Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK GREAT FIGHTER
Was initially thrilled to discover a well overdue book on the great Thomas Hearns. I have been a huge fan for years and although the book is accurate , the only slight letdown was there was,nt more depth about the man himself. Most importantly the book is honest and even though Hearns was/is my favourite fighter he did lose the two big ones, this should not however...
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by Mr. C. Hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple easy to read biography of the Hit man
There are no major revelations in this biography of the Hit Man. It is an easy to read book that I completed in a day and I suspect a lot of boxing fans would enjoy.
Published 8 months ago by PC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story (Kindle Edition)
A combination of succinct, perfectly paced writing, industrious research and obvious boxing expertise, all combined to make "The Hit" man a hit read. I raced through this extravaganza faster than a Hearns left jab.
UN-PUT-DOWNABLE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story (Kindle Edition)
Flows very well.excellent writer.
Good insight but perhaps more depth needed and a retrospective interview with hearns at end.maybe an idea for a revised edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Account, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story (Kindle Edition)
A very thorough and well researched book, clearly the result of a great effort on the part of the authors,

Tommy is synonymous with the eighties especially and this book does not disappoint.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone interested in the Hit Man story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitman the thomas hearns story, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story (Kindle Edition)
Great book very informative,written in a no nonsense style,a must read for fans of the hitman.A classic era in boxing,hagler,leonard,duran,great insight into these megafights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read on The Golden Era of Boxing, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading about The Hitman and Emanmuel Steward. I felt sad that The Hitman never avenged his losses and that will always hang over him. But that shouldn't detract from the fact that he was a fabulous Boxer and right up there with some of the greatest of all time. A real legend who deserves all the riches that Boxing brought him.
A good book about a great fighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful look at an Exciting Boxer!, 27 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
I can remember watching one boxer in particular growing up in the 1980s who always guaranteed drama and excitement every time he fought, that boxer was Thomas `The Hit Man' Hearns. Firmly in the `hit or be hit' category Hearns always figured in thrilling edge of your seat contests where the outcome was never certain. His fights with Sugar Ray Leonard, Marvin Hagler and Roberto Duran have sealed his credentials as a boxing superstar. His eight world titles at six different weights have ensured he is considered an all time great of the sport. No one has tackled the life of this legendary boxer until now...

Brian Hughes is a respected trainer of champions and has served British boxing loyally for forty five years. He has already written many sports biographies on footballers as well as boxers and is amply qualified to tell the Thomas Hearns story. His son, sports psychologist, Damian is also an accomplished writer in his right. So with this undoubted pedigree, does their book deliver on its promise?

Well, my answer after completing its 234 pages is an emphatic yes! I was so relieved that I enjoyed this book and both Hughes' did justice to one of my heroes from the eighties. Hughes Sr actually witnessed first hand Hearns' training at the famous Kronk Gym in Detroit. It was here in this tough, no-nonsense environment that master technician and boxing coach Emmanuel Steward helped to hone the skills of a slew of talented young boxers from deprived backgrounds and turned them into world class operators, including his most famous protégé, Thomas Hearns.

Like the man himself this book is a down to earth straightforward account of one of boxing's most celebrated and loved sons. In lesser hands it could easily have descended into hyperbole, but the Hughes' have produced a balanced, well researched and accurate account of an extraordinary and exemplary career.

I thoroughly enjoyed learning how the tall, skinny amateur who won most of his contests on points was developed and nurtured into one of the most destructive and concussive punchers of the modern era. Hearns' power is chillingly evoked here; the reader gets a true sense of the menace and power that Hearns brought with him into the ring. A fierce competitor inside the ropes he was (and still is) a quick-witted, charming and almost shy man outside them. Hughes Sr and Jr manage to bring out Hearn's personality onto the page.

The book is full of insight from those that knew Hearns, among them are: Emmanuel Steward, Jackie Kallen, Bob Arum, his stable mates at the Kronk gym as well as old ring adversaries. Although as a biography relying mainly on research, archives and personal recollections without interviews from the man himself this is no warts and all account. Don't go reading this expecting to get too close to the enigmatic multi weight champion. Rather this explores what made him such a fantastic fighter and how he generated such excitement whenever and wherever he performed.

The first contest with Leonard (for example) was a huge event and this is very well conveyed as is the enormity and sheer drama of the Hagler fight. Younger readers will appreciate just how much these fights meant and their place in boxing history and folklore. Older readers will bask in some wonderful memories of some momentous and special boxing nights.

A boxer like Hearns deserves remembering and in Brian and Damian Hughes' he has worthy and knowledgeable chroniclers providing readers with a meticulous and entertaining look at a sparkling career. I recommend this book to all serious Hearns fans, compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars But as a fan book was a good read., 11 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story (Kindle Edition)
Has facts and events that I have previously read in other boxing books.
But as a fan book was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIT MAN, 10 Feb 2010
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
I'm such a fan of Damian Hughes's books. This one is written with his dad- you can see where Damian gets his story telling ability from. To be honest, before I read this book I knew NOTHING about boxing but a friend recommended this and it's a really exciting read. Properly researched and told with vivacity and flair, I finished it in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
Very readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 26 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Hit Man (Paperback)
Good book for telling you about the hitman himself but it lacked any words from the man himself. All in all a decent read and leaves the reader with a good knowledge of the hitman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit Man: The Thomas Hearns Story
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews