Customer Reviews


989 Reviews
5 star:
 (625)
4 star:
 (247)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling
Can't but agree with the other reviewers. It's rare to come across a book
with a great story and great writing. Jamie McCloone is a lonely farmer
living in Northern Ireland. When the novel opens he is suffering from
depression and is suicidal, but his friendly neighbour, Rose, comes to the
rescue. She encourages him to answer a Lonely Hearts ad. Jamie...
Published on 15 Nov. 2008 by C. Slon

versus
134 of 144 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Misremembered Man
Jamie McCloone is 41 and single. He lives alone on a farm which is filthy and not at all well kept. In many ways he is the stereotype of an Irish country bachelor, scared of women and married to the drink. Lydia Devine is also 41 and single, living at home with her domineering mother but at least free from the restrictions placed on her by her dominating Presbyterian...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Moonlit


‹ Previous | 158 59 6099 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The misremembered man, 18 April 2013
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
An excellent mixture of historical fact, humour and intrigue. Well worth a read. I really enjoyed the dialogue, even though some of t was very broad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing story, 21 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Roz Kadir (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Paperback)
You have to read it as I cannot do justice to it. Beautiful language, sad story tinged with hope and wonderful poetic descriptions of the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Guessed the ending, but that didn't matter. This is just such a happy ending story. It's awful to start with as it's so sad, but I was enthralled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Misremembered Man, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Christine McKenna's description of characters and surroundings really come to life in this understanding of local people. Enjoyable holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears in my eyes, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Martin Brown (Romsey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
A touching story of life in rural Ireland that brought tears to my eyes.

My wife wasn't so impressed so it obviously wont suit everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Most enjoyable, after a slow start it became compelling and although I am usually a slow reader I couldn't put this book down until it was finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of the year, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
My father died a few months ago and I have been unwell,this book made me smile and cry but also forget for a while my problems thank you Christine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant holiday read, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Some of the Irish humour and sayings made me laugh out loud, but the sadness and cruelty of Catholic orphanages (factual) shocked me beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable, 10 May 2015
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Plot was good enough but writing was poor. Dialogue not believable and characters stereotypical. I I won't be reading another book by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Misremembered Man, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - would highly recommend this. Jamie and Lydia are compelling characters and I could not put it down once started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 158 59 6099 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Misremembered Man
The Misremembered Man by Christina McKenna
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews