Customer Reviews


910 Reviews
5 star:
 (577)
4 star:
 (224)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling
Can't but agree with the other reviewers. It's rare to come across a book
with a great story and great writing. Jamie McCloone is a lonely farmer
living in Northern Ireland. When the novel opens he is suffering from
depression and is suicidal, but his friendly neighbour, Rose, comes to the
rescue. She encourages him to answer a Lonely Hearts ad. Jamie...
Published on 15 Nov. 2008 by C. Slon

versus
124 of 134 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Misremembered Man
Jamie McCloone is 41 and single. He lives alone on a farm which is filthy and not at all well kept. In many ways he is the stereotype of an Irish country bachelor, scared of women and married to the drink. Lydia Devine is also 41 and single, living at home with her domineering mother but at least free from the restrictions placed on her by her dominating Presbyterian...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Moonlit


‹ Previous | 158 59 6091 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Sheer joy, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
What a beautiful book, wonderfully written and a sheer joy to read...I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's not at all like the books I usually read (last read Nothing to Envy about North Korea) but I found it a real joy to read despite the upsetting parts about the childhood spent in Catholic Orphanges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely, thought provoking book that made me laugh and cry in equal measure. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sad but good, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
This story was really sad at times and really made you feel sad for the characters ,but is was uplift come the end and a good twist to the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read for years, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
absolutely love this book, made me laugh and cry, didn't want the book to end, can't recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A FABULOUS MUST READ BOOK, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
A book that I could not put down and did not want to end. "The Misremembered Man" is a delightful read with the real "feel good" factor- despite being very sad and moving at times there are areas in the book that you cannot help but laugh out loud. A book of contrasting emotions with
Some very endearing characters - I especially loved Jamie's friends Paddy and Rose. There is also a twist in the tale which I did guess but which did not spoil the story for me in any way.
I believe that there may be a sequal to this book being released later this year - I do hope so as I will definately be buying.
One of the best books I have read for a while - highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 April 2013
By 
mel "mrsmdavies" (BUCKINGHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this from start to finish, nice twist and I loved the way the past slowly unravels until it makes sense why the main characters are the way they are. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely story, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
Very well written tale, the characters realistic, you could identify with them. A lovely twist at the end. I do hope it makes it to the silver screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2013
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
This book is a brilliant read, it made me laugh out loud, it also evoked feelings of sadness. Christian McKenna described the Ulster people with great wit and feeling. Definitely worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful read. Made me laugh and cry. Couldn't put it down. Pulls at your heart. Can't wait for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking but joyous...., 10 April 2013
This review is from: The Misremembered Man (Kindle Edition)
The themes in this book are dark, and sadly only too real for 1000's of children in Ireland in the 20th century, but ultimately the story is uplifting and joyous. The writing is witty and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will seek out other books by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 158 59 6091 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Misremembered Man
The Misremembered Man by Christina McKenna
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews