Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I always come back to this album!, 7 Jan 2004
By 
Donald G Jenkins (Duluth, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Reputation (Audio CD)
This album is timeless! Most people would rate "Black Rose" as Lizzy's best, but over the years I always come back to this album. This is the most diverse album any rock band can offer. From the opening strains of "Soldier of Fortune" to "Dear Lord", this LP has it all. Everytime I listen to this LP it seems to have a shifting feel to it, giving a different sound, a different perspective. Visconti shows the he was and still is a producer extraordinare. So-called current 'rock bands' need to use this LP as a blueprint, this is how it's done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Chocolate Stains On My Pants...", 30 Jun 2011
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
After the bad taste the last 3 Lizzy Deluxe Editions seem to leave in many fans mouths (advertised as new remasters, it's now said Universal simply used the 1996 versions and didn't change the booklets or adverts) - I'm glad to say this reissue of Lizzy's much-loved 8th album "Bad Reputation" is a real improvement on the former 1996 outing - and packs some nice surprises in the bonus department too.

Tracks 1 to 9 are the original LP "Bad Reputation" released 2 September 1977 on Vertigo Records 9102 016 in the UK and on Mercury SRM1-1186 in the USA. It peaked at Number 4 in the UK album charts and at 49 in the US. This June 2011 'Expanded Edition' CD on Universal/Mercury 2772693 adds on 6 bonus tracks and breaks down as follows (57:24 minutes):

Tracks 10 to 15 are "Killer Without A Cause", "Bad Reputation", "That Woman's Gonna Break Your Heart", "Dancing In Moonlight (It's Caught Me In Its Spotlight)" and "Downtown Sundown" - all are Previously Unreleased - a BBC Session Recorded 1 August 1977 (no other details provided).

Track 16 is "Me And The Boys (Soundcheck)" - this version is Previously Unreleased - no details are provided as to where or when this live recording was made...

The expanded 16-page booklet has new liner notes (doesn't say who wrote them) and features the album's original inner sleeve along with some new live photos of the band in both colour and black and white. It's nice, but oddly doesn't reference the bonus tracks at all except to list their titles (I mean 'Soundcheck' - where, when?)

The remaster was carried out by ANDY PEARCE and MATT WORTHAM at Wired Masters in the UK in 2010 - and the sound is much improved. The 1996 version always seemed slightly muffled - muddy almost - but each track here is very clear - especially the rhythm section. I've always loved the slightly romantic feel to "Southbound", "Downtown Sundown" and "Dear Lord" - and each sounds great - really clear, punchy without being overly cranked for effect. The irrepressible "Dancing In The Moonlight..." (lyrics above) leaps out of the speakers at you. The only two I found slightly underwhelming are "Soldier Of Fortune" and "Opium Trail" - maybe there's just too much going on in the tracks - but they sound even more 'dense' that before - and not in a good way - but obviously it's a matter of personal taste.

Amazingly, the opening two BBC tracks "Killer Without A Cause" and "Bad Reputation" start out sounding like the band live-in-the-studio (exciting and alive), but the next three end up sounding like polished overdubbed versions which are virtually indistinguishable from the album cuts. On the opening two, you really feel the songs coming alive - and the sheer rocking tightness of the group who'd been touring their wrinkled butts off for years - shines through also. There's a rush of excitement on the first two - the last three are just a little 'too' polished - almost sedate.

And then you're presented with a truly astonishing diamond in the rough - a genuine Thin Lizzy bonus track gem. "Me And The Boys" first turned up as a crowd-storming track on the "Live And Dangerous" double in 1978 (its also famously featured on the video of the concert), but it disappointingly wasn't on the DE version of "Live & Dangerous" in 2010. Well - here it is - albeit in a 'Soundcheck' version - and it's ragged and absolutely amazing. This is what Lizzy fans have craved - their band rocking like an absolute monster - tight even when they were shambolic. As I say - it's messy - but man is it good!

To sum up - despite the booklet being slightly disjointed - the remaster is great and the bonus tracks - proper fan pleasers.

I remember being at Dalymount Park in Dublin (a football stadium) in the Summer of 1977 when Lizzy were at their peak - Phil pointing the reflection plate of his black bass through the crowd as the light caught it in the approaching evening. He was laying into the cool lyrics of "Dancing In The Moonlight..." and the whole place was boogieing - I remember thinking just how 'magic' they were.

I like it that this CD has brought some of that vibe back to me...after all these years...
Recommended.

PS: see also reviews for "Thin Lizzy" Expanded, "Shades Of A Blue Orphanage" Expanded and 2CD DELUXE EDITION sets of "Vagabonds Of The Western World", "Nightlife", "Fighting", "Jailbreak", "Johnny The Fox" and "Live & Dangerous"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And then there were three, 31 July 2011
By 
T. Graham "ToTTo" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Bad Reputation,the title says it all.This is an astounding hard rock album which certainly stands the test of time.
This new version is still a single disc,but what a disc, containing some of Thin Lizzy's best ever recorded material.
The story goes that after helping out Frankie Miller in a fight Guitarist Brian Robertson's hand injury prevented him from playing on this album, but during the recording sessions Lynott decided that some of the tracks needed the Scotsman's distinctive"crunch".The proof is in the pudding as they say and the pudding here is the solo's by Robertson and fellow guitarist Scott Gorham. Some of the most melodic tracks Lizzy had done up to this point.Hit single "Dancing in the moonlight"
being one of the bands best loved songs and the two ballads "Southbound" and "Dear Lord" showing Lynott's romantic side.
Once again the remastering by Andy Pearce is full of bounce and is very sympathetic to the original sound.
The extras this time are mostly BBC session recordings and are a bit limp.Some nice period photos and a new essay on the recording of the (Original) album round things off nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Bad, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Richard Devlin "Rikman" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
So glad I bought this...the old re-master was really dull and lifeless. This is so much better, still a wee bit flat but then the originals are well over thirty years old.

There's a lot more detail, and you can really hear the new ideas that Tony Visconti brought to the band's sound.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPANDED NOT DELUXE, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
UNLIKE THE OTHER RECENT BATCH OF THIN LIZZY REIISUES,BAD REPUTATION IS AN EXPANDED
EDITION, NOT A DELUXE ( TWO DISC EDITIONS)AND JUST A SINGLE DISC AND AS SUCH WAS
LESS EXPENSIVE THAN THE DELUXE EDITIONS.
THE FINE DEATAILS:
THE DISC I HAVE (ORDERED FROM AMAZON/INDIGO STARFISH)WAS MADE IN GERMANY(BY PDO?)
AND AS WITH THE DELUXE EDITIONS STATES ON THE CD BOOKLET THAT IT WAS REMASTERED IN
2010 BY ANDY PEARCE AND MATT WORTHAM AT WIRED MASTERS.TO THOSE OF US WHO ARE
INTERESTED IN SUCH THINGS,WE NOW KNOW THAT ON THE PREVIOUS DELUXE EDITIONS OF
JAILBREAK,JOHNNY THE FOX AND LIVE AND DANGEROUS TWO BAND MEMBERS ( PRESUMABLY
SCOTT GORHAM AND BRIAN DOWNEY)REJECTED THE 2010 REMASTERS IN FAVOUR OF SOME
REMASTERS FROM 2002 PRODUCED FOR DISCS RELEASED FOR THE JAPANESE MARKETS.I OWN ALL OF THESE DELUXE EDITIONS AND THE SOUND OF THESE REMASTERS IS VERY GOOD,THE FACT
THAT WE WERE LED TO BELIEVE(IT WAS PRINTED ON ALL OF THE CD BOOKLETS)THAT WE WERE
GETTING NEW 2010 REMASTERS WAS MISLEADING TO SAY THE LEAST,NOT TO MENTION THE
NUMEROUS OTHER MISTAKES WITH THE TRACKLISTINGS AND WITH THE LIVE AND DANGEROUS
RELEASE A DVD THAT WAS INFERIOR IN QUALITY TO THE ONE THAT HAD ALREADY BEEN ON
RELEASE.GETTING BACK TO THIS RELEASE OF BAD REPUTATION,WHAT DO YOU GET FOR YOUR
MONEY ? THE ORIGINAL ALBUM REMASTERED ( IN 2010 ? THIS REMAINS TO BE SEEN)WITH BONUS TRACKS ALSO REMASTERED COMPRISING FIVE OF THE TRACKS FROM THE ALBUM FROM BBC
SESSIONS MADE IN AUGUST 1977 A MONTH BEFORE THE ALBUM'S RELEASE.FOUR OF THESE BBC
SESSIONS WERE RELEASED PREVIOUSLY ON THE PEEL SESSIONS CD WHICH IS NOW OUT OF
PRINT.THE FIFTH TRACK FROM THESE SESSIONS IS DOWNTOWN SUNDOWN.THE SIXTH BONUS TRACK IS A LIVE VERSION OF ME AND THE BOYS.THE BBC SESSIONS ARE OUTSTANDING AND FOR ME,WORTH THE PRICE OF THE DISC ON THEIR OWN(ME AND THE BOYS IS NON ESSENTIAL)AS WITH ALL OF THE TRACKS FROM THE BBC SESSIONS MADE AVAILABLE ON THE SECOND DISC OF BOTH JOHNNY THE FOX AND JAILBREAK,THE SOUND QUALITY IS EXCELLENT AND THE PERFORMANCES BY THE BAND ARE OUTSTANDING.YOU GET A BOOKLET WITH SOME NICE PHOTOS OF THE BAND(BLACK AND WHITE AND COLOUR)AND AN ESSAY ABOUT THE MAKING OF THE BAD REPUTAION ALBUM,ALTHOUGH AT FIRST GLANCE,I CAN'T SEE WHO WROTE IT.ANOTHER DIFFERENCE FROM THE PREVIOUS DELUXE EDITIONS,SCOTT GORHAM,JOE ELLOTT AND RONAN MCHUGH HAVE NOT DONE ANY RE-RECORDING/REMIXING AND IS NONE THE WORSE FOR THAT.THIS IS PROBABLY MY FAVOURITE THIN LIZZY ALBUM AND WHEN I PUT IT ON AND WHACK UP THE VOLUME (BOTH IN THE CAR AND AT HOME)IT BRINGS A SMILE TO MY FACE.THE REMASTERING HAS REALLY MADE MY APPRECIATE THE BRILLIANCE OF THE BAND AND IN PARTICULAR BRIAN DOWNEY'S DRUMMING.BAD REPUTATION WAS RECORDED AS A THREE PIECE,ALTHOUGH PHIL LYNOTT DID ASK BRIAN ROBERTSON TO OVERDUB GUITAR ON SOME OF THE TRACKS.THE ALBUM COVER ( WHICH UNLIKE PREVIOUS COVERS WAS NOT BY JIM FITZPATRICK) FEATURES JUST LYNOTT/DOWNEY AND GORHAM,MANY OF THE TRACKS FROM BAD REPUATION FEATURED IN THE BAND'S LIVE SET (BAD REPUTATION,OPIUM TRAIL,SOUTHBOUND AND DANCING IN THE MOONLIGHT BEING THE BEST KNOWN.THIS REISSUE IS VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little less deluxe than the others..., 7 Feb 2012
By 
LRJ Burne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
...but still great. Released during the Fighting-to-Black Rose era that is widely regarded as the band's peak period, Bad Reputation features a good mix of heavier tracks with more soulful numbers, and features some notable lead guitar work from Scott Gorham after usual point man Brian Robertson missed the majority of the recording due to a bar-brawl injury. It could be argued that the album is somewhat lacking in the huge hits that made the band so popular, but as a person who's always preferred Lizzy's less well-known material to their 'greatest hits', I consider that a good thing - there are some hidden gems here that I had never even heard of before but that I now adore.

I must say, I was somewhat disappointed when I found out Bad Reputation's remastered release was only a single disc edition when all the other recent Thin Lizzy remasters have been two-disc sets. Bad Reputation is one of my favourite Lizzy albums and contains my all-time favourite Thin Lizzy track (the rocking Opium Trail), and the fact that it was comparatively lacking in extra material was a bit of a let down.

However, this album has a lot of pros to outweigh the cons. Unlike the laziness and disappointment that surrounded the first three reissued albums - the totally incorrect bonus track listings, the lack of new audio remastering (despite being advertised otherwise) - this album is presented properly, with a good sound mix created specifically for this edition and packaging that actually reflects what you are buying. It's not the greatest remastering work I've ever heard, but it is an improvement over previous CD releases. The BBC Session recordings are also a nice bonus, essentially acting as alternate versions of the album tracks they represent. While some new, unreleased songs would have been nice, for the price this package is a good buy.

In summary, if you'd like to take a step away from Thin Lizzy's numerous greatest hits collections, Bad Reputation is a good place for you to start (after the incredible Black Rose, that is).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% True Lizzy, 1 Sep 2013
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
This album was the last studio album to feature the classic Gorham / Robertson line-up. Scott was initially the sole guitarist but he wanted Robbo's input and so Robbo actually ended up appearing on more of this recording than is often stated .Scott shines brightly here as does Brian R (where he contributes ) , Phil is in great form lyrically and musically and Brian Downey plays some of his most memorable drumming throughout the course of the album .Tony Visconti takes the role of producer for his first period working with Lizzy . Lizzy have always been a seemingly difficult group to produce for ; does the producer go for a raw Rock sound or does he pursue a more silky ,commercial result ? Well the production is a bit of a mixed bag but Visconti includes some great ideas here at various times .

The highlights for me include the song 'Bad Reputation'. I remember how Scott chose this song to include as his contribution to Phil's memorial radio show shortly after Phil's demise .'Opium Trail' is noteworthy for its lyrical content ,especially when we consider Phil's sad fate . 'Southbound ' is a fine ,melodic song full of charm and featuring a wonderful solo from Scott . Another song that features a great Gorham solo follows in the form of 'Dancing in the Moonlight' .'Killer Without a Cause ' is a great rocker where Robbo plays blistering ,aggressive lead guitar . 'Downtown Sundown' features a brilliantly tasty solo from Scott ; in fact Scott stated during an interview in the early '80's that he considered this solo to have been the best of his career .The final song ,titled ' Dear Lord' is an interesting finale to the album . Here Visconti's then wife , Mary Hopkin , contributes beautiful and ethereal layered , choir-like vocals that really elevate the whole song. Also contained within the song is another excellent solo from Scott and a really superb bluesy guitar break close to the beginning of the song that begs the question as to which of the guys played it ? The only songs left to mention are 'Soldier of Fortune' (which is the album opener ) and 'That Woman's Gonna Break Your Heart' which is the penultimate song. Both of these songs also contain the classic twin guitar sound that define much of what Thin Lizzy were known and admired for .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visconti...pfft!, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Thin Lizzy followed up the great "Johnny the Fox" album with "Bad Reputation" - the first time Tony Visconti produced for them. What we have is a selection of great songs, with lacklustre production. The grit and rock of "Johnny the Fox" is missing, and it can only be down to Visconti, who totally fails to capture the energy and swagger of Lizzy at their peak. All the rubbish spoken by Visconti about "Live and Dangerous" being "75%" overdubs has been totally discredited by Downey, Robertson and Gorham. That was what Lizzy were capable of, and Visconti tried to take the credit. I would have only given this three stars, but the BBC sessions show exactly what could have been achieved - they are head and shoulders above the studio album tracks. What could have been...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not A Bad Reputation, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] (Audio CD)
Again Phil and The Boys come up with a stonker! The added BBC sessions make this expanded edition essential, but just a shame that they couldn't make up a full extra bonus disc with rehearsals or even live recordings from concerts. This is an essential purcahse for any Lizzy fan. get a copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One from Lizzies richest seam., 29 April 2007
This review is from: Bad Reputation (Audio CD)
This a superb album from Lizzy peak days. Bad Boy Robertson temporarily kicked out of the band left Scott gorham to do guitar work on nearly all the tracks but this does not affect the quality of the album and gorham more than steps upto the line. Superb songs all with great lyrics and well produced. Guitar harmonies are great also confirming lizzies trademark.

At this stage in the game Lynott loved the maverick hardman image and played on this throughout the album. This is period Lizzy ruled before the substance abuse got the better of the them. The band still partied hard but worked harder in the studio and on stage which unfortunatley did not stay this way. The Band in the their prime produced albums that never had a bad track, took them to another level when played live and always left you wanting more.And this is one of those.

A gem.

An essential for any rock enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafdef33c)

This product

Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition]
Bad Reputation [Expanded Edition] by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews