Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convenient grey/white/black cards
This is a highly convenient set of cards for standardising the colour-balance of your photos: just include one or more of them in a calibration photo of your subject matter and use this to correct the colour-balance of all the other photos taken under the same lighting conditions. They save lots of time at the post-production stage. The cards are water-proof and...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by D. Thomas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shabby
I was really dissapointed with the quality of these cards. The white, had black marks and smudges. The Black and Grey had what looked like oily smudges and scuffs. Overall poor quality. I tried them out and found the results inconsistent ( maybe the angle that the light hits them and reflects, don't know really). I take pride in my equipment, and stuff I've had for years...
Published on 12 Oct 2012 by Kohakoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convenient grey/white/black cards, 17 Aug 2011
By 
D. Thomas (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
This is a highly convenient set of cards for standardising the colour-balance of your photos: just include one or more of them in a calibration photo of your subject matter and use this to correct the colour-balance of all the other photos taken under the same lighting conditions. They save lots of time at the post-production stage. The cards are water-proof and wipe-clean, and fit easily into your photo-kit bag. I chose this size as they seemed to be a good compromise: small enough to be easily portable, large enough to show up in the type of photographs which I take. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shabby, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
I was really dissapointed with the quality of these cards. The white, had black marks and smudges. The Black and Grey had what looked like oily smudges and scuffs. Overall poor quality. I tried them out and found the results inconsistent ( maybe the angle that the light hits them and reflects, don't know really). I take pride in my equipment, and stuff I've had for years is in better condition than these. I may be unlucky, I don't know how the previous reviewers can give Five Stars?????. Got to admit, Amazons returns system is excellent. Printed a postage label out, stuck it on the original package, handed it in at the Post Office, Free Return Delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
I had a similar problem to another reviewer. The cards had greasy smudge marks all over them and one of the cards had a faded image burnt into it's surface like it had been left under bright lights for a year. I don't usually complain but sending this back was a pain. It's not just about the refund, it's about the wasted time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what I wanted it to do, 13 April 2012
By 
David B (Blackpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
I used this initially to test how my cameras interpret white balance and was quite surprised at the results. I don't tend to use this for normal day-to-day photography but if I am doing portraits etc this is extremely useful both to set white balance and also black and white points using levels in my image software. A perfect size - not too small and not too big. Useful addition to my camera kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour balance tablet, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
This white balance card from Opteka is just the right size to put in your kit bag. It is made out of good quality material and comes with a hand strap, i use this evey time i come across a difficult lighting situation it saves you a lot of time post processing for white balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It iss ok, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
It is ok for the price. When opened the box with the cards they looked marked/scratched therefore you would have to be really careful when photographing the card since the damaged areas are different color, this especially applies to the gray card. Still i'm going to keep them, but you have to store them somewhere safe so you do not scratch/damage them any further since the surface of the cards can be easily damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whats grey, white & black., 16 Jan 2013
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
Very hand bit of kit, get your model or subject to hold and then use in aperture or lightroom to take a correct white balance reading. You can also use it to when light-painting to cover the lense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal size to carry in your bag, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
Essential when you have lights with different temperatures and need an accurate white balance. I've gotten better results with the gray card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good service and they work really well, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
this was bought as a present for my daughter who is studying photography at university.The card was recommended to her as a useful aid to getting good results and they definately work.they were delivered well within the time that they were expected and the difference that they make to photograghs has to be seen to be believed.we would recommend these cards to anyone who is serious about their photography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Medium 12.5cm X 10cm Color & White Balance Reference Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Electronics)
Shooting in jpeg meant that all the photos taken in my living room where slightly yellowish as all the camera models that I have tried failed to get the right auto white balance in that room.

Using the grey card in the set and a custom setup setting that is available in my Sony a77 and Sony RX100 means that I just need to point the camera towards the card to get the right white balance before doing any shooting which saves a bit of time in trying to get things right later and reduces the need for shooting in RAW or RAW+Jpeg.

The other cards might be useful especially in post processing but to be honest I am using them just for the protection of the grey card which is much easier for the camera to interpret. the set can very easily fit in the back pocket of my jeans, but you have to get a jeans with pockets that are slightly large.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews