many people realise - and not just for the lone Syd Barrett track. If you check out "Relics," you will see that the two Rick Wright tracks were recorded BEFORE Interstellar Overdrive, i.e. they were done for the "Piper" sessions but not used (being uncharitable, one might think that the combined Barrett-Waters egos wouldn't let poor little Ricky get his songs on the first album). "Set the controls" used to be my favourite track, but nowadays I find that "Remember A Day" and "See-Saw" are my favourites. So, the two best (or at least favourite) cuts on my favourite Floyd album were left off their debut. Hmmmmm. I think they would have improved "Piper".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Saucerful Of Secrets [Discovery Edition]
A Saucerful Of Secrets [Discovery Edition] by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews