Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wii Sports alongside the Wii brought gaming to millions of people who have never touched a console game before!
Wii Sports at the time took gaming to a new level with it's new amazing hi-tec sensor controls. I have been a gamer for over 20 years and love the freshness these sensor controls and which it gives these five sports games and many more great Wii games over the years. You can play Baseball, Bowling, Golf, Tennis or Boxing and each of the five sport games feel very close to...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by Dragonlord

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
the games don't correspond to your movements at all. only a couple of games on it. worst wii product available
Published 9 months ago by claire moloney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wii Sports alongside the Wii brought gaming to millions of people who have never touched a console game before!, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Wii Sports at the time took gaming to a new level with it's new amazing hi-tec sensor controls. I have been a gamer for over 20 years and love the freshness these sensor controls and which it gives these five sports games and many more great Wii games over the years. You can play Baseball, Bowling, Golf, Tennis or Boxing and each of the five sport games feel very close to the real thing which makes them great fun to play with friends and family. In fact try playing the boxing for one hour and your arms will start to really ache. I enjoy playing the Tennis most which is very fast and frantic and Bowling is a right laugh with my six year old daughter and my sisters children. If for some chance you don't already own Wii Sports for your Wii then you really should make sure you get it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wii sports before the motion plus, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Many people received Wii Sports as part of a bundle offer with the console, but that doesn't mean that the games are poor. In fact, they were the best seller of their time (which was only a couple of years ago), but it has disappeared behind the wonderful Wii Sports Resort with Wii MotionPlus Accessory.

Wii Sports contains 5 different sports: Golf, Tennis, Bowling, Baseball and Boxing.

It was originally meant to be a Mario and friends game but the "mini Wii" characters which users created themselves proved extremely popular in trials and Mario was dropped.

The game made headlines because of the number of accidents and injuries which it caused. The games can cause stress to wrist, shoulder, and elbow, but there are "take a break" suggestions every few games, and if you are starting to feel the strain then go get a drink, or pass the Wii remote to someone else.

TENNIS - Play as pairs (controlling both players on your side of the court if you are playing alone). Controlling the balls and where it lands is a problem, but it is great fun when played with family and friends.

BASEBALL - Bat and pitch alternately. If you can score highly enough then the other team can invoke the "mercy rule" and surrender to your superior skill.

BOWLING - 10 rounds/ends try to score higher than the others. Multiple consecutive strikes give you little reward, and if you throw the ball backwards you can make everyone watching jump.

GOLF - Levels are beginner, intermediate, and professional and these are played as 3 hole games. You can also play a 9 hole game. Every shot is lined up for you so it is the strength of the shot that is the skill.

BOXING - The only game that requires the nunchuk. You thrust the wii remote and the nunchuk forward to punch the opposition. Rotating the wii remote allows you to move from side to side and to dodge. I found this the most tedious game to play, especially having played the Wii Fit Plus boxing.

There are 2 further options: TRAINING and WII FITNESS.

TRAINING - You start with the 5 basic games, and you can then add two more games to each of these as you progress and meet the requirements. These are fun and work wonders for the concentration, but can get a little annoying when you have a roll on and then you miss or the ball goes out of play.

Wii FITNESS - gives you a fitness age based on three factors - speed, stamina and balance - with a small graphic showing the levels of levels. One problem is that these calculations are not explained and there is no suggestion given for how to improve your standing.

I hadn't played this for a couple of months and I thought it might pale in comparison to Sports Resort, but Wii Sports is, however, a great set of companion games to both Wii Sports Resort, Wii Fit and Wii Fit Plus; and as with Wii Sports Resort, Mario Kart, Big Brain Academy, etc, it is great fun when played with friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may not be real exercise, but it's great fun for all, 27 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
In your mind you know you're not covered in sensors and that the motion is controlled through the handsets, but this doesn't stop you going through all the motions like it's the real thing. When you bowl you crouch as you swing. Playing tennis you twist your torso to get some power in the ball. As you box you're jabbing like a pro. It may not be real exercise, but at least you're active and not sitting down twiddling your fingers and thumbs.

It's also good to play solo or with family/friends as it's incredibly intuitive and you don't need to know all the special button combinations. We've had everyone from kids to grandparents up.

The only warning is to make sure all the players have the handset strap is round their wrist. It's easy to see how they can be thrown at the TV creating a very costly mistake.

All in all, while some of the graphics aren't great, you do get lost in the games. I'd definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 Jun 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
i think this game is absolutely good - i keep playing and playing it and i never get tired of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 19 Mar 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
I EXPECTED to be able to enjoy some games to get some excersise while enjoying a chalange. This game came up to expectation and I have some games of golf and tennis,I have tryed all the games. The graphs are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for All, 15 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
This wii disc if great fun for the whole family no matter how good there are at sport. it is good to play on your own to stop being boared. This game is really good when the family get together as we all had so much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should've done this years ago., 16 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
We finally went hi-tech this christmas (mum30s, dad40s, boys 6&7 & grandma)& have had the best time! the game is so easy to set up, takes little room up on the telly stand & has made us all laugh, cry(in a good way) & almost wet ourselves! The kids have given grandmas mii a moustache! hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
great persone to deal with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Family time, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
it great with family, get a few laughs in alot of fun with family only wish their more things to do on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wii sports, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Good game for the whole family for a night of fun. Delivery was quick and the price was good. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Selects : Wii Sports (Nintendo Wii)
£19.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews