Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from Scalzi
The Conclave, a collective of over 400 alien species, has declared any attempts at colonisation by non-conclave members on any planet will be met with the removal of the colony. The CDF, not a member of the conclave, plans to make a mockery of the conclave by setting up a new colony and leaking false information about its whereabouts.

To run this colony a...
Published on 1 Sept. 2008 by Mark Chitty

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel
With this Scalzi brings his "Old Man's War" sequence to a finish (though it appears that his latest "Zoe's War" is also set in the same sequence, just giving a different perspective on the action).

Old Man's War was a fine example of military S. F., giving a fresh perspective. However the two sequels seem to have progressively run out of invention and I think...
Published on 8 Oct. 2008 by G. Kent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 23 July 2013
An enjoyable read with some nice twists, I like that its not really clear who is the bad guys here.
The central characters are interesting and engaging; can be read alone but I would recommend reading the other two first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Less pew pew but still a great book, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book and not just a simple follow on but takes Perry and Sagan into a more political role as they are manipulated by the Colonial Union. The personal development of the characters and development of the story leads to a great conclusion one that leaves the Colonial Union reeling. It is not as zap zap pow pow as the others in this series but this is why the series is so good because each of the books is so different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, believable and imaginative, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been few SciFi writers down the years who could write with wit and humour as well as tell a good tale... and this is the best I've come across since the Stainless Steel Rat more than half a century ago! I don't know why John Scalzi wasn't on my radar before, and since reading this I've downloaded two more of his books to my Kindle and read them both in a couple of sittings. Politics, humour and completely believable worlds flow from his computer keys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent series, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, and the series. Well written, good interplay between characters, not too much information given allowing the reader to visualise the events instead of being spoonfed details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Want more, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that this neatly rounded off the family of "Old Mans War" books.. Different from the previous books in that the was more politics and less gung-ho. The dialogue is sharp and humourous and personally want to find out more about Scalazi's universe. Have purchased "Zoe's Tale" and note that "The Human Division" are also in this universe, looking forward to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whats your sign?, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Colony (Paperback)
Great addition to a a first class series of well written science fiction books, note to the lovers ,read the previous two books first, didn't need to tell you that did I? oh well, i`am a Capricorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm addicted to John Scalzi, I've raced through the ..., 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm addicted to John Scalzi, I've raced through the whole series at record pace. His books hark back to the golden age of sci-fi writing and time will no doubt see him up there amongst the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Interest, 6 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Run of the mill conclusion to the series. First 75 pages nothing happens. Then instead of copying the great military science fiction books of the past the author tries his hand at describing the establishment of a colony on an alien frontier which unfortunately is greatly inferior to the awesome Coyote by Allen Steel. Halfway through there is a cool chapter involving only aliens and the Conclave plot. Then it is back to predictable war and the end. On the bright side the story is completed with a reasonable amount of satisfaction without a silly cliff-hanger. A series that should have stopped at one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More first-class space opera from Scalzi, 24 Sept. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "m_farncombe" (Guildford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who haven't read Scalzi's "Old Man's War" and "Ghost Brigades" - and you should - the hero and his wife are ex-military who are administrators in a small off-Earth colony. They are recruited as the leaders of a new colony but are lied to and marooned by their own people, while no less than 412 alien races are all trying to find them so they can stomp them into the alien dust.

The skill in Scalzi's writing is that you genuinely care about the hero and his family and the minutiae of colony life, and yet you are sucked in to a great sci-fi thriller with multiple plot twists and a satisfying (and surprising) ending. One thing, Mr Scalzi, what happened to the werewolves?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars boring story, Scalzi's worst book I, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
meh , irritating prose , boring story , Scalzi's worst book I reckon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LAST COLONY
LAST COLONY (Hardcover - 2008)
Used & New from: £14.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews