Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unexpectedly Good Horror Movie
When I bought the DVD, I was fully expecting a low budget movie, average acting and direction, so I wouldn't be disappointed. I was intrigued by the plot of the Allied commandos set out to raid enemy bastions on the eve of the D Day landings infiltrates German occupied Channel Islands to divert Hitler's attention from Normandy. When they successfully plant the bombs, they...
Published 13 months ago by Gre4t Moments

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Demon no less; I haven't seen one of those for a while!
First of all a call out to whoever decided to emblazen 'Saw with Swastikas' across the cover of 'The Devils Rock'.

Lazy and misleading; it's nothing like Saw at all!

Maybe who ever wrote this just loves alliteration; how about "Finding Nemo with Gnashers" for 'Pirahna', "Parenthood with Problems" for 'The Exorcist' or "Goodfellas with Giggles" for...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by The Dandy Highwayman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unexpectedly Good Horror Movie, 16 Nov 2013
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
When I bought the DVD, I was fully expecting a low budget movie, average acting and direction, so I wouldn't be disappointed. I was intrigued by the plot of the Allied commandos set out to raid enemy bastions on the eve of the D Day landings infiltrates German occupied Channel Islands to divert Hitler's attention from Normandy. When they successfully plant the bombs, they hear sounds of an apparent torture from the nearby bunker. Captain Ben Grogan (Craig Hall) despite the objection of Sergeant Joe Tane (Karlos Drinkwater), went to investigate assuming it could be a fellow soldier. While Grogan enter the large gun pit - bunker, Tane stands guard rather reluctantly giving the captain five minutes to do whatever he can. Soon hearing a gunshot he also enter the pit-bunker in search of Grogan. What he found was a book of black magic near a bloodied dead German soldier. The book in French, details with signs and symbols of the occult and Lucifer incantations, puzzles Tane who is killed by a someone in German uniform, soon Grogan is also captured.

That's an intro to the plot, which thickens and twists while weaving a web of horror. True, it's a low budget movie, but it's really well made. Great camera, audio, decent special effects, and an engaging story though sometimes the story drags a bit.

The entire cast, including the extras, is may be nine (that counts for characters after the main credits). Three main actors, since the character Tane is killed at the beginning, the story revolves around Craig Hall, the Nazi Colonel Klaus Meyer played b Matthew Sunderland, and Gina Varela's mysterious demonic entity.
Don't miss the epilogue: once the credits roll, wait for ten or so seconds until the film title, and see the epilogue.

About the DVD: DVD has limited features like scene selection, making of the movie and no subtitles.
Pro.
Great Plot
Decent Special Effects
Good Audio
Low budget but masked very well, thanks to the audio and the camera.

Cons:
No Subtitles
Only four main actors, and probably all together seven actors in the whole movie.
Still low budget

DVD Features on cover
The Making of the Devil's Rock: Behind the scenes featurette
Interviews with cast and crew.
Certificate: 18 for strong gore
Region: 2
Audio: 5.1 Surround Sound/2.0 Stereo Dolby Digital
Running Time: 82 minutes Approx.
Aspect Ratio: 16x9 Anamorphic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Occult, Nazis, Kiwis and a Gorefest!, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well made, small budget flick from New Zealand and it has a setting that is becoming a new sub genre, that is the Nazi's and the occult. It starts the day before D-Day, when two New Zealand commandos have been sent to the Channel Islands as part of Operation Overlord and the subterfuge that was employed by the Allies. They are to blow up gun emplacements in a bid to make the Germans think that the Islands will be the staging post for the invasion of Europe. So far, so plausible, as they near their target they can hear tortured screams coming from the bowels of the cavernous outpost. Captain Ben Grogen (Craig Hall) decides it might be one of their men being tortured and so goes in against the advice of his Sargeant.

In some horrors you always want to know why do the `heroes' go into the big scary mansion where the lights don't work, instead of running as quickly as possible in the opposite direction. What director Paul Campion makes you realise is that it is foolish but heck you would probably do the same thing, so cliché avoided. A word about Mr Campion, he has worked as artist and painter on oodles of films including `The lord of the rings' trilogy but I think this is his first in the directors chair.

Well they go into the pit and to tell you any more would be a plot spoiler.
What I can say is that they do not find any of their comrades and most of the Germans are already dead, so what they do find is a whole lot worse. The German commander is Col Klaus Meyer (Mathew Sunderland) who is a member of the SS on one of Hitler's special missions to investigate the legendary witchcraft of the Islands. His role is pivotal to the plot development and as some have commented he does have a rather English accent, which is forgivable as a lot of Germans were educated in England, but it is really because he is not actually a German actor. This is full of unpleasant gore, scares a plenty and images of the occult as well as more blood than an average abattoir. It is tense and gripping right from the start and does not let up throughout, which is a very big achievement especially as this is 96 minutes long.

I am not a huge horror fan, but this is one that has appeal on many levels, if you liked `The Outpost', or `The Keep' you will want to see this. Scary, claustrophobic, dirty and intense, I think Mr Campion should be rightly proud of what he has managed to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Demon no less; I haven't seen one of those for a while!, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
First of all a call out to whoever decided to emblazen 'Saw with Swastikas' across the cover of 'The Devils Rock'.

Lazy and misleading; it's nothing like Saw at all!

Maybe who ever wrote this just loves alliteration; how about "Finding Nemo with Gnashers" for 'Pirahna', "Parenthood with Problems" for 'The Exorcist' or "Goodfellas with Giggles" for 'The Hangover'.

Anyway, 'The Devils Rock' is a very different horror film which confronts the demon/devil sub-genre in a solid, non-cheesy way. The acting is very good and the claustrophobia of the underground network (in which alomost the entire film is set) works very well.

An original take on the ending of the war, it is exectuted very well with gore a plenty along the way. The downside for me is the abrupt ending and the fact that very little actually happens throughout. Action packed and fast moving it isn't, a slow burner it most certainly is.

The special affects are commendable and the 'devil' looks very realistic. There's not enough good, old fashioned demons in horror these days!

I didn't love 'The Devils Rock' and there are far better horror films out there. That said, there's no huge flaws and the whole film is pretty neat and tidy. Worth a watch for sure, but for me it was just a little pointless, especially with the film grinding to a halt when it seemed to just be getting going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A robust addition to the horror genre., 16 July 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
The Second World War. Widely considered to be perhaps the one and only true war where the forces of good battled evil. From World War II comes cinemas go-to villains: the Nazis. Indiana Jones hated them, Laurence Olivier's fugitive Nazi tortue methods left audiences squirming in The Marathon Man; and they proved to be a supernatural force to be reckoned with in Outpost. So, taking this villainous cinematic staple as its core, The Devil's Rock is a 2011 horror film from New Zealand but set in the German-occupied Channel Islands of World War II.

The Devil's Rock comes to audiences from the mind of British writer, Paul Finch. The backstory is well-researched and this is further fleshed out (for those interested) on the film's website.
Naturally, New Zealand acts as a substitute for the Channel Islands and the fantastically well-preserved Wrights Hill Fortress stands in for a German fortification. Its tunnels and hallways provided a suitably convincing, eerie and claustrophobic setting for this particular story to be told in.

The Devil's Rock plays out with only a handful of characters and once you've read the synopsis, there is little in the way of surprise when the true nature of the "beautiful but Devilish captive" is revealed. However, this does not spoil the film in any way since the focus of the film is more on the inner turmoil suffered by Grogan and questions arising as to where his own and the Nazi officer's loyalties truly lie...

I initially had gripes with the antipodean accents evident in the movie but these are ably explained away in the case of the commando team and the film's website paints a background of having spent time in education in England for the Nazi officer's intonation.

The special effects are largely old school make up: buckets of fake blood etc and I can't think of any blatant uses of poor CGI. A major bonus in my book. The gore is suitable for a tale of this nature and there's probably enough of it going around to keep most of you gorehounds happy for a while!

As stated earlier, The Devil's Rock only has a few core members of cast. I would suggest that this is one of the film's strongest points since it allows the story to develop nicely without having to examine a multitude of characters motives behind their actions and allows the leads to develop further than two-dimensional stereotypes.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and if I am to find fault with it, it would have to lie with the lighting and lack of suspense or scares. At times I felt the set pieces could have used with just a little less light, creating a bit more of a foreboding atmosphere. I would suggest that this is a small complaint and if you like your horror with a bit more story than your usual splatterfest, this film should make its way into your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a try, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
I'll skip the details as they've been supplied by other reviewers and focus on what's good about this movie to make it worth watching.

It's low budget and much of it's set in one room. For most of the running time there are only three characters. Most of the gore is in the shape of already dead and mutilated German soldiers. There are only a couple of notable onscreen kills. Okay, this sounds as if I'm trying to put you off but I'm not. What is so good about this film is the sheer tension the director builds up between the characters that you can't look away from the screen and you really do not have any idea of what happens next. You have two enemies trapped with a devious man-eating demon who becomes the person you love. It is genuinely suspenseful and scary. The World War 2 setting is also an interesting factor which makes this different from the usual run of horror movies.

Four stars would be too generous, but call it 3.75.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great orginal film .., 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
As a big horror fan, I do love an orginal creepy new film to enjoy.

Purchased this with low expectations but was pleasantly surprised..

Well acted dark and intriguing... For horror fans its well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ATMOSPHERIC NEW ZEALAND OCCULT HORROR MOVIE SET ON D-DAY., 24 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

At night on June 5th, 1944, 2 New Zealand soldiers, Captain Ben Grogan (Craig Hall) and Sergeant Joe Tane (Karlos Drinkwater) paddle to to Forau Island to sabotage German gun emplacements located there. They land on the beach dodging mines and traps and make their way to the German fortification. From inside they hear screaming.
They are surprised by a German soldier running out of the bunker, screaming and pleading for help. Grogan easily kills the soldier and when they hear a woman screaming, they decide to investigate. During this, Tane is killed and Grogan is knocked unconscious by another German officer.
Grogan is interrogated and tortured by the German officer (Matthew Sunderland). During the interrogation Grogan repeatedly hears a female screaming from another room. Grogan eventually manages to break free and injure Meyer, the German officer.
He discovers the woman who was screaming. It turns out the woman is a shape shifter demon, summoned by black magic, a weapon the Germans plan to use against the Allied Forces...

THE DEVIL'S ROCK is an interesting little horror film with a unique and tense atmosphere and superb actors. Almost the entire movie takes place in the bunker, focusing on Grogan (superbly played by Craig Hall), Colonel Meyer (equally impressive: Matthew Sunderland) and Gina Varela, playing the demon.
Paul Campion directed and co-wrote THE DEVIL'S ROCK, which at 82 minutes is a rather short movie, but well paced and without unnecessary lengths. A bloody chamber drama with quite well-written dialogue.
Occult horror, of course is not to everyone's liking, but the occult is rather subtle, no demon worshipping or blasphemy, it should not be to offensive. The gore section, however is a different story: there is quite a lot of blood, guts and gore to go around, gore hounds should be pleased. The special effects are very well done - real makeup effects instead of cheap CGI effects.
Fortunately the movie spares us the usual cheesiness one would expect from a movie such as this, I was pleasantly surprised.
Not great, but definitely worth a look and most certainly better than I expected.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2011 Metrodome UK DVD
Feature running time: 82 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Not Rated (MPAA) (not yet released) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16x9
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: None
Extras: Making Of Featurette, interviews
Region: 2 (locked), PAL

Picture: B
Audio: B
Extras: D-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not bad enough to offend the sensibilities, not good enough to remember 5 minutes later, 28 Aug 2014
Didn't have leads of sufficient calibre to pull something this intense off. The theme is a well worn one done better elsewhere. For example, in its namesake 'The devils Business', where the more discerning viewer can enjoy beautifully crafted dialogue with a captivating atmosphere, and the performances to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 19 Dec 2012
By 
M. J. Buckland "Mardenski" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst low-budget horror flicks are a bit hit&miss (Bane being a flagbearer for the latter) Devil's Rock is actually not too bad at all : Acting - reasonable, Gore content - high, Nazis - de rigeur nasty and evil. The premise of the film returns to the well trodden path of Nazi experimentation and the occult and I have to say it does it rather well. Give this one a go, you might be surprised you actually enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars AKA Hellboy's sister., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil's Rock [DVD] (DVD)
The other reviews have discussed the plot so I'll just say that this is a most enjoyable mix genre film,the fairly common horror/war hybrid.Wonders have been done with the low budget and the film is both tense and claustrophobic.However don't think too deeply about what's happening or you might have a brainstorm.The Nazi's accent becomes more Antipodean as the film progresses and the period feel is somewhat shakey-the Captain runs around brandishing a Luger in both hands in a very contemporary cop film stylee and the female demon is not remotely suggestive of the 1940s -she looks and sounds like something out a 2011 tv commercial.Niggles aside though,this is well worth a look.Three and a half stars actually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil's Rock [DVD]
Devil's Rock [DVD] by Paul Campion (DVD - 2011)
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews