Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring
I have read the entire series of forgotten voices so far. This one like the others has been a fantastic read. The book shows the truly see-saw nature of war in the western desert, and gives insight into a very different theatre of operations than the heavily documented european theatre of war.
This field was just as important and makes the reader really feel a part...
Published on 23 May 2011 by A. R. Krantz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Desert Victory
I have recently discovered these Forgotten Voices books and have generally been very impressed. There is no substitute for first hand accounts of the war if you want to understand what it was like to live through those times. This particular offering however is not quite up to the standard of some of the other books, although it is hard to pin point exactly why...
Published 19 months ago by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 23 May 2011
By 
A. R. Krantz (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the entire series of forgotten voices so far. This one like the others has been a fantastic read. The book shows the truly see-saw nature of war in the western desert, and gives insight into a very different theatre of operations than the heavily documented european theatre of war.
This field was just as important and makes the reader really feel a part of the british struggle, from their initial victories, through the despondence of defeat at the hands of Rommel, and then their rejuvenation with new command, equipment and guts. It shows the truly remarkable psychological turn-around that the troops of the desert had to go through to get the first western allied victory of the war so far.

I highly recommend this book, whether one has read any of the series yet or not, it is told in what I feel is the best way for history to be told, by the people who lived it and I greatly admire them for what they did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars desert victory., 19 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic read from the FORGOTTEN VOICES series.
It looks at the war in the deserts of North Africa from the soldiers experiences.
It covers the major battles of this campaign Tobruk, Alamein, Gazala, Crusader and the other confrontations that took place in this campaign in the desert.
The troops had to cope with sandstorms, lack of fresh water, the bombing and shelling, the daytime searing heat of the desert and the cold desert nights.
This campaign was a cat and mouse war travelling back and forth across North Africa.
I would say that the most vunerable troops were the tank crews, who risked being burned alive in their mobile metal coffins! Many were!
If you have read the other titles in this series, you'll want to read this one too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget, 14 Sep 2011
By 
James Mann "Hadwyn" (Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices Desert Victory (Kindle Edition)
With books like this the voices of our old soldiers will not be forgotten. It is chilling to read of the casual acceptance by the soldiers of the immediate likelyhood of their own death in battle. Also the complete randomness of death in action. This book and the others in the series are a must read by younger generations lest we forget the commitment of the World War Two generation to ensuring the freedoms we take so very much for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another top read in the forgotten voices series, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices Desert Victory (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant ,great read,horrific,funny,very touching ,
The guys who went through the desert campaign are becoming fewer and fewer so this is a wonderful record of these truly brave modest men ,could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a great book. A real insight to what the brave men in the dessert had to go through. Forgotten voices are great books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices Desert Victory (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting if a little confusing in its format. The author has taken the interviews from various participants in the desert warfare and attempted a time line approach from each rather than continue with individual complete stories from each.
However, the experiences were gripping, in parts even scary. Recommended to anyone with interest in personal accounts of warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting contribution, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices Desert Victory (Kindle Edition)
There is no shortage of books on the desert war and I expected another tired re-hash of the same old thing with this title, so I was pleasantly surprised to find an engaging and fresh account which adds new things to the discussion. The format lends an immediacy to the account which means it bowls along at a cracking pace while allowing a very human view of the conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband as one of a series. He enjoyed it and found it most informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be an essential read for anyone interested in modern history, 31 July 2013
By 
A. D. Thomas "Big Al" (cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Told how it was, and not how history is re-written by films (and Hollywood), told by the words of the people that were there and took part in an essential piece of WW2 strategy.
I didn't know how important this victory was to the war outcome (and how close it was to defeat at times) - and there wasn't any USA involvement until almost the very end. It puts the record straight - whilst showing the horrors of war.
Another book in the 'forgotten voices' series - and I am captivated.
Excellent read, and thoroughly recommended..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Desert Victory, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently discovered these Forgotten Voices books and have generally been very impressed. There is no substitute for first hand accounts of the war if you want to understand what it was like to live through those times. This particular offering however is not quite up to the standard of some of the other books, although it is hard to pin point exactly why.

Partly it has to do with the organisation of the book. Although it is divided into sections describing the major campaigns, each with a narrative by the author to explain events, there is no sense of focus in the content. The battles are fought on such a large scale that the accounts given are confused and give no coherent picture of the events that took place. Even when the British army was winning a battle there are accounts given by some individuals which sound more like the confrontation was a complete disaster. From their personal perspective it may have been but it is down to the author to select those accounts which best tell the story rather than include everything they can find. As it stands Desert Victory reads as a confusing mix of advances and retreats with little to tell them apart.

Another aspect that seems to be missing are the descriptive accounts of life on the North African front. There are a few of these but no where near enough detail describing the weather, the terrain, the equipment used or the different types of tanks. Even some colourful accounts of being on leave would have given more variety to the collection.

There are some gems hidden here and there which make Desert Victory worth reading but it is a slog to get to the end of the book. Perhaps there were just not that many personal accounts of the campaign recorded in the Sound Archives but a better selection would have made the book much more readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forgotten Voices Desert Victory
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews