Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exhilarating!
This is a beautifully crafted battle movie in the times of the Samurais. Think Tarantino, Peckinpah, Kurosawa but revised and updated. Whirlwind action, great battle scenes, a credible (bad-bad) villain, intelligent dialogues (a debate on the duty of a samurai: to stay loyal to and defend his lord however bad he behaves or to defend his oppressed subjects?), including...
Published 6 months ago by M. R. Sathiah

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film of two halfs
Many violent films are let down by poor character development but make up for it with fantastic action scenes. 13 Assassins was the other way round. The first hour did a fantastic job of building up the tension. It's very atmospheric and well acted. The bit with the decapitated girl really sent a chill down my spine. You really got a sense of how evil this man was. It...
Published 6 months ago by H.E.Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Samurai film, 1 July 2012
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen many samurai films and many of Takashi Miike's films. As a director I have found him to be very inconsistent. I thought Audition is a great film and I also enjoyed The Happiness of the Katakuris, Dead Or Alive and Graveyard of Honor. I hated Gozu and thought Sukiyaka Western was just terrible. With 13 Assassins it seems that the director has finally grown up and delivered arguably his best work. A group of skilled samurai undertake a suicidal mission to kill a sadistic Lord and in the climatic showdown must fight his army of hundreds of men. The first two thirds of the film build the story, characters and suspsense artfully. It is well acted and shot in a classic style with excellent cinematography. The Lord is shown at his most merciless raping and killing for pure sadistic enjoyment. In the last forty minute or so we are treated to one of the most epic and brilliantly staged battle scenes ever put on film. It is relentless, bloody, realistic (mostly) and moving. Miike handles the action superbly without ever reverting to the rather adolescent shock tactics or silliness that have spoiled some of his other films. I enjoyed every minute of this film and it is now on of my all-time favourites. The only minor flaw is a slightly dodgy CGI shot of cattle on fire (yes, that's what I said) but it's a minor quibble. A wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 13 Assassins, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 Assassins [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Konnichiwa
This is an excellent film, a little in the genre of the 7 samurai. Good acting, incredible medieval sets, realistic action (swordplay- no wires)great atmosphere throughout.
The action is very graphic and well choreographed, the characters are all played straight and believeable. Its a story of revenge and honour,Japanese style. If you liked 'The last samurai'
and lots of action - you'll like this too.
sayonara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: 13 Assassins [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Went in blind and came out reborn, what a roller-coaster ride it was too!. totally went with the redemption, to which I was rewarded with just that (and the last half of the movie with a full on battle!).

Well recommend the Blu Ray, subsequently watched Netflicks and a DvD version and the quality (without stating!) needs the HD treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Two Halves, 12 Jan 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
13 Assassins is a remake of an old black and white samurai film with Takashi Miike directing. I am new to the film and to Miike so this is a great introduction to both. The set-up is simple. Corrupt and evil young lord is hunted down by 13 samurai who know that they must succeed or else their lands will eventually be under the control of the young heir. Their mission isn't legal and their mark knows they are coming.

The first half (just over actually) is a set-up for the final 50 minutes. Its dialogue heavy and covers the formation of the 13 and their plans to ambush their mark and his troops. If there is one criticism of the first half then it would be that not all the characters are fleshed out enough that you discern them in the last part. However, its brilliantly shot and paced. Pace is something this film does well. Then once our 13 have set the trap we get to the second half of the film. The last fifty minutes. I read that the last fifty minutes was an extended fight sequence and struggled to believe this. Having watched it I can vouch that it is a thrilling, bloody and brilliant battle that lasts throughout with pace and planning. The whole sequence works and it is incredibly well planned and executed. Whilst its hard to follow the characters at times it fizzes along with an ever increasing body count until we get to the conclusion. Its hard not to feel a little dazed by the whole battle at the end.

The film works on two levels. Firstly it shows the cultural side of the era and also the slow paced political manoeuvrings that happened. In the first half this really worked for me and I enjoyed that aspect a lot. However, when the film cuts loose it really does so with style and vision and you are left in awe of the production planning. If you don't mind subtitles and blood and want something other than a traditional action film then you will be well served by this and can certainly do worse than investing your time and money in watching 13 Assassins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
I am no expert in japenese films however i have watched quite a few oriental movies and this is one of my favourites so far, the story is very interesting, there is a great build up to the final showdown which is exceptionally long and certainly very compelling, a great film which I shall watch time and time again, well directed and I can find no faults in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 13 Assassins, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent depiction of the samurai class in all its brutal glory.
A plausible story delivered with believable action scenes.Martial Arts
fans will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like action and don't mind subtitles, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
If you like action and don't mind subtitles, look no further. Great story, a horific baddie and great heroes. The fighting sequence at the end of the film is truly epic, absolutely manificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twilight of the Samurai, 14 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
First up: It's a Japanese film. It's in Japanese. Not English. You can though watch it either with or without English subtitles.

And there's no dubbed version.

If that puts you off: bye.

If not:

13 Assassins is set in mid 19th century Japan. When the country is largely at peace and the age of the Samurai is seemingly on the wane. But a Lord with connections is rising in power. And he happens to be an evil psychopath prone to random and nasty acts of violence against anyone in his path.

Which poses a problem for the rulers of the country. And for his personal Samurai. The former need to do something about him. The latter are bound by honour and duty to serve their lord. Even though he behaves the way he does.

Acting under secret orders, a group of Samurai come together, and plot to assassinate him. But timing requires them to strike whilst he is on a journey. Accompanied by two hundred soldiers.

To even the odds, the assassins set an ambush in a village they've evacuated. And rigged to the hilt with booby traps.

Their honour demands a total massacre. The honour of the Lord's Samurai and troops demands they defend him.

It's a fight to the death.

This runs for two hours and the fighting doesn't commence till a little into the second half. The first half has to set the scene. The moral dilemmas. The run up to the battle. And introduce the characters. There are a couple of short fight scenes in this but nothing more. Even so, it's pretty decent drama and very watchable, and moves along at quite a decent pace.

There are a lot of characters though and some get better introductions than others but you may struggle to take all of them in, simply because of how many there are.

The battle scene when it does kick off is spectacular, superbly directed, and very memorable. One moment may not go down well with animal lovers although it is quite obviously achieved with visual effects so you shouldn't worry about it.

Again, though, the sheer number of characters mentioned earlier means the final fate of many may not quite have the impact that it should.

But that's the only problem with what is a very satisfying epic. Offering moral food for thought, good dramatic scenes of strong dialogue in it's first half, spectacular battle action, and even - thanks to one character - occasional comedy, it's a very memorable viewing experience.

Dvd extras are as follows:

Twenty two minutes worth of deleted scenes. These are mostly very short but have to be watched all in a row. There is no option to watch them individually.

An eighteen minute long interview with the director [which does mention one of the deleted scenes, although it clearly hadn't been deleted at the time of the interivew, so you will need to watch both extras to appreciate them fully].

And the cinema trailer for the film.

The comments about language and subtitles at the start of this review apply to the extras also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoultely brilliant!, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 13 Assassins [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After a slow but tense start, 13 Assassins turns into a superb action epic, the kind of film that asian cinema does so well and which puts hollywood to shame. Very well acted and made, this is the story of 13 samurai who team up to fight an evil warlord. While hollywood often does the dumb but fun action movie well, this is far more thoughtfull and subtle and more intelligent than most hollywood blockbusters. The last 45 minutes have some of the most amazing and insane action scenes you'll ever see. An excellent movie, one of the best of 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Assassin is enough but then -13, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Seligor "Seligor's Castle" (Pontybodkin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 13 Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent if like me you like Asian Films and Dramas. As with all Japanese Films , always exciting, always sad, and always full of action, though sometimes stilted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

13 Assassins [DVD]
13 Assassins [DVD] by Takashi Miike (DVD - 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews