Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective replacement for dodgy grip shift gears
Hard to find thumb shifters for 6 speed as most are 7 and up,these have worked out great to replace the grip shift gears originally fitted to the bike and can be placed far enough out of the way so no more accidental gear changes when on rough terrain or bumping up and down kerbs,they've been so good I've ordered the 7 speed version for my girlfriends bike too as she...
Published on 8 Aug. 2012 by Carlos7uk

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The quality is slipping!
The quality is not as good as those I have previously purchased.
The 123 shifter goes up the gears stiffly.
I'm reluctant to change back down, for fear of something snapping, owing to the force required to do so!!!!!
As I use mainly the other shifter, which seems ok, I can't be bothered enough to dismantle and post back.
That is my feedback.
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective replacement for dodgy grip shift gears, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to find thumb shifters for 6 speed as most are 7 and up,these have worked out great to replace the grip shift gears originally fitted to the bike and can be placed far enough out of the way so no more accidental gear changes when on rough terrain or bumping up and down kerbs,they've been so good I've ordered the 7 speed version for my girlfriends bike too as she commented how much better they are to use instead of the gripshift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply excellent and excellently simple, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grip shifters were completely worn out so I bought these. Considering the price, these shifters are simply excellent. Gear changes are now fast and slick and the levers are easy to reach. These are nothing complicated, just press a button to go to a higher gear and push up a lever to go down a gear (it's even marked + and - !).

Both shifters and new cables and cable housing are included. Provided you have a decent cable cutter, these are all easy to install. If you are replacing grip shifters, you should also get new handlebar grips (usually 13cm but do check yourself!). I highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy 4 star., 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Small Scale "small_scale" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shimano Tourney/TY SL-TX50 Thumb Shifter Plus (Sports)
Bought the 6-speed version of this thumb shifter to replace a horribly stiff twist-shifter which my daughter was finding too difficult to use.

Getting it installed is absolute child's play, but just remember you'll need a rear derailleur (gear changer on the back axle) that is compatible with Shimano's SIS system (most are, but worth checking first). Also remember you'll need to do some adjustment on the derailleur once you've connected and tightened the new shifter cable, so you'll need a basic understanding of what to do. As usual, YouTube helps.

Now for usage. Moving from 1st gear (easy) to 6th (hard) is so easy, just a simple push on the button to swap to the near gear. Dead easy. Moving from 6th back up to 1st just involves pushing the lever up in successive steps. It requires a little more force to move from 3rd to 2nd and from 2nd to 1st, but it's still a lot easier than the twist grip shifter that you're probably replacing.

Overall, works very well once all adjusted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to fit and easy to use, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic unit - my daughter can use her gears fully now! Her bike had the twist grip shifters and she was not strong enough to use them. This shifter is real easy for her, making it possible to shift with just a thumb - smiles (and miles) are back. The price is good, it was delivered in a few days as promised and it was very simple to fit. I would definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent shifters, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Malcolm Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These shifters are very good at the job, and switch gears swiftly, and precise. However, what I don't like so much is the left shifter as it only has one lever for moving up and down the gears for. Rather than two, which seems a bit awkward and odd to me. Easy to configure with the adjusters and I am not even a pro. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dont know how they do it for the price - does exactly what it says on the box - easy to fit - easier to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing quality, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
S. A. Hull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
these look awesome on your bike, easy to use and no more sticking gears. easy to read gear numbers as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement for grip shifters, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano Tourney/TY SL-TX50 Thumb Shifter Plus (Sports)
Got these to replace a set of grip shifters on my daughters bike and they make all the difference. changing gear is effortless and so much easier. Did not take too long to fit and almost no adjustment required. Good replacement that I should have done earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are just what I wanted to replace old revo shifters., 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Derek K. Page (Sutton Coldfield , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shimano Tourney/TY SL-TX50 Thumb Shifter Plus (Sports)
they fitted great on to the handle bars of my mountain bike. so much better than my old revo shiffters. took a time to calibrate but they work very well now after a few minor adjustments. So much quicker to change gear now and look great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is 21 speed - both front (7 speed) and rear (3 speed), 3 Nov. 2014
This more than met my expectations. I thought it was just the seven speed shifter, but it turned out to be a complete set - 21 speed, both right and left, complete, boxed and with all cables. It was actually exactly what I really needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews