Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Staying Power' whilst 'Under Pressure'?
DISC 1 (The Album)
OK, it's not typical Queen. OK, it's not aged well. OK, Roger and Brian (in particular) are now openly honest about the tensions this album caused within the band when Freddie was pushing for a certain 'sound'... BUT, have those who dismissed this album truly explored all it has to offer? The lyrics and delivery of "Life is Real" by Freddie could...
Published on 2 Nov 2012 by M. D. Rathbone

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from classic Queen
Being a Queen fan does not automatically make me want to find excuses to award this 5 stars, as it has some others. Make no mistake- this was their worst album by a distance. It nearly killed off the band, and left the vast majority of fans hugely disappointed. There are three good songs on here, the rest are awful filler. Not good enough. Disco and funk are for others to...
Published on 12 May 2012 by Mangetout


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Staying Power' whilst 'Under Pressure'?, 2 Nov 2012
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
DISC 1 (The Album)
OK, it's not typical Queen. OK, it's not aged well. OK, Roger and Brian (in particular) are now openly honest about the tensions this album caused within the band when Freddie was pushing for a certain 'sound'... BUT, have those who dismissed this album truly explored all it has to offer? The lyrics and delivery of "Life is Real" by Freddie could easily slot into any other Queen album and "Las Palabras de Amor" is my all time personal favourite Queen song and it deserved to do better in the charts and sadly gets lost amongst the pop/funk/dance that clearly dominates the album. Even so, each track has something to offer Queen fans old and new and the album is still a diverse blend of the four talents of Messrs Deacon, May, Mercury and Taylor. The majority of the album has a mix of songs that were a major departure but gave Queen the space to experiment with sounds that would later come together much stronger in "The Works" for example when the stresses and tensions pushed the band even further creatively.

DISC 2 (The EP)
The purpose of the 2011 'Deluxe Editions' (putting all cynical marketing, profit-making, blood-from-a-stone comments to one side) is to give a bonus 'EP' of rare or previously unreleased tracks which compliment the original album. So we get a b-side, an a-side remix and three live tracks. Wow. Perhaps there is not too much in the vaults from this period of Queen's life but it certainly would have been nice to get the extended versions of Back Chat and Staying Power which are quite difficult to get hold of and exist only on 12" vinyl singles (officially). The inclusion of live tracks actually from around the time of the album (rather than much later and out of context) is certainly welcome though, as that is not always the case in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot Space or Cold as Ice?, 30 Jun 2011
By 
G. Noble (Long Away) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Well, given that I've awarded this deluxe version four stars I guess I've already answered the title posed by my review haven't I? Like the reviewer above me I have always been one of the few Queen fans for whom Hot Space has always been an enjoyable listening experience. Before I first purchased this album when I first became a fan in 1986 all I ever heard was how bad this album was, that the band had betrayed their rock roots and that this album should be listened to once and then disposed of. How wrong those people were I thought after my first ever listen to it. Okay, the band not be rocking in the classic sense of the word but there are certainly more high points on this album than on some of the other albums - the two studio albums that preceded it Flash Gordon and The Game are prime examples of this view.

Now in 2011, some 25 years on from my first listen to Hot Space, I still feel the same way about it. The quality of certain tracks such as Las Palabras de Amor, Staying Power, Dancer, the Bowie collaboration Under Pressure and my own personal favourite from the album Put Out The Fire, more than make up for the two weakest tracks, Cool Cat and Body Language, which are two of the worst Queen songs period. The rest of the album is easy to listen to without anything standing out. As per usual the talent of the four guys as writers and musicians stands out a mile and what I perhaps feel about Hot Space as an album is that it was a couple of years too early in its release - had the same album been put out in 1984 or 1985 it would have been greeted far more warmly.

In terms of this two disc release the bonus disc features the usual mix of live and rare tracks, but what sets this apart from other discs is that two of the live tracks are from a Japanese concert in 1982 and have not been out before. As much of a fan as I am of hearing the band live I hate the use of bonus tracks that are already available on either Queen Rock Montreal or Live At Milton Keynes or Live At Wembley. It is really in the live arena that the Hot Space tracks gain a new life so hearing Action This Day and Calling All Girls live is a joy. The other two bonus tracks a single remix of Back Chat, which just scraped into the top 40 (at no.40) on its release and was perhaps why the band chose to rest for a year and the b-side to Under Pressure, a tongue in cheek namecheck of Queen songs and lyrics called Soul Brother, which is a nice piece to have for the fans who maybe haven't bought it on vinyl or the singles collections on CD.

All in all this two disc release is another worthy remaster and I cannot wait to get my hands on the last five reissues later in the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dont judge it on the first four tracks, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
The Queen album that is often regarded as the 'black sheep' album. The rather harsh judgement is in many ways a simple result in a poor track order on the album. The first four tracks are back to back pop/disco - inevitable after the worldwide success of anotherone bites the dust - followed by a series of what could be regarded as classic Queen tracks.

Image the album opening with a different track order - Put out he Fire / Dancer / Las Palbras de Amor.....and one could image a very different take on the album overall.

Soul Brother, B-side to Under Pressure is a fun track, a bit of fun featuring a mash of lyrics from many previous Queen songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from classic Queen, 12 May 2012
By 
Mangetout (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Being a Queen fan does not automatically make me want to find excuses to award this 5 stars, as it has some others. Make no mistake- this was their worst album by a distance. It nearly killed off the band, and left the vast majority of fans hugely disappointed. There are three good songs on here, the rest are awful filler. Not good enough. Disco and funk are for others to produce, and thankfully Queen soon realised this. The accompanying tour was surprisingly good fun, particularly when they uncorked their vintage material...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Under pressure or like marmite, 8 July 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Under pressure the title of the best track on this album and it some's up everything. No matter what anyone says this is the album that alienated Queen fans confused america and internally almost destroyed the group. After the success of Another one bites the dust, Mercury and Deacon, wanted to investigate the R and B and disco sounds of the time, however as Roger Taylor said,in the recent documentary on Queen on BBC2, the record was like entering a Gay club, and that was not the sound that he and May wanted to make.I am all for experimenting with other musical sounds,Kate Bush did it with the Dreaming which led to the classic Hounds of love but I always felt this album was always just going a little to far, The tracks like Body language and Back chat are just not Queen in anyway shape or form. If your a massive fan you may buy this record to add to your collection, personally it was a relief when the Rock tracks returned with the Works a couple of years later and restored queen to there rightful place.In July 2004, Q magazine listed Hot Space as one of the top fifteen albums where great rock acts lost the plot. Most of the album was recorded in Munich during the most turbulent period in the band's history, and Taylor and May lamented the new sound, with both being very critical of the influence Mercury's manager Paul Prenter had on the singer However Hot Space like any other Queen album has its great tracks Under Pressure and Las Palabras de Amor are album highlights. However Seriously can anyone really rate this a classic Queen album up there with a Night at the Opera?, no way should this get the same stars its ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood album, 18 Oct 2013
By 
T. Baranyai "COVERDALESNAKE" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Okay so this isn't Queen at there finest, but Hot Space is not there worst album. I listen to this far more than I listen to Jazz or Sheer Heart Attack. Back Chat, Put Out The Fire, Calling All Girls, Las Palabras De Amor and Under Pressure are all good songs. Most of the songs from this album however, actually sounded better live. Especially Staying Power, it's like a completely different song on Live At The Bowl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Life is Real, 31 July 2013
By 
Mister D (The Royal County) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Probably their most disliked album, this was hugely controversial at the time as it is a serious departure from earlier Queen releases.

Gone are the multi-tracked instruments and operatic vocals replaced with synthesisers, leaving an album of 2 halves.

The first side (on the original vinyl release) is in what the band termed "the funk style" and it is not particularly well done and sounds like a rock band out of their comfort zone.
It is such a departure from the usual queen sound that you will either like or loathe it.

The second side is better and it sounds like the band tried to counteract the first side with some ballads and traditional rock. There are some half decent tracks here in particular "las palabras de amor" and "life is real" although "cool cat" (back to the "funk style and sung entirely in falsetto) is widely disliked
You also get the full version of the classic "Under Pressure" that doesn't include the clumsy edit seen on "Greatest Hits 2".

The album has the same dated sound quality as "The Game". This is not something I can quite put my finger and I suspect it is due to the recording equipment used in the studio. That said, the 2011 remaster improves things and is significantly better than the previous release.
The style (in particular the first side) takes you right back to the late 70's/early 80's and there is a lot of synths from that era as well. This adds to the overall dated sound of this album.

Apart from containing the B-Side "Soul Brother", the bonus disc is pretty pointless (a remix and some live tracks).

Hot Space is not a great queen album, however it certainly stands out and I quite like some of the tracks on it

Whether you think it is a bad album is down to personal taste and those who are new to queen and acquiring all their studio albums should probably make this their second to last purchase (get the Flash Gordon soundtrack last).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bowie vs Queen, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Fans of Bowie have there opine and Queen fans have it, its a Ok album. Under pressure is the only song i remember from the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Queen's nadir, my dear, 26 Jan 2013
By 
wavey davey (Fareham, Hants) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
Pretty much every band has a low point somewhere in their career, and this lamentable effort is undoubtedly Queen's. I never liked their pop tendancies that much, but this really went too far. If you like disco music, and 80's disco music that hasn't aged well at that, then you'll probably get something out of this, but like most Queen fans i was left cold. They had dismantled their classic sound in one fell swoop. Luckily, sense prevailed (one suspects because of the relatively poor sales) and the band returned to their usual style from here on in.

Nowadays of course, Brian May and Roger Taylor readily admit to hating this album, which makes me wonder how it ever got released in the first place. Easy to say now, but why didn't they swallow their pride and let Freddie put it out as a solo album, since it it was more or less his baby? They wouldn't have lost that much in the way of royalties and Queen wouldn't have this stain on their reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Hot Space (2011 Remastered Version: 2CD) (Audio CD)
I was'nt a fan of this album when it came out in 1982 and apart from 'Life is Real' and Las Palabras De Amore the album (to me) is still dreadful. I'm afraid the CD won't be filling shelf space in my house even if it has been remastered. Queen doing disco....ugh! :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews