Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece philosophical ideas and Freudian psychoanalysis
Many people who saw this movie took it to be a cheesy B grade (or C grade?) movie about a giant shark battling a giant crocodile is instead a subtle philosophical commentary of our social mores and prejudices.

You see, the shark represents the male ego. So when the shark is terrorising the navy, it actually represents how the male ego has crushed the feminism...
Published on 8 Sept. 2012 by Shishya

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More mindless mega monster mayhem
With a title like this you know exactly what to expect, a knowing sequel to Mega-Shark vs Giant Octopus. Mega Shark Vs Giant Octopus [DVD] [2009] Only this time our oversized shark takes on a 1500ft (yes they do say that!!) crocodile, The croc, freed from its hiding place inside an African mine, chomps its way through a few hundred people before a hunter (ex boxer and...
Published on 13 May 2011 by I. R. Kerr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece philosophical ideas and Freudian psychoanalysis, 8 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
Many people who saw this movie took it to be a cheesy B grade (or C grade?) movie about a giant shark battling a giant crocodile is instead a subtle philosophical commentary of our social mores and prejudices.

You see, the shark represents the male ego. So when the shark is terrorising the navy, it actually represents how the male ego has crushed the feminism of our society, and how men have ruined the environment.

The croc does not represent women, however. It represents corporate greed. Like the crocodile walks over everything, crushing anything in its path. The movie is trying to subtly show how corporate greed is out of control, and how it is destroying our civilisation.

There is a scene where the shark eats a nuclear submarine (yes, you read that right). Since the shark represents men, the submarine represents, well, something Freud talked about a lot. Since this is a family safe review, I hope you'll understand. So the scene shows how the male psyche is in pain, as it has been sexually repressed.

I am surprised this movie did not get an Oscar for best movie best direction and best script. Just goes to show how shallow our society has become, where cheap entertainment gets all the awards, and movies with deep messages, like this one, are ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More mindless mega monster mayhem, 13 May 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
With a title like this you know exactly what to expect, a knowing sequel to Mega-Shark vs Giant Octopus. Mega Shark Vs Giant Octopus [DVD] [2009] Only this time our oversized shark takes on a 1500ft (yes they do say that!!) crocodile, The croc, freed from its hiding place inside an African mine, chomps its way through a few hundred people before a hunter (ex boxer and model Gary Stretch) manages to knock it unconscious (from the inside) and get it on the back of a truck to take it to a friend who owns a ship.
Meanwhile The shark attacks a few vessels and a sonar expert is call in to assist Admiral Calvin (Robert Picardo) in tracking the shark down, the navy scenes all take place on a minimalist set that Voyage To The Bottom of The Sea would have been ashamed of.
From very early on it's quite clear that the creatures are as big as the scenes they are in need them to be at that time. The shark merrily leaps out of the water at will, eats subs whole and treats croc eggs like caviare. The croc is so big it takes a cargo ship to transport it but can also go on the back of an articulated truck and is held down by the world's strongest twine and tarpaulin combination.
When the croc gets free there's gallons of testosterone spilled as our heroes try to combat the twin menaces, three if you count the shoddy CGI effects. As the shark works it way through the US Navy the croc enjoys a pretty good feed at Miami's Seaworld.
The scenes when the shark fin scythes through the water would take a child of 5 a few minutes to master, the underwater fight sequences are a little better but you'll end up chewing your knuckles to hold the laughter back before you feel any fear.
It's choc full of cliches, the acting is dire, the editing awful, the same scenes keep appearing ad nauseum. The scene with the shark and the nuclear torpedo is a gem. The aerobatic shark holds a torpedo in its mouth as it executes a 3.2 degree difficulty dive with pike and reverse tuck, then later on it holds the whole submarine with very little difference in scale; the continuity staff must have nodded off by this stage of the movie's production.
The scenes where the monsters battle it out in Panama are priceless with a military woefully short of amart weapons despite having two of the largest targets they could ever hope to find.
It's a scream and for your own sanity should only be seen in that light. Watch it just for a laugh and don't let any one star reviews put you off, personally I can't wait for the next mega-shark movie that those nice folks at The Asylum let loose on an unsuspecting world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you paid for this, it was too much., 26 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
I love a good bit of trash sci-fi as much as the next person, but this one really is just awful.

The special effects are rubbish with no sense of realism about them, the acting wooden and the plot must have been written by that room of monkeys that are trying to type Shakespeare.

The most offensive element is the poor grasp of geography. At one point the crock lands in Miami and 5 minutes later is 400 miles away in Orlando. The mega-creatures then manage to pop over to California seemingly without using the Panama canal at ghat stage.

At around 2 hours long, a sheer waste of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Deep Significance and Meaning For Our Time, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
This marvelous chef d'oeuvre, Megashark Versus Crocosaurus, is a triumph of modern cinema and an expression of the most profound longings of the human spirit. The writing is of epic quality, finding a place amongst the great sagas of history, and the acting alone can move even the hardest heart to tears. It is a travesty and a shame, a lasting blot upon the soul of the cinematic Establishment, that this wonderful film did not garner several Academy Award nominations, nor was it featured at Sundance or Cannes where it belonged, a beacon in the darkness that shines far above the usual mediocrities of mundane "cinema."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT a 4 Star Film!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 Sept. 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, people, I think everyone's been at the coolaid! This is not and could never be described as a four-star film. It's woefully scripted, badly acted, has awful special effects and barely makes any sense. Having said that it's thoroughly enjoyable and brainless. I have MegaShark vs. Giant Octopus which I also thought was utter drivel and thoroughly enjoyed.
However, to balance the rating I have to give a solid 'Good'. Please, anyone reading these reviews - do not believe this is a four-star film and buy it expecting Jaws. You'll be sadly disappointed. Buy this film is you liked the other one I mentioned or: Boa vs. Anaconda, Mega Piranha, Malibu Shark Attack etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its a draw., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as Sharknado. Its not so much that its light on plot, but that they try and jam in a romance at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
Grandson loved it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mega Shark II, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
D. Alexander - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
A great film to watch with your mind out of gear. Not as good as the first Mega Shark film, the CGI effects a bit too obvious, but still very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars watchable, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Michael Galvin (SOUTHAMPTON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
usual Godzilla type battles, no doubt hybernation played a part in their survival but a more feasable story would be hatching eggs which near the end are laid by the thousands and destroyed in a single air strike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun - If You're In The Mood!, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] (DVD)
We all love a bit of schlock, don't we? These multi-zillion dollar Hollywood blockbusters are all well and good, but cinematic perfection can get just a little bit staid, don't you think? Every now and again it's nice to help oneself to a lovely big helping of good old-fashioned B-movie cheese. And, boy, with a straight-to-DVD release entitled 'MEGA SHARK VS CROCOSAURUS' you're never going to skimp on the smelly old Stilton. The acting is atrocious, the effects lamentable - TV's 'Dr Who' and 'Primeval' feature more realistic-looking monsters! - but who cares? It's fun - if you're in the right mood. So do yourself a favour: forget the pressures of the day, forget 'Jurassic Park', just open a bottle of plonk, settle yourself down with whatever (willing) accomplice or accomplices you can find, and make a night of it. This movie may not be Spielberg, but for the price it's some of the best fun you can have lurking in the dark with your clothes on. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD]
Mega Shark Vs Crocosaurus [DVD] by Christopher Ray (DVD - 2011)
£9.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews