Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Latest best score (since Inception)
A geat original score for a great movie. The beggining and the end of this CD are marvelous... I recommend it as much as the movie itself
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Ricardo Q

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typical Media Ventures run-of-the-mill soundtrack
It would have been so much better if David Arnold did this assignment! Not a bit of the 60's atmosphere, just another "Hans Zimmer Score" clone. I really don't know what are all these other reviewers waxing about? Naturally, there are worse scores around these days (hence two stars), but it's a missed opportunity to make a stand out soundtrack and it's really sad...
Published on 25 Dec 2011 by Branko Vekic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars X-Men and new beginning, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
The music is different to the original three X-men movies but is a great addition to the action in the film. This bodes well for the new chapter in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Latest best score (since Inception), 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
A geat original score for a great movie. The beggining and the end of this CD are marvelous... I recommend it as much as the movie itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars speed and pleasure, 9 July 2011
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
The OST is excellent. The autor is from Hans Zimmer school.
The Magneto theme is my favourite.
Nothing to say about amazon service. Just perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful score, 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
While this movie may not be everyones cup of tea, Henry Jackmans' score is an outstanding piece of work to complement the various story elements of this film. For me, by far the best part of this score is for Lehnsherr/Magneto - combined with the directors approach to the character it's bordering on genious. Dark, mean, moody and overwhelmingly powerful is how I would describe this recurring themic piece and it really underlines how driven the character is, and his persona. A different style may not have had the same impact and may have diluted the character, so a lot of credit to Jackman for giving this movie a palpable atmosphere during those particular moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class bombastic action score from Henry Jackman, 13 Jun 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
What am I thinking?! Well firstly, this is a superb action soundtrack which is up there with the best of 2011. Composer Henry Jackman is a relative newcomer to film scores, and I think this is reflected in the fresh and vibrant feel of the album.

The main theme as introduced in the opening track "First Class" is, well, first class. There's some great string writing present before the orchestra and more rocky elements come in. This theme is used rather sparingly. It appears in "Cerebro", but it's finest moment on the album comes in the outstanding track "X-Training", where the mix of electric guitar, electronics and orchestra is spine tingling in its execution. It's this sort of track the repeat button was designed for! There are quieter portions as well, which adds a nice flow to the album ("Rage and Serenity" and the opening of "To Beast or Not To Beast" would be good examples here).

The track "True Colours" felt slightly out of place in that the sub-theme it introduces in the first 60 seconds is a carbon copy of the main theme of Clash of the Titans. If you like that particular track - I think COTT would be for you. I would have preferred it is it was slightly less obvious though (although for most casual listeners I doubt you would noticed or cared)!

The album runs in at 60 minutes, and the felt like it was a perfect length. Jackman works in Hans Zimmer's Remote Control studio, and so the album as a whole feels very well produced and has a brilliant mix throughout.

In summary, I have personally loved all the previous X Men soundtracks, with John Powell's outstanding X-Men: The Last Stand being my favourite up until now. First Class though just has something about it that elevates it beyond a bog-standard action score. It's bombastic and epic which has a perfect orchestral/rock/electronic fusion and is a strong listen from start to finish. Add in several stand-out tracks (I'm thinking "First Class, X-Training and X-Men here) and this gives a perfect superhero score. I hope Jackman is employed to write any future scores for this franchise reboot, and look forward to more of his work in the future - he is clearly a very talented composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful soundtrack, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Isabel Álvarez (Santa Pola, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
I just felt in love with the sountrack the first time I saw the movie, it has this strong and smooth sound at the same time. I love specially "Cerebro", "Rage and Serenity", "Mutant and Proud" and, of course, "Magneto" (this last song is suberb).

My favourite soundtrack in a long time~!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, superb sound quality and an uplifting score, 24 July 2011
By 
Mr. J. Carnegie "Wolverinewannabe" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
Brilliant film and the score to match it, has beautiful shades of X2 John Ottman's score as well as Michel Kmen's from the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Typical Media Ventures run-of-the-mill soundtrack, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Branko Vekic (Sarajevo Bosnia and Herzegowina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men First Class (Audio CD)
It would have been so much better if David Arnold did this assignment! Not a bit of the 60's atmosphere, just another "Hans Zimmer Score" clone. I really don't know what are all these other reviewers waxing about? Naturally, there are worse scores around these days (hence two stars), but it's a missed opportunity to make a stand out soundtrack and it's really sad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men First Class
X-Men First Class by Henry Jackman (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews