Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, but still the most perfect pop album ever made
As a Joy Division and Nick Cave fan, this isn't the kind of album I'm meant to like. However, this album simply contains more perfect pop songs than any other album. It is highly derivative of the Beatles, Byrds, Big Star, Faces, Slade, Stone Roses, but it actually adds to all to its sources to produce the perfect retrospective of all that has been good about pop over...
Published on 30 Aug 2002 by Anthony Stevens

versus
2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misfire
Can't bring myself to enjoy this one bit. I was very much looking forward to giving this a spin once I'd bought it for I'm always on the lookout for timeless guitar pop records, but this plods drearily and is more repetitive than The Wedding Present. Disappointed but I may yet still try some of their other records. Not for me, this one.
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by Robin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it. Listen to it. Adore it., 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
Scotland's Teenage Fanclub is one of those bands that you simply have to love. They're adorable. Their songs are like warm sweaters that never go bad. `Bandwagonesque', their 1991 debut, gained fame by being the album that knocked the titanic `Nevermind' off the charts. But it's not for nothing; each song is heartbreaking and/or uplifting, like Big Star...but with better harmonies. Seriously, their singing voices are THAT good. "December", "The Concept", "What You Do To Me", "Pet Rock" are all amazing songs, with harmonies and arrangements that Brian Wilson would kill for (and probably would if he used his mental illness for evil)
Get this album. Listen to it at least a dozen times, and tell me how it recklessly pulled your heart-strings till breaking point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest British Band of the Nineties, 19 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
I was highly suspicious of Teenage Fanclub when I bought this, for reasons I can't remember. I only really fell in love with them when they released Grand Prix. I suppose I only had a grudging admiration for this album until then.
So what eventually won me over? Melodies, distorted by hazy, lazy feedback wash over you. On Star Sign fuzzed up guitars gently, gradually emerge, somewhat menacingly. The Concept mentions Status Quo and contraception yet remains cool and sincere. And Alcoholiday, apart from being the finest one word song title ever, is a gorgeous lament to drunken irresponsibility, topped off with some awesome guitar riffs at the end.
And with the greatest respect to the recently departed Mr G Harrison, Teenage Fanclub are the only band in history to have three great songwriters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This album will make you seriously happy, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
Teenage Fanclub have made a better album than this in the form of Grand Prix, but the emotional vitality and warmth at the heart of these songs make Bandwagonesque an essential purchase. Alcoholiday - a blaze of criss-cross guitars and heart-breaking lyrics - is one of the finest pop singles never released, while The Concept, Star Sign, December and Guiding Star are proof that TFC should have hit gold with this album's gorgeous mix of sixties' melodies and grunge-influenced guitar work. If you are new to Teenage Fanclub, this is definitely the place to start; then move on to Grand Prix, Songs From Northern Britain and Howdy! Believe me, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This record can make you seriously happy, 15 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
Teenage Fanclub have made a better record than this in the form of Grand Prix, but what makes this an essential album is the emotional vitality at the heart of the songs. Part self-conscious evocation of sixties pop, part grunge-influenced document of early-nineties music, TFC pointed the way for every Britpop band with a Lennon/Wilson fixation and a small amount of talent. And the songs? Well, Alcoholiday, a blaze of criss-cross guitars and heart-breaking lyrics, is one of the finest pop songs never released, while The Concept, Star Sign, December and Guiding Star are not far behind. Utterly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the two later albums first, 25 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
Songs from Northern Britain and Grand Prix are classics. This isn't ... so buy the others first then if you want to fill in the gaps, get this one.

This is good in parts, but not an album you'll absolutely love like you probably will the aformentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misfire, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
Can't bring myself to enjoy this one bit. I was very much looking forward to giving this a spin once I'd bought it for I'm always on the lookout for timeless guitar pop records, but this plods drearily and is more repetitive than The Wedding Present. Disappointed but I may yet still try some of their other records. Not for me, this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars random noise, 6 May 2011
By 
G. Nugent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bandwagonesque (Audio CD)
Bought another album (Howdy) of this band and thought it was quite good.
This album, on the other hand, contains a mess of random noise and is just not very good.
Another CD relegated to becoming a coaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bandwagonesque (Gatefold) [VINYL]
Bandwagonesque (Gatefold) [VINYL] by Teenage Fanclub (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews