Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Conclusion for Ezio and Altair
First off, the draconian DRM Ubisoft employed in previous games has gone. All that is left
is a one-time online activation for the game which is very reasonable, and what numerous other
titles also employ. If your connection cuts out during gameplay you won't get kicked out of the
game, you just carry on how you should. You can also enable offline mode from...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by Bronn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars relvelations.. the game is not perfect
OK let me tell you that game is not perfect and it not as good as the previous assassins creed. I have to say that story wise I have some hard time to get into it. Because I like the franchise I decide to persist a bit.

My favourite character Altair is back but have not much play time (BTW it is where I started to get interested in the game). You are...
Published 13 months ago by titiprime


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Conclusion for Ezio and Altair, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Bronn "Sellsword" (Westeros) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First off, the draconian DRM Ubisoft employed in previous games has gone. All that is left
is a one-time online activation for the game which is very reasonable, and what numerous other
titles also employ. If your connection cuts out during gameplay you won't get kicked out of the
game, you just carry on how you should. You can also enable offline mode from within the Ubi
launcher. The reason why the Ubisoft Game Launcher still exists is because the game has uPlay
achievements and rewards tied into this thing, as well as save game synching and automatic updates
and patches so it's not going away anytime soon. Now that the DRM has been toned down its unobtrusive.

Performance wise the game is excellent after the 1.01 update. Just like previous releases expect
a nice clean look, detailed textures and environments and just a big step up from the consoles.
Constantinople is a beautiful place to look at and has some brilliant views in store for you.
The character faces esepcially look much better, some reviews were saying this game is showing
signs of ageing but i disagree completley, if you want to see ageing look at Modern Warfare 3.

Gameplay wise nothing has changed much, there is a new hookblade with ziplines around the city to
speed up navigation, a few new kill animations, auto-walking when blended, master assassin missions,
better camera angles, some great platforming pieces, improved eagle sense, stalkers which randomly
attack you, plus a few other minor things but at its core its still the Assassin's Creed we know.

Having said that there are a couple of major new features, bomb crafting and den defense being the
big ones. Bomb crafting seems alright, although the game seems to want you to use them all the time
which becomes annoying. It's a nice feature, not very deep because the variety of ingredients and
types of bombs you can make is quite limited, but it's a step up from just using smoke bombs i guess.

Den defense looks out of place and can be very annoying because if your notiriety reaches maximum
(which it will often because completing missions, killing guards and even rebuilding shops affects it)
then your dens that you spent time taking over will get attacked. You will then need to rush back and
enter this mini game and defend them, if you lose, the den goes under templar control and you will need
to recapture it again. The game gets boring after 2 or 3 times and smells of "filler material". However
you can level a recruited assasin to 15 and put him in charge of a den, this locks the den and templars
cannot ever attack it, which means the den defense game will no longer happen. You'll need to do this
about 7 times for all your dens, it is worth it though if it means avoiding this very annoying mini game.

Story wise the game is very satisfying, the main focus is Ezio again and his time in Constantinople spent
finding Altair's keys, aiding the Ottomans and finding love. The Altair sequences are very brief but
intersting nonetheless giving you more info on what happened after AC1. The Desmond sequences are even
shorter but give you a backstory on Desmond and his life before he was captured by Abstergo. In the end the
game provides a very nice conclusion to the stories of Ezio and Altair and sets the stage for Desmond and
Assassin's Creed III which comes out next year.

Be sure to watch Assassin's Creed Embers to see the final moments of Ezio's life, the short video is
included in certain editions of the game but you can probably find it on the Internet if you look hard enough.
It's a touching video and provides the real ending for Ezio, whilst the game just ends his time as an Assassin.

Multiplayer, just like the singleplayer consists of small improvements but nothing major. New characters, new
maps (along with some classics from Brotherhood returning), new abilities and perks, more customisation options,
new gameplay modes along with more balanced gameplay especally when defending. It's a very unique mode and in this
age of FPS dominance and twitch shooters i think it's brilliant. The achievments and trophies for MP are much easier
this time round, so if you want 100% on everything you'll only need to do a few things online unlike Brotherhood
which required you to do quite a few tricky challenges to earn trophies and achievements.

Overall the game does not do anything new in a great way, the bomb crafting seems half developed and the den
defense smells completley of filler material and looks out of place. There is also plenty of content that's
been cut out such as Assassin Tombs, Templar Lairs, Horses etc which is a shame - i completed it 100% in just
20 hours. But the minor features and tweaks are welcome additions, the main story is interesting, it's still fun,
and the game provides a satisfying ending for Altair and Ezio which i suspect is why most people are getting this.

8.5 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a few tweaks and its a masterpiece, 14 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game is, quite frankly, amazing.
Visually its beautiful - free running is as fluent and fun as its ever been.
Plenty of missions to keep you busy.
HUGE improvement from Brotherhood.
Rank 2 on my games of '11.
This game is a must have it really, truly is incredible.
The cities are amazing, the tombs are breathtaking!
Even the music is great.
BUT it's a port (So what?) Bit glitchy at times but it clears up fine. Havent had a go at multiplayer and i dont really intend on if i'm honest unlesss it means i unlock those outfits.
U-Play is a slight pain in the ass but its fine.
I'm finding combat a bit more hard and intense and i'm actually dying for once occasionally which gives a nice change.
Bit fiddly on the keyboard but after a while you get used to it.
I couldn't stop playing it is a really great game. 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars relvelations.. the game is not perfect, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
OK let me tell you that game is not perfect and it not as good as the previous assassins creed. I have to say that story wise I have some hard time to get into it. Because I like the franchise I decide to persist a bit.

My favourite character Altair is back but have not much play time (BTW it is where I started to get interested in the game). You are controlling an ageing Ezio who making fun of his age and difficulties to get the things done as he used to do. The game is far less developed than previous instalment for me.

OK you have 2 or 3 novelties but really there are not ground breaking ideas as it used to be on AC2 and ACB. One of the aspect I missed the most is the creed aspect of the game. It's like you try to re-establish a creed which lost its way but at the end not much has been done about it. Ok that the bad bit gone here the good bit (more or less).

The DRM is gone and that's very good. The story is not at the level of the previous games but it is still OK and you have the possibility to control 3 main characters (even if Ezio is the one you control the most). Which in a way is a good idea but badly exploited, as I do believe that every character you controlled should have a much important impact on the story.

The mechanism of the game has been refined and even if you are a not a fan of controlling an ageing Ezio, the tools his using are appropriate to his physical aptitude.

The game is good to buy as long as you don't buy it for more than 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Definitely another great game from one of the best video game franchises. The story is once again in depth, immersive and highly addictive. The new additions, while thoroughly enjoyable, fail to improve much on brotherhood but there is an improvement none the less. The den defence minigame adds a nice strategic element and is a lovely break from the free roaming nature of the rest of the game. All in all, an absolutely fantastic game which furthers one of the best game series, not by much but still enough for it to be essential in any gamers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again into the world of Ezio Audacity, 18 Feb 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
What is there to say. This game yet again feels like an upgrade to the venerable AC2. Core game play is very similar to brotherhood although several of the kill animations seem a little far fetched. Yet despite the repetitiveness of the series and the overuse of a main character I can't help but like the game.

Free running is once again incredibly fun and even more free flowing thanks to the hook blade. Combat is visceral and tidy and bombs add another dimension to gameplay. I can't help but get attached to Ezio and Altair as protagonists (although not Desmond). Missions offer variety and graphics look decent although it is worth noting that Constantinople doesn't have the bright colours of Florence or Rome. I have not played the multiplayer yet but if brotherhood is anything to go by it will be fresh and interesting.

To sum up if you loved all the previous games in the assassins creed series then you'll like/love this one. If you thought brotherhood stalled the series a bit then this game will be more of the same. Despite my qualms I had fun and this game wraps up the stories of Altair and Ezio so we can finally move on to someone else. What I really want is ubisoft to take a good amount of time designing the next game so that it has as big an impact as AC2 although that probably won't happen.

Also where's my horse?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New features done well, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Got mine from Steam sale and was impressed. While keeping the original feel for the game the new additions such as the bombs, hookblade and ziplines actually build well upon the game and let the player choose his route to complete the missions.
Won't get 5 stars from me simply because of an annoying bank glitch which meant I was not receiving any money as the 20 minute timer reset itself after each mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From Console to PC, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Had this game before on console but with next gen out now I decided to move to pc. Brilliant game so deffo worth the second purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The graphics on this game were incredible, as good as some of the newer releases. The story line was pleasantly long and easy to get drawn into. It includes multiple twists to the story keeping you entertained for hours. I would rate this as appropriate for the age amazon has given it but they have mislabeled it as the actual case said it was an 18 but apart from that this is a fantastic game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This series of games is and always has been amazing but I find that as Ezio's story progresses there is real thought put into the world in which that character find himself. I loved that this was mostly set in Istanbul as that is a city I love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) (Video Game)
A must play after playing AC2 and Brotherhood, it closes out the story for Altair and Ezio... im going to miss that guy :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD)
Assassin's Creed Revelations (PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews