Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful amazing movie based on a true story.
This film is incredible.

It is a powerful story of triumph over adversity, its shocking, heartbreaking and astounding.

Hugo Weaving and Emily Watson are utterly brilliant in their leading roles, the level of emotion and truth is astonishing, i am surprised that they have not been nominated for awards for their performances.

A great...
Published on 1 July 2011 by Beanie Luck Spud

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I preferred the book
I bought this dvd because I missed the film during it's rounds at the local cinema. I'd previously read the book, which I found thought provoking, but the dvd was less powerful than the book.

It brought the characters to life but didn't go into the story in as much depth and I felt that a lot of the detail was missing.

Both the book and dvd told of...
Published on 16 Aug 2011 by WJCNG


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oranges and sunshine, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
Harrowing story of children deported to Australia and subsequently abused by religious communities. It's a story that needs to be told but very upsetting to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
Oranges and Sunshine is a very good film of a very sad and complex subject. The film, actors and director managed to reach the right tone and notes to make these stories very real. Important stories that deserve to be told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oranges and sunshine, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. J. E. Wright "the driver" (Milton Keynes,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
this a Film that is a must see that is based on a true life event that the goverment for the last 60 odd years as covered up you'll be left wondering how this was allowed to happen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oranges and sunshine, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film. I have been looking forward to it having missed it on the big screen, it was worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underwatched, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
It is such a shame that the subject matter does not have more popular appeal, it seems that anyone watching this film will be moved, but having seen it at the cinema I could not help but wonder, if all of the small number of people in the audience had, like myself, a personal reason for wanting to see the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important tale, well told, 11 Aug 2011
By 
R. A. Monk "monklane" (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
My fellow reviewers have done a grand job in giving you a synopsis of the plot, so I'm just here to add my voice to theirs in saying that I'm very glad this film was made. With the blessing of the British and Australian governments, wait for it, 130,000 children in care were effectively deported. Very often their parents were alive and knew nothing of the deportation. Upon arrival they were treated to unimaginable hardships for people of any age, let alone children. Appallingly, the Christian Brothers set about doing those things to children that Catholic priests have become all too infamous for. And when did this practice stop? As recently as 1970. It's unbelievable. But true.

So well done to all concerned for telling us the tale. Loach jr shows every sign of following in his father's footsteps in his social concern, if not his style. This can only be good for film and for us. The restraint here, when it would have been so easy to go with tear-jerking, makes the film all the more powerful. When there's so much junk out there, it's good to be reminded that film can inform as well as entertain.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They were promised oranges and sunshine., 14 Jan 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
Oranges and Sunshine is directed by Jim Loach and adapted to screenplay by Rona Munro from the book "Empty Cradles", written by Margaret Humphreys. It stars Emily Watson, Hugo Weaving, David Wenham and Richard Dillane. Music is by Lisa Gerrard and cinematography by Denson Baker. The film tells the true story of Margaret Humphreys (Watson), a Nottingham social worker who in 1986 began uncovering the scandal of forced child migration from the UK to various countries of the Commonwealth. Thousands upon thousands of children who were either from poor families or orphaned, were sent to British colonies under a banner of lies. Where instead of the oranges and sunshine they were expecting, they were put to work as hard labour and suffered terrible conditions to live in as well as abuse at the hands of their carers.

Lost Children Of The Empire.

It's a story ripe for exploitation, for a bit of shock cinema, the kind that assaults you with horrific images, but Oranges and Sunshine is a rare beast, a true life horror tale that accentuates the outrage by remaining understated and steady in sombre tone. This is expert film making from Loach (son of Ken), letting the story unfold with a naturalism that makes it a deeply moving experience. No histrionic characterisations by the actors, no grandstanding speeches or attempts to paint Margaret Humphreys as an armour plated crusader risking death at every turn. It's cold, yet humane, in its telling, the pain of story etched on the faces of the lost children, now adults searching for identity and a family thread to stitch it together. The emotional uplift of the reunion scenes gladdens the heart, but never once does the film proclaim, like its wonderful protagonist, that what has been lost can be replaced. But identity is comforting, the fragmented pieces of childhoods ruined finally piecing themselves together.

Who was crucified huh? You tell me that.

Thankfully the makers resist, rightly, the urge to show flashback scenes of the children suffering. We know just by dialogue exchanges and character reactions, just what pain and misery was bestowed upon these minors. Yet the film is full of powerful scenes that really grip and hold the heart, where quite often they are just quiet conversations, a statement made or a question asked. Or even in silence for one truly potent sequence as Margaret visits Bindoon Boys Town in Western Australia, an eleagant structure on the outside, but that elegance belies the terrible crimes perpetrated by the elders within. Loach and his team don't need tricks or historical tamperings to make their film dramatic and worthy, the story sells itself on both counts.

Oh, baby, baby, it's a wild world.

Picture is propelled by a wonderfully restrained performance by Watson. A perfect bit of casting, Watson never screams for our sympathies, she hits the right emotional notes required, but never strains to get there, she plays Margaret as a bastion of decency. She deftly blends stoicism with vulnerability as Margaret juggles the emotional strains of the search with that of the safe haven of her family home that she is away from for long periods. Watson is surrounded by three damn fine male performances. Weaving and Wenham as the "lost boys" underpin the story, they perfectly embody the crushing of the childhood spirit, a two pronged acting show that says so much for the thousands of children who were cruel victims of the child migration schemes. Dillane scores high as Margaret's husband, he perfectly understands the tone of the movie and turns in a respectful and appropriate performance as Margaret's loving crutch.

It's not all perfect, Margaret is met with some resistance and finds herself in a couple of tricky situations, but the evil nature of the wrong-doers never fully surfaces to give her a formidable foe to respond too. Nor is anyone made accountable for their heinous crimes, something which leaves a frustrating taste in the mouth. However, the point of the movie, the attention brought to the story it's about and the skill with which said story is told, ensures that these are just minor quibbles in one of the best movies of the year. 9/10

Region 2 DVD has a lovely transfer. Great extras include a Q&A from a BFI screening with Watson, Munro, Humphreys and Loach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enthralled., 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
Do not get much chance to sit and watch videos but made an exeption with 'Oranges and Sunshine' I am glad I sat and watched this in one go. Based on real life situations, and we say that we are 'humane.' Get it and watch it, I am glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I preferred the book, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd because I missed the film during it's rounds at the local cinema. I'd previously read the book, which I found thought provoking, but the dvd was less powerful than the book.

It brought the characters to life but didn't go into the story in as much depth and I felt that a lot of the detail was missing.

Both the book and dvd told of things which most of us could have had no idea about and Margaret Humphreys should be commended most highly for the work that she has done on behalf of the child migrants and their families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Factual - Not Engaging, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] (DVD)
This is not for anyone who needs to be captivated by engaging action and scenes. The pace of this quite sedate.

However slow and sedate this is, the content is not to be dismissed. It is history that actually happened. Prior to this movie, I was not aware that such occurrences had taken place. Very sobering and moving. I bought two copies, one for my friend and one for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oranges and Sunshine [DVD]
Oranges and Sunshine [DVD] by Jim Loach (DVD - 2011)
3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews