Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back
Funny old album, I saw Madeleine years ago when she was busking in Paris - there was a magic offbeat quality that had slightly sliped away on her albums BUT this shows signs off a getting that spirit back while still showing off that wonderful voice. Love in Vain is a superb version...... The only thing she needs to tighten up on is the the standard of her song writing...
Published on 11 July 2011 by H. Bruce

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standing on the rooftop, or on a precipice? ***1/2
Bravely, if cautiously, stepping out of her comfort zone Madeleine Peyroux's latest album is something of a schizophrenic affair. It works best on those tracks where she dares to be different; less so on the more familiar straight jazz-vocal arrangements, where by and large the songs themselves are not sufficiently noteworthy to jostle for position with better examples...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Leonardo27


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 12 April 2013
By 
Roy Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
another great collection ,easy listening ,nice selection of titles ,as always good production, another hit and add to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Discovery, 16 Aug. 2011
By 
Dr William Riches (Newnham-on-Severn, Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
I heard her sign on Radio 4 and was fascinated by the calm unpretentious voice that captured the mood of her songs perfectly -- no gimmicks just great singing. She has a dry wit that is seen in the wonderful 'Don't Pick a Fight with a Poet.' For those who don't know her, listen and enjoy a great talent/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Peyroux, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Lwk Tarling (LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
Fantastic album - Even better than the prEvious one. Particuarly like don't pick a fight with a poet - it is very witty. Enjoyement of the album enhanced by seeing Madeleine perform it at the Baribican a couple of days before I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor show., 7 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. Oliver W. Davies "oliverwilliamdavies" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
The ladies and gentlemen who have written reviews of one or two stars are entirely correct in their appraisals. This is a very poor showing - the question has to be asked, "Why bother?"

It has already been said that one should stick with the first two albums - this is good advice. Ploughing a familiar furrow is one thing, settling comfortably into the rut is another and is insulting to the buying public. This is not the sound of an artist stretching herself and breaking new ground. Rather it is the sound of credibility being stretched to breaking point and beyond.

It is highly cathartic to return to Billie Holiday after this middle of the road affair. I mean really, Ms Peyroux - you and "hard life" don't exactly go together. Time to sing a different song...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have saved the money, 24 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong - I love Madeleine Peyroux, but this is way off course. There are a handful of tracks that aren't bad but there are also some real turkeys. Faced with the chocolate box of the Beatle's back catalogue she has picked out one of the orange creams (Martha My Dear) and then dropped it on the carpet and trodden it into an unrecognisable mess. The title track suffers from an intrusive turgid rythm beat and others are so slow and soporific they should come with a health warning not to drive when listening to them.

Come on Madeleine - the early stuff was wonderful. Get yourself a new producer and start again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy Peyroux, 18 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
Standing on the Rooftop is another easy listening jazz album fom Madeleine Peyroux. Probably not her best album but great easy listening as background music for a dinner party or just to relax and drift away into. The tracks are very similar in tempo and sound with no surprises so it is relaxed and reminds me of a late night in a smoky jazz club where the musicians are just jamming in a very laid back way.

To sum up very easy to listen to without any tracks to rattle the calm. Standing On The Rooftop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Standing on the rooftop, 28 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
A bit too "intimate night club" for me.
We saw her at the Sage in Gateshead, and the venue was far too large for her singing style. "Dreamland" is the best C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
lovely voice, pure jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
Arrived the next day and well packed. Browsing through the website might not be as exciting as trawling through record shops, but I don't have any near me! This is hassle free shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 31 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Standing on the Rooftop (Audio CD)
In comparison to her other CD's this is not of the same quaility,particularly the type of tracks that have been recorded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standing on the Rooftop
Standing on the Rooftop by Madeleine Peyroux (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews