Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In A Genre All Of His Own
This is sonic bliss. Huge, over-the-top, heavy, brutal and beautiful in equal measure. I love Devin's harmonic choices, lovely extended chords, all very impressionistic and puts one in mind of Debussy and Ravel - two fine composers with fine haircuts, and no mistake.

The fact that so few "songs" on this album follow a traditional...
Published on 26 Jun. 2011 by Mr. J. Gorman

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of....
This wins the 'most dissapointing album of the year' prize hands down, with Ghosts coming in a close second.
Devin is a genius in all he does, and makes album after album of great music - until now. There is nothing about this release that gives that same feeling you get from a Dev album. I have been a fan since the days of Vai, through strapping etc, and this one...
Published on 24 Jun. 2011 by Zombie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In A Genre All Of His Own, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. J. Gorman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
This is sonic bliss. Huge, over-the-top, heavy, brutal and beautiful in equal measure. I love Devin's harmonic choices, lovely extended chords, all very impressionistic and puts one in mind of Debussy and Ravel - two fine composers with fine haircuts, and no mistake.

The fact that so few "songs" on this album follow a traditional intro-verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-solo-chorus-fade structure won't put anyone off who has a well-developed appreciation of modern music. On the other hand, if you came looking for In Flames or Metallica then maybe this won't be a welcome addition to your CD collection.

It's crammed full of ideas and ornate details, along with crushing production values and a full orchestra that fits in just swell, making Deconstruction one dandy musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album in the series, 23 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
Excellent record. I've had it a couple of weeks now. At first listen it seemed exhausting but on repeated listens it shines. The complexity and sheer number of parts in each track is brilliant. It really needs to be sat down and properly listened to. Dev's singing the best it has been for ages and thankfully (for me) the guest appearances don't impact too much on the songs.

Its not a record for everyone though; listeners of his previous work will love it but most average music listeners will be baffled and even the average metal fan will probably be put off by the random instruments, arrangements and song structure.

Despite not being consistenty heavy like the SYL albums its probably a more extreme and challenging record. And I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exhausting, brilliant record, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. Stephen W. Payne "Stephen" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
Just finished my first listen of Deconstruction (approx 70 mins running time), at a rather loud volume and in one sitting.

Despite been captivated by the build up in the music press over the last 2-3 months prior to its release and having read a handful of positive reviews, I was not prepared for just how dense/layered this album is, it really needs your full attention to be able to to absorb. In fact, as the album progresses it only gets faster and more intense - I was exhausted by the end of the album. No doubt it will take many listens to fully appreciate.

The two main elements I feel set this album apart are the sheer complexity of the arrangements (descriptions of Devin Townsend being a genius are tired yet true) and the awesome full orchestration throughout the album. The numerous guest spots (Opeth, Emperor, DEP, etc) are interesting but non-obtrusive; Devin is centre point and the star of the show throughout.

I'm listening to the blissful Ghost album now, perhaps just to recover from Deconstruction. Ghost is fantastic, and it should be noted at the polar opposite end of extremity as Deconstruction. Also, just to note that my copy of Deconstruction (bought as part of the 'Calm and the Storm' pack, with the Ghost album) included a download card for 4 songs from Ghost 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album!, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
perceive (Vic Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
To be honest I was not looking forward to this album as much as a number of others this year, nor, indeed, as much as the other albums even in this four album release by Devin Townsend.

Initial thoughts
The first few listens I found this difficult, there is a lot going on musically, very dense layering. But what actually put me off was Devin's feel, this album is in a lot of parts very manic. After I got used used to this edge of sanity application to music I started to appreciate the album so much more and it would not have been the unique voice of Devin Townsend without it.

The Good..
Praise The Lowered, Stand, Juular, Sumeria are all excellent, dense, frightening, relaxing, absorbing, funny, grim, entertaining and gripping in turns (and sometimes all at once).
They showcase in a way unique to this album something that has been displayed on Ki, Ghost and Addicted in their own way. There are calm parts with DT's inately musical voice, followed by passages of insanity with growls, grunts, amid a chorus of voices that add to an already overwhelming sonic environment and vice versa.

The in between..
Every other track on the album falls into this range. There are no bad tracks, just tracks that get more or less plays than the others.

The Bad..
The only things I can be really picky with are that the album is maybe too long. It is an intense listen and at over 70 minutes can be quite challenging. I found I needed to work up to listening to it end to end while still giving it my full attention.

Production
Awesome. One of the best I have heard in recent times. Amazingly dense. Insanely so. Yet nothing is lost due to this. There is an excellent balance between instruments and nothing that seems too freaky from a frequency point of view. An absolute joy on both speakers and headphones.

Final Thoughts
Again, I would never have though this album would be my album of the year, but there you are. Having said all of that do I recommend it? Only if you like Devin Townsends style. That manic ride that he invites us into called his music.... If you are not sure listen first, as it is unique enough that many will be put off... But for those inclined can be quite rewarding. This is not Ziltoid, it is not Strapping Young Lad, but it is very much a Devin Townsend record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
While this may not be everybodies cup of tea(I have to admit it took me a couple of listenings to get into it), it's absurdly huge, bold and a little bit mad. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The most 'projecty' of the Project, 21 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
I have to be honest - this album is hard work.

It will be interesting to see how often I listen to it in a year's time. This really is a challenge from the off.

You cannot get past the fact that DT is doing something that noone else is doing, and in an age when so many bands sound exactly the same, Devin is absolutely unmistakable. However when I see the word 'project' in a band title, I get that niggling worry that not all of it is going to be good. Ki was near the knuckle at times, but this is by some distance the most 'projecty' of the 4.

There is nothing as annoying as someone going out of their way to be whacky. Devin tried it on Ziltoid and it grates again here: the cheeseburger reference, a few whacky voiceovers (see tracks 6 and 8), constant tuneless (but technically superb, I am sure) Zappa/Vai guitar twiddles, whacky vocals here and there, and the all-time low - a fart noise. In fact at times it seems like he has thrown all the worst parts from his earlier albums into a blender and tipped it up throughout the album.

And yet it all still works.
The weaving in of a full orchestra + choir is astonishingly powerful, and the many good bits seem to somehow qualify the tuneless bits which you have just sat through asking yourself 'where is this going?'
Certainly it is not an album which can be broken down into small chunks. You have no chance of finding a 'Christine' or 'Hyperdrive' in amongst this soup
It may be very heavy and very fast in parts, but never comes accross as angry and these parts are more than balanced by the layered harmonic parts which interweave them. There are very few hooks which hang in your ears, and practically none that you could sing to, but there is so much going on, that you need to know more, somehow. The whole album feels like a challenge to turn it off, whilst it hides the off button on your stereo, and the odd thing is that when it ends, you want to put it back on again immediately. Totally bizarre.

I'd love to know now what I will think of it in a year.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spluuurpppp, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
R. Taylor "made_in_plymouth" (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
Splurrppppp is the noise my brain made as it slid out of my ears.

This is the most amazing thing I have ever heard. Everything else is mundane by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How does he do it!!!!!, 24 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
This album is just stunning, one that will not be understood after just one listen.

A modern day masterpiece, its absoulutly relentless, tuneful, funny, heavy as hell & he even reference's Meshuggah in a lyrical moment of genius.

DEVIN a god amongst men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of...., 24 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Decontruction (Audio CD)
This wins the 'most dissapointing album of the year' prize hands down, with Ghosts coming in a close second.
Devin is a genius in all he does, and makes album after album of great music - until now. There is nothing about this release that gives that same feeling you get from a Dev album. I have been a fan since the days of Vai, through strapping etc, and this one baffles me. What a load of.....
And to think how good Ki and Addicted were?! Something tells me taking on 4 releases was too much and he ran out of steam mid-way. Ghost is awful too and should be no more than an experimental fan CD. I can see what he was aiming for but it is not anywhere near his usual standard.
Sorry Dev, these CD's were not nearly worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Decontruction
Decontruction by Devin Townsend (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews