Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion
To many, Ian Whates is the archetypal Marmite author, which is to say that you either love him or hate him. Personally I love his writing style, I enjoy the characters and what he does is take me on a journey where survivability can come down to a flip of fates coin. What he does, in this the second Noise novel is carry on building the intricate universe that the series...
Published on 24 April 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but flawed read
I'm always slightly dubious of reading books which do not have a hardback release - not because I love the world's least convenient book format, but because if something goes straight to paperback it raises doubts about the quality of the work within.

Ian Whates' first book in the Noise series (The Noise Within: 1) was an engaging read that set up his universe...
Published on 25 May 2011 by Ali


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but flawed read, 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm always slightly dubious of reading books which do not have a hardback release - not because I love the world's least convenient book format, but because if something goes straight to paperback it raises doubts about the quality of the work within.

Ian Whates' first book in the Noise series (The Noise Within: 1) was an engaging read that set up his universe well, and had a level of tension that kept you reading.

The Noise Revealed is the follow up to that book, and features many of the characters we met there. New concepts have been introduced - virtual worlds, post-humans etc and these form the basis of the plot. As the other reviewer says, Whates is an acquired taste, and if you were drawn to the first book by Stephen Baxter's quote do not make the mistake of thinking the hard sci-fi he writes is replicated here - scientific explanation is relegated to the odd reference to zero point units, energy veils and computer viruses.

The plot moves along nicely for the first two thirds of the book and actually makes you think that this could very well turn into a trilogy, as there are enough areas to explore in the universe he has created. Sadly Whates seems to lose interest in the story he is telling towards the end - having built tension and intrigue, he throws it all away in what feels like a rush job to finish the book to deadline. What were major plot points are resolved in a paragraph, and what is clearly supposed to be an unexpected twist can be spotted a mile away. For all this brevity in narrative, there are some sections which seem completely redundant, such as a 4 page section describing someone eating a meal.

The ending actually feels like it was written by someone else, and that someone didn't seem to have access to an Editor or even a rudimentary grammar checker as there are some appalling errors where key words are left out. Whates fancies himself as somewhat of a sci-fi/fantasy Dan Brown with lines like this: "The partial then bade them accompany the fresh-faced young man who stood flanked by two chisel-jawed security personnel, which they did."

All in all, this is an enjoyable read which could have been so much better had a lot more thought and effort been put into the execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying conclusion, 24 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
To many, Ian Whates is the archetypal Marmite author, which is to say that you either love him or hate him. Personally I love his writing style, I enjoy the characters and what he does is take me on a journey where survivability can come down to a flip of fates coin. What he does, in this the second Noise novel is carry on building the intricate universe that the series is constructed in, works heavily on character development and also manages to keep the tale light enough so that the reader can enjoy the fast pace alongside prose that he has utilised within.

Finally add to this some reasonable combat sequences, a good sense of pace and the reader will end up with a satisfactory value for money title that will leave them nicely sated by the tales end. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sci Fi, space opera - a pretty good read.

The first of the series was ok - but this makes it better. I feel (hey, what do I know!?) that the 2 would have been better as one long book (Hamilton stylee), but I fully understand why not.

A good read, good plot. The end was a little rushed (hey, compare to Hamilton again though - his endings have been dismal now and then!) - but overall a satisfying read. I'll be buying whatever else Ian writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The still, small voice of calm after the storm., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Noise Revealed (The Noise Within Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read - fast paced & gripping with both an interesting, exciting yarn & some entertaining fictitious science to go with it.
Most enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surely A Trilogy Filler, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. Paul J. Grenyer (Norwich, Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the things that I love about sci-fi is that you can never, ever be sure that someone is dead, even if they are shot through the head. When one of the leading characters in this book betrays the others and shoots one of the other leading characters I'm not ashamed to say it broke my heart. Strangely enough though, it all worked out in the end.

A lot of The Noise Revealed is set in virtually. All the characters and scenes there, with the significant exception of Tanya, were boring and I could never wait to get back to the other thread of the story. Ian Whates clearly knows very little about how computer software actually works, so when he was describing the characters trying track down pieces of code to work out what was happening it rang so untrue that it really irritated me. And when he described how the virus was attacking the software it was worse.

That aside I loved this book even more than the Noise Within. I could really relate to the characters and the way they were feeling and why. There are plenty of twists and surprises that made this a very enjoyable and surprising read. It's an obvious middle book in the middle of a probably trilogy. There are questions from The Noise Within that still go unanswered and even more questions asked. Hopefully Whates is already working on the next book. My advice would be to move a little more out of his comfort zone and really push his imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ....... Shoddy effort., 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a shame. When I read the 'Noise Within' I felt I had found another series in the vein of a Hamilton opera - but it is not to be. Ian Whates clearly chokes at the work involved in spinning out this yarn and wound it up indecently quickly. A quick, shoddy and disappointing ending to what had been a promising start.
Thought I'd found an absorbing series, but after reading this book I realise I need to look for a different author. Shame on you Ian Whates - you have some talent, but not the professionalism that paying customers will expect to repeat their purchases of your work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Once-only read, ruined deus-ex-machina ending, 24 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book follows on directly from The Noise Within, where the author assembles an varied an engaging cast of characters into what feels like the start of a multi-part series.
Not great literature but an enjoyable romp for whiling away a few hours.

*SPOILER*

Unfortunately the creativity vanishes 3/4 of the way through the book. The major characters assemble and are largely killed off until one of them discovers, pretty much from nowhere, a 'magic get-out clause' that saves the day. The prior plot threads are completely voided by the ending, making any re-reading of the story pointless.

A very disappointing conclusion to what was generally an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Science fantasy with the emphasis on fantasy, light weight, under developed characters, annoyingly ill thought out space travel and virtuality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful Mishmash, 17 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Noise Revealed (The Noise Within Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The first book was so-so, at least setting the stage for a possible trilogy, but then, as often happens, the writer's one or two good ideas run out of steam. The intelligent sassy gun is interesting, as is the idea of virtual existence. But who is the hero ? (Leyden? Malcolm? Philip?) and who the villain? The aliens are always in the background and never emerge,the blood in the engine veil is never explained and the 4 page description of a meal is bizarre and utterly pointless. Add to that the whole plotline just drifts off nowhere and the author tries to tie it all up in one small paragraph. he must have just thought "I don't want to do this anymore" and ended it. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews