Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
What can I say? It does what it says it will do. It doesn't take up as much space as I initially thought, so will sit happily on a standard worksurface. It is easy to clean and empty (use a jug to get rid if most of the water, then carry it to the sink to empty the rest, although I have been known to carry the whole thing to the sink without using a jug first). It is...
Published 6 months ago by JuliaBalbilla

versus
6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing results
I was so exited to finally get a Sous Vide machine but am so far very disappointed with the results. The texture of chicken was very bizarre, steaks come out tender but tasteless and I've tried pulled pork which was dry. I have to come to the conclusion it is little more than a gimmick. If you aren't a very good cook or don't appreciate good food, then you might enjoy a...
Published 17 months ago by Gaynor Allen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 May 2014
By 
JuliaBalbilla (Winchcombe, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
What can I say? It does what it says it will do. It doesn't take up as much space as I initially thought, so will sit happily on a standard worksurface. It is easy to clean and empty (use a jug to get rid if most of the water, then carry it to the sink to empty the rest, although I have been known to carry the whole thing to the sink without using a jug first). It is accurate and beeps when it gets up to temperature. You can use water from the hot tap to fill it if you like as the food doesn't get into contact with the water.

Like a slow cooker, you can leave it to do the cooking whilst you go out, or overnight, but the beauty of the water bath is that it would be impossible to burn anything. The quality of food can deteriorate if left to cook longer then the recommended cooking times, but timings are very wide in comparison to conventional cooking, that this is unlikely to happen unless you completely forget that you have put something in the bath to cook. Anyone with a little common sense can produce perfectly cooked food using this machine, provided you follow a few basic rules, such as searing steaks for the shortest possible time afterwards so that they don't over cook. Also useful for people like me who live in a household of fussy eaters, where everyone wants something different from the other :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a miracle worker ..., 20 Oct 2013
By 
J. Bennett (SE, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
So sous vide, a foodie fashionista destined for the cupboard under the stairs or the best thing to arrive on the market for years?

This probably depends on what you expect it to achieve and how much you enjoy cooking. The vast majority of our meals are cooked from scratch and after seeing this technique numerous times on the TV I decided to take the plunge and purchase one.

So firstly, the cost. No they don't come cheap especially when you add in the vacuum sealer but it is comparable to oven and no one says you spent how much on a oven? The results for certain foods are excellent.

Anything that needs to be slow cooked is just superb and gives you a tenderness that is hard to achieve with normal cooking. Fish is also incredibly succulent and flavoursome and it's worth uying just for this. A big advantage is that the results tend to be far more repeatable. Anyone who cooks a lot can remember the times when they think they've done the same thing again only to end up with a tough, dry piece of meat.

A word of warning, this is not going to turn a bad chef into a good chef but it certainly allows you to achieve results that you wouldn't have thought possible.

The major downside is that this is not quick cooking. Don't expect to come home from work and be able to chuck together a meal in less than half an hour. You need to fill the souse vide, let it come to the correct temperature, seal the food and then generally wait some time before it's cooked. Even then you are likely to end up browning the food off to give it some colour. Is it worth the effort - general yes but forward planning is required.

The SousVide supreme itself, well it looks nice and is easy to use. The only problems I see are that it's not small and the beeping sound used to indicate when the desired temperature or time is reached is just not loud enough. If I need to stand in the kitchen to hear it then I just as well read the display.

Overall I strongly recommend one for anyone who is an enthusiastic home cook just don't expect miracles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformational, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
For any keen cooks this is a great buy.

This is not just for fancy 'dinner-party' cooking, this is a wonderful everyday tool.

My kids can occasionally be fussy about meat, particularly if they deem it 'chewy'. With this you can buy cheap(er) cuts of meat that often have a great flavour but cooked conventionally are too tough, cook them long and slow in their own juices, and they come out meltingly tender and with whatever flavourings you've added going right through the meat. Shin of beef (cheap as chips!), a bit of grated horseradish, some thyme leaves and seasoning in the bag, and then sous vide for 48 hours followed by a 2 minute browning in a frying pan, and the flavour is better and more succulent than any roast rib of beef you'll ever taste.

Also, you can use it for tasty meals within 15 minutes of coming home from work by making it the night before and then putting it in the SV before going to work. This avoids buying far more expensive and less healthy ready made meals.

My kids love the food so much that they're disappointed if their dinner hasn't been SV'd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Luxury, 1 Feb 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
Sous vide, a cooking technique where vacuum-sealed food is immersed in a precise, consistently-heated water bath, has been one of the better-kept secrets of top chefs for some time. Gradually home gastronomes are picking this up and doing it for themselves.

Eades Appliance Technology has launched what is said to be the world's first consumer sous vide appliance - in two different sizes (SousVide Supreme and the smaller SousVide Supreme Demi). Along with a companion-series of vacuum sealers, the company seeks to offer everything the home cook would need to get sous vide-ing.
In essence for your money you get a water tank with a computer-controlled heating element. You set the desired cooking temperature, set the optional timer and put the vacuum-sealed food into the device once the target water temperature has been reached. Whilst it is essential that the water temperature is accurately set and maintained dependent on the food being cooked, the length of cooking time is, on the whole, not so critical after the minimum cooking time has been reached. So a steak could take a couple of hours in some cases, but it will not spoil if you then leave it cooking for a few hours more. It won't be any better but equally it won't be spoiled.
Once you have put the food in the water bath there is absolutely no stirring or other involvement required. Just have patience as the food is cooked at much lower temperatures than it would otherwise be cooked at in an oven, on a grill and so on.
There is not so much you can say about the water bath. It is relatively timeless in design and features an aluminium finish (the demi is a black finish) and it could be mistaken for a bread maker or slow cooker by some. There is no real complexity: you get the bath, the lid, an insulation cushion for the top and that's about it... you put the food inside vacuum-sealed bags or pouches that are then placed in the filled water bath, using the optional wire frame to keep some internal order and consistent water exposure. You set the desired temperature (which is held to plus/minus 0.2 centigrade), add the food when it has reached its target and... well, either relax, do something else and just come back when either the timer or your own informal "clock" says that the food is ready.
Some food, such as meats, benefit from a little bit of colour either with a butane torch or searing in a pan or under a broiler but that is mostly for aesthetic purposes.
Sous vide is a technique that can make a taste difference to virtually all foods, and in many cases one can use lesser, tougher cuts of meat, for example, and through sous vide cooking they can become tender, melt-in-the-mouth morsels. There is more preparation involved when you have to think ahead, vacuum-seal your food into pouches, etc. but these are not insurmountable problems. As vacuum-sealing is, itself, a short-term form of preservation you could even cook several lots of meat and then refrigerate or freeze and then just finish it off later when you are ready. In fact, in restaurant kitchens, they would cook many portions ready ahead of service and just rewarm and finish off the dish after the order is taken. So with a bit of planning you could possibly save much time for your family through sous vide - the initial learning curve and change to the status quo might be challenging, but the results worthy.
The SousVide Supreme comes with a user's guide and basic instructional DVD. Whilst it would be fair to describe these as `functional' there is scope for significant improvement, particularly when you consider the purchase price for the device it would not be too unreasonable to expect a much more detailed instruction guide and MANY recipes with full-colour photographs. The device itself is simple to use, but there are many tips that could be imparted and with a better book you would be more likely to want to try things out and be less fearful of this new way of cooking. Fortunately there are several good third-party recipe books available but it is quite a disappointing omission nonetheless. The DVD does give a few hints and tips but one has needed to invest nearly a quarter-of-an-hour to get these, when they could have been dispensed in a minute or two within a good handbook.
Many nutritionalists are positive over sous vide as a cooking method as the food cooks in its own natural juices for maximum flavour and nutrition. Additionally vitamins and antioxidants that would be lost into cooking liquid or steam with traditional cooking methods remain intact.
How did it cope in real-world tests? Generally very well. This reviewer's wife whilst, initially sceptical, was generally positive to the transformation made to some cuts of meat, which is quite high praise as she is not a prolific meat eater. Everything worked as it would be expected to and no doubt there was an initial `fear of the unknown' that was unfounded. The SousVide Supreme was initiative and after a brief look at the manual it never needs to be troubled again. The ready reckoner table is then the only thing you need to consult if you wish to know the cooking time and temperature for a given foodstuff. There are even third-party applications available for iPhone and iPad users that can be a great little extra (it is possible that similar applications exist for other phone/tablet platforms).
Apart from the disappointing user guide, about the only thing we'd like to have immediately changed would be the weight of the lid (that doubles as a tray). It just felt too thin and lightweight. When you come to remove the lid after cooking, a lot of condensation/water seems to affix itself to the lid and there is no angled drainage lip so if you are not deft you might drop a bit of water on your work surface. Not a big deal in itself once you know what to expect, but it would be nice to avoid this if it would be possible.
Is this reviewer sold on sous vide cooking? Yes and no. Yes, due to the great results achievable with a little bit of effort and planning. And it is not really a no per se. It is clear that sous vide will not be the dominant cooking method of choice, so far, for this reviewer but that is because of forward-planning and kitchen organisation. This is no reflection on the SousVide Supreme but a reality. For a commercial kitchen or a family where you know there is a structured meal plan, this is a no-brainer. You probably still do need to be a bit of a foodie to make the most of this due to the preparation requirements. Invest a little time and trouble and the results WILL pay back with dividends. This is one of those products where the offer of a trial would be a great marketing campaign as this reviewer suspects, once it has fell into the hands of a foodie it might be hard to let go of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
No complaints really - works as it should, dead simple to use, nothing to report except that my steak has never been so delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sousevide supreme water oven, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
the sous vide water oven, is quite amazing, at first wasn,t sure if I would use it enough, but found wonderful to prepare in advance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product with efficient customer service, 19 Jan 2013
By 
M. J. Bobbe "Melanie Bobbe" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
I initially had an issue with the company selling the sous vide but they have now proved that their customer service is vastly improved. I had to send it back because it was leaking, although I did receive it back promptly it started to leak again, when I contacted them they told me that my machine had a fault and they would replace it. It was picked up swiftly and I'm told ill get the new sous vide in a couple of days (I hope so as I've got 22 people for dinner on Friday and will need it to cook duck breasts and salt beef).
As to the machine, I'm a fairly adventuress home cook and I must say the sous vide is excellent, I'm hooked!
I use it at least three times a week for everyday cooking, it makes the most mundane chicken breast succulent, it tastes like a five star (or dare I say? Michelin star) restaurant food. The steak is amazing, I sousvide a very thick bit, almost like a small joint, then pat it dry and sear it on my BBQ plate very quickly, then slice, it tastes like the finest fillet.
Overall it's the best kitchen aid I've ever had and anyone who likes to cook, will love it. I couldn't be without it now, so do yourself a favour and buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Service Second to None, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
My SousVide Supreme was about 3 years old when it developed a fault. I
contacted SV expecting the normal, "Too costly to repair, buy a new one".
But no, instead it was, "Send it back, repairs are free".

I packed it in bubble wrap and two layers of thick cardboard. Taped it with
packing tape and string. In spite of this when it was opened by SV the
inside of the oven was damaged and the base broken.

The end of the road? No. SV offered to replace my oven with a "refurbished
unit. Again it was a free of charge offer!!! In other words, an offer I
could not refuse and one I have never before experienced in 60 years as a
consumer of such materiel.

Add this experience to its cooking performance I have no hesitation in
giving SV a well deserved 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing results, 17 July 2013
This review is from: SousVide Supreme Water Oven (Kitchen & Home)
I was so exited to finally get a Sous Vide machine but am so far very disappointed with the results. The texture of chicken was very bizarre, steaks come out tender but tasteless and I've tried pulled pork which was dry. I have to come to the conclusion it is little more than a gimmick. If you aren't a very good cook or don't appreciate good food, then you might enjoy a machine that guarantees the pinkness of your steak. However, if your taste buds are demanding, and you know how to cook a pink steak in a pan, then save your money. There is also a dearth of good cook books on the subject too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SousVide Supreme Water Oven
SousVide Supreme Water Oven by SousVide Supreme
£358.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews