Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific new Broadway addition - but you may need to MAN UP
If you are generally offended by Southpark or Team America, or had no desire to see them, then I would imagine you won't like this either. But since it has the same creators shouldn't that be obvious????

There is a lot here for people who are more Broadway then Southpark fans too though, especially all the little homages to other musicals throughout (Wicked...
Published on 24 May 2011 by lunasera

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Mormon subject
Bought on spec as a gift for someone else at Xmas. It was played once when I was listening but I was not impressed. The lyrics were wierd and the music was unforgettable but that was only the impression of a 70 year old. The recipient may well have listened to it again and more closely and enjoyed it.
Published 10 months ago by SarkBus


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific new Broadway addition - but you may need to MAN UP, 24 May 2011
This review is from: The Book Of Mormon [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
If you are generally offended by Southpark or Team America, or had no desire to see them, then I would imagine you won't like this either. But since it has the same creators shouldn't that be obvious????

There is a lot here for people who are more Broadway then Southpark fans too though, especially all the little homages to other musicals throughout (Wicked progressions in 'you and me', 'Hasa Diga' - Lion King, and 'I Believe' parodies Sound of Music.) About 1/2 the soundtrack is highly addictive and will stick in your head - careful singing some of those lyrics in public though! The rest is enjoyable, but the highlights for me are the first five songs and I Believe.

You also have to have a sense of humor about religion in general to appreciate the musical, but I can say as a rather liberal Christian I didn't find it offensive - but you need to have an open mind and also realize there is in-show context to the songs that makes the overall message less offensive then the straight lyrics. Overall, especially having seen the actual show, the show is quite good-hearted about religion and although it pokes fun at Mormonism I didn't find it to be mean spirited.

For the one star reviewers(particularly on itunes)... why are you seeking out something you are predisposed to find offensive? If you don't like it.... Turn it off, like a light switch... or put it in a box and CRUSH IT! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Mormon [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Great soundtrack; not for the easily offended! If you've seen the show and loved it then buy away! Great quality download. Amazon downloader was a bit of a pain to use first time but once I had 'authorised' my computer it downloaded just fine..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Mormon, 15 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
Great cd....
Some clever music and quite strong lyrics but overall a super musical.
A great show with an amazing journoy and story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
Having seen the show, I wanted to listen to the music again and again. Having a MP3 download whilst waiting for the CD to arrive was brilliant. Just wish they would bring out a DVD so I can see it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Mormon - a great old fashioned musical, 25 Aug 2013
By 
R. Gregory (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
Having seen the show it was great to hear all the songs again and the recording of the original Broadway cast is terrific. It's a good old fashioned musical with a warm heart and a simple message - AND some words you won't have heard in song lyrics before! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
This is the funniest musical I have seen and heard in my life. Brilliant lyrics and tunes. Although superficially offensive, the story is a good and relevant one: I dont think it reflects totally negatively on Mormons. There are far more whacky belief systems than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
Having seen the show, I just had to have the CD, and neither disappoints.
In fact I have played it so often I am almost word perfect, and cannot say "hello" without bursting into song!
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book of Mormon cd, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
Went to theatre in London to see show and cd brought back memories of a fun time watching the entertaining performers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book Of Mormon [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Saw the show and had to download the music. Written by the guys behind South Park and Avenue Q, it has all the irreverent humour you'd expect... Not for kids at all.... This is the cast recording from the Broadway show, which is a tiny bit disappointing because the main lead had an amazing voice (and a very nice face)... But the songs are great and you can almost get the story from just listening. But if you've seen the show , this brings it all back :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many times have my family listened to this? We love it., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Mormon (Audio CD)
The quality of production on this CD is great and my kids and I have listened to it non-stop, still smiling in parts. What a great show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book Of Mormon [Explicit]
The Book Of Mormon [Explicit] by Original Broadway Cast
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews