Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How time should be spent!
Aesop rock is a master of his art, the embodyment of originality. you won't ever be able to grasp how good this album actually is, its like a never-ending drip of lyrical, musical and mental asthetic pleasure. Not only has he almost created his own language in his method of delivery but the content too leaves even the most detailed critical decipherers lost! when you buy...
Published on 19 July 2004 by A friend, the windy city (you ...

versus
7 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat a let down
I was expecting much from this release, maybe too much after recently having listened to RJD2's stunning "deadringer" and el-p's equally competant debut; the man can do little wrong it seems.
The production is generally tight, producing some dope beats, only to be let down by aesop's rapping, which i find hard to tolerate. I would have given the album more...
Published on 30 Sept. 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How time should be spent!, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
Aesop rock is a master of his art, the embodyment of originality. you won't ever be able to grasp how good this album actually is, its like a never-ending drip of lyrical, musical and mental asthetic pleasure. Not only has he almost created his own language in his method of delivery but the content too leaves even the most detailed critical decipherers lost! when you buy this album, and you will if you have sense, it will grow inside you. even if on first listen you feel he's trying to be too original or pretentious you will prove yourself wrong, it speaks for you. of all his albums labour days and float are inspirational in a subliminal and sublime way. buy them, then get the rest! obviously the whole album is good, it just depends what your looking for. I admit, like everyone, beats and flow are what rock a tune, so listen to "no regrets" over and over and over again!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album...never heard anything like it, 22 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums I have ever listened to. It is packed with incredible lyrics over excellent beats. Aesop rock is definately one of the best lyricists around which he proves on this album. All of these songs have good meaning just it is hard at first to understand what is being told. This is because most of aesops lyricism is very metaphorical and complex. Which makes it great to listen to. Aesop shows he is very wise and you learn alot from listening to him. I have never heard a rapper like him which is a shame because i would love to hear more rap like this. For everyone out there this is a must have even if this album was on sale for £50 you still will not regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for hip hop/rap fans, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
I'm generally speaking not what I'd class as a massive fan of hip hop, with my tastes, whilst eclectic, much more rock/alternative-oriented (e.g. Radiohead, Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, The National, The Black Keys, etc.). So Aesop Rock came as a bit of a revelation to me.

I actually got into his music via None Shall Pass and Skelethon, both of which I fell in love with pretty much the moment I heard them. I then picked up Float, which I found a bit raw and stripped back (but still good). So I was a little cautious getting Labour Days, having read that it served as a bit of a bridge between the two 'sounds'. I'm glad I took the plunge though, and understand why the album is so well-regarded.

I'd try to talk through why I like the sound and highlights from the album, but I know so little about the genre that I'd just make a fool of myself... Basically, I'd urge anyone who is into music to give this (or any of his more recent stuff) a go, because it's just great, intelligent music, with some amazing lyrics about the grind of daily life, in which I find more meaning with every listen. Definitely with a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labor Days (Reis) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Anyone with any appreiciation for hip-hop/rap music should have this album in some form or another in their collection. I'd also urge anyone who says they do not like the aforementioned genre to listen to this and then re-evaluate thier opinion. Aesop truly branches out to many spectrums within this album, mixing his absurdly brilliant lyricism, his witty rhymes and his variability of his syllable tempo with some deep and complex beats to make labor days a true pleasure to listen to. To me, this is a hugely underrated album and should be more widely recognised as an album that has moved forward the alternative rap scene.
I am particularly pleased that Aesop chose to rerelease this masterpiece on the medium which it sits best in: Vinyl. It gives a depth this album yearns for in other forms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
this album is fantastic...no other way to describe it. It takes some getting into, it is not like your average hip hop album from the likes of Jay Z or Tupac. This is completely different, with the choppy flow of Aesop sounding more like poetry mixed with underground lyricism. It is very abstract and metaphorical, but after a couple of listens you wont be able to turn it off, you will just be desperate to catch on to some more of the complex nature of his lyrics. Give it a chance....you will find it a dimond in the rough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 31 Mar. 2003
By 
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
I first heard of aesop when my friend stumbled across a copy of the Appleseed EP, since then aseop had me hooked. For his first album on Def Jux, and most probably the first full length many people will have heard from him, aesop's rhymes have sharpened and the production evolved. I've always compared Aesop's sound to like watching a Naked Gun movie, you need to watch it repeatedly to fully appreciate the detail put into the final product. Simply putting it down after on listen is just ignorance, and a waste of time and money. A closer listen shows him to be one of the greatest lyricists ever. The backdrops perfectly complement his sound and make him what others merely strive to be. Individual. Closer listens to Daylight, Save Yourself, Battery, BentLife & 9-5ers Anthem prove his writing prowess. And even if after a thousand listens you still dont get it, listen to No Regrets and be astounded by one of the best storytelling songs in the history of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Def Jux rocks, can this label do no wrong, 6 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
Def Jux rocks can this label do no wrong ; Aesop Rock is the bomb. Listen to this album and open your mind to a very talented modern day poet. Aesop Rock takes everyday life and creates stories that all can relate to. Production is tight and his emceeing is up their with the best. The music moves from mellow to macabre,creating an atmospheric musicscape upon which Aesop layers complex rhymes describing life in NYC and in general. Standout tracks have to be 'Flashflood', the menacing 'Boombox' and the apocalyptic vibe of the 'Yes and the y'all.'This album is an alltime classic,buy it for enlightenment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
Great album, perfect for late night driving. Aesop is the best at what he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aesop Rocks Masterpeice, 11 April 2006
By 
A. Norman "def_jukie101" (Scarborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
A definitive jux classic, this is by far aesop rocks best album, although this sounds very different from his other (good) but inferior releases it should definately be in every hiphop collection (especially if your into your def jux). Every song is class, with the second song 'daylight' standing out the most, outstanding production from one of my favourite producers blockhead almost takes centre stage on some of the songs. If you've never heard aesop rock before i'd recommend this as your first buy, and if you like busdriver you'll probably enjoy aesops rhyme style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat a let down, 30 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Labor Days (Audio CD)
I was expecting much from this release, maybe too much after recently having listened to RJD2's stunning "deadringer" and el-p's equally competant debut; the man can do little wrong it seems.
The production is generally tight, producing some dope beats, only to be let down by aesop's rapping, which i find hard to tolerate. I would have given the album more were it not for his annoying tone and deliverance - maybe it is just me, but aesop just ain't up to def jux standard.
Have a listen beforehand if you can, his rhyming will either excite you or annoy you...if you like it, then you're sure to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Labor Days
Labor Days by Aesop Rock (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews