Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Helpful App For the Guitarist Who Requires Immediate Access to Chords and Scales
As a guitarist, I often require immediate access to chord combinations and associated scales on different positions of the keyboard.

Traditionally this has meant looking up the possibilities in a chord dictionary, which takes time and can prove to be particularly frustrating, especially when time is of the essence.

Thanks to this wonderful app the...
Published 21 months ago by Andrew McCann

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful but buggy
The illustrations used to promote this give a false impression of a nicely polished and useful app. In reality on a Kindle Fire HD a lot of the buttons are not labelled, some are missing altogether, this has clearly not been tested properly and badly needs an update. Looks like an Alpha release. The chord dictionary works well once the function of each blank button is...
Published 6 months ago by D. M. Price


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Helpful App For the Guitarist Who Requires Immediate Access to Chords and Scales, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitarist's Reference (App)
As a guitarist, I often require immediate access to chord combinations and associated scales on different positions of the keyboard.

Traditionally this has meant looking up the possibilities in a chord dictionary, which takes time and can prove to be particularly frustrating, especially when time is of the essence.

Thanks to this wonderful app the speed at which the various options can be located (and consequently explored) is absolutely amazing and I really would not like to be without it. Consequently I would regard it as a really must have app for both the aspiring and established guitarist, who wishes to explore different tonal possibilities using extensive parts of the fretboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful but buggy, 28 May 2014
By 
D. M. Price "Dave's PC Rescue" (Weymouth, Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitarist's Reference (App)
The illustrations used to promote this give a false impression of a nicely polished and useful app. In reality on a Kindle Fire HD a lot of the buttons are not labelled, some are missing altogether, this has clearly not been tested properly and badly needs an update. Looks like an Alpha release. The chord dictionary works well once the function of each blank button is derived by experimentation. Should be removed from the App store until it's properly finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reference Guitarist, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Charles Petrie Jnr (Aberdeenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitarist's Reference (App)
This should be a good useful app, as it is on IPod, but there are features missing here - you don't get what is shown on promo pic.
I reported to the App owner but got no response and leave at that - Life's too short.
So your choice for your cash: Buy it and use what is there (still reasonable for the money), look for an alternative App that has everything you are supposed to get OR get really familiar with notes on the fretboard (use your guitar - not an app - you're not learning to play the app) and work out scales and chords from note formulae (you can look up on internet or buy a good music book, etc).
Good luck and enjoy your guitar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful portable reference, 12 Nov 2012
By 
John Tyrell (Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitarist's Reference (App)
I find this very useful for looking up unusual chords patterns. It is very thorough. Some of the buttons do not say what they do, but they all work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work properly, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitarist's Reference (App)
I don't know if it's just an installation issue or what, but the app looks nothing like the pictures, it's off center, the buttons aren't labelled and the whole thing is really confusing to navigate through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a waste of money since it fails to operate fully on my Kindle Fire HD, 25 Jun 2013
By 
D.E. Whitaker (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitarist's Reference (App)
when attempting to use the chord quiz function I was instructed to tap the new quiz button to start .... that would be fine if such a button existed, anyway I couldn't find one ...... maybe it's located below the Kindle screen where it can't be accessed , who knows?
In any event it's a software that's obviously not intended for the Kindle ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitarist's Reference
Guitarist's Reference by My App Catalog LLC
£2.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews