Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it
Not necessarily for the track selection, which is is excellent actually, but by virtue of the fact that this is the best remastered CD of any Joy Division/New Order CD to date. The fiasco that was the 2008 New Order reissues has probably taught the record company a lesson in how to handle releases, and is certainly a far cry from the disastrous ear-splitting,...
Published on 16 Jun. 2011 by Milkshock

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be harsh
Yes it's been done to death before- the new order compilation. But don't be too harsh on the band. This is likely a scheme hatched by the record company and the band will have to go along with it. And remember, if it introduces some new people to New Order & Joy Division- people who, remember, will not have heard of Substance or the best of or Retro or Singles- then it's...
Published on 13 Jun. 2011 by DS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 16 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
Not necessarily for the track selection, which is is excellent actually, but by virtue of the fact that this is the best remastered CD of any Joy Division/New Order CD to date. The fiasco that was the 2008 New Order reissues has probably taught the record company a lesson in how to handle releases, and is certainly a far cry from the disastrous ear-splitting, dynamics-crushing Singles release from 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be harsh, 13 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
Yes it's been done to death before- the new order compilation. But don't be too harsh on the band. This is likely a scheme hatched by the record company and the band will have to go along with it. And remember, if it introduces some new people to New Order & Joy Division- people who, remember, will not have heard of Substance or the best of or Retro or Singles- then it's done its job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy only for the quality of the (re)masters, 18 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
Initially at least, the idea of combining JD and NO on one compilation is an attractive and sensible one: after all, one group emerged from the ashes of the other. It's a wonderful story which deserves to be told.

However, this collection, the latest in a long and pointless series, doesn't tell it. It feels like yet another bloody NO compilation (the seventh, if my memory serves) with a few JD tracks tacked on. No real thought has been put into the track selection, with no attempt to construct a narrative. So you get all the usual suspects, with the occasional oddity (eg Isolation) thrown in.

The best you can say about "Hellbent", the much-trumpeted unreleased "bonus" track is: "Move along, nothing to see here." It's a typically inconsequential, rather dispiriting guitar-driven mediocrity of the type that sadly came to embody the group in the period 2001 - 2006. Thin, blokey and unmemorable. I love(d) New Order. I saw them live 73 times between 1981 and 2006. But they went on too long (they should have called it a day after Reading 1998) and should never have made those last two feeble albums. This compilation is just another showcase for the group's post-"Republic" decline, a fall that was as sad as it was precipitous.

So, not much reason to buy, but there is one plus: the quality of the mastering here is very good, better than the "Singles" abomination or the flawed 2008 reissue campaign. The music on tracks 1 to 15 is magnificent, and sounds better than it has before (original vinyl pressings excepted, of course) thanks to Frank Arkwright's remastering. The sound quality on the stodge comprising tracks 16 to 18 is equally fine - if only they were worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising journey in tones and textures, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
I was not expecting much from this release. I bought it because it was cheap, because there was an unreleased track on it and because I wanted a well-mastered CD copy of the rarer versions of the New Order tracks which are part of this compilation and which I had until now only owned on the original vinyl.

I listened to it in my car during a long and boring drive. Classic New Order has always been my favourite soundtrack for long journeys. It turned a boring drive into a journey of the mind and a lovely potted history of my favourite group.

I am well accustomed to hearing beautifully remastered versions of most of these Joy Division tracks as they have been re-released on so many different compilation albums over the last ten years, so no surprises here, but I thought the JD tracks - and indeed all of the tracks on this album - were very well chosen and the remastering at least as good as any that has so far been achieved.

The restoration on the older New Order tracks was startling. This compilation includes rarer original versions of the songs which have been largely overlooked since their vinyl releases in the early 1980s as the songs were subsequently re-recorded by the band with more poppy production. The production on these versions is cruder and the performance less honed, but the tracks' lack of commercial slickness reveals the raw spirit and soul of the songs. The digital remastering process has provided us with beautifully restored recordings rich in texture and raw detail. It's the aural equivalent of leaving an old coin in vinegar and pulling it out bright and shiny a few hours later, or watching an art restoration specialist painstakingly cleaning a classic painting to reveal new intensity and detail in the tones and colours.

I suddenly feared for my hearing as I realised that Blue Monday was next up. My eardrums had been fair grated by the freshly scrubbed textures of the old tracks and I was expecting my head to be blown apart by the new rendering of that oh-so-familiar disco beat intro... but I was wrong. It was there, clear and present, but well matched to the preceding tracks. The dynamic range had not been mashed into the upper decibels but the remastering engineer had instead gone to work on the tones and textures of the track, treating it as a song rather than a disco stomper. Refreshing.

Where the compilation starts to founder of course is when the original production becomes too slick and bland and digitally refined to make any difference on this re-release. Basically from "Regret" onwards. The original production is so saturated and compressed that there is nothing the remastering engineer can appreciably do except match the levels to the preceding tracks.

The final track, previously unreleased, was a fruity, liquour-soaked cherry on the otherwise slightly bland sugar frosting of New Order's post-Factory tracks. I like the newer albums well enough in their own right, but included on this compilation it sounds as different to Factory-era New Order as New Order does to Joy Division. But that era needed to be represented and the tracks were a strong, if obvious selection.

I like it. Looking forward to The Lost Sirens now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally Pointless., 8 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
In 1987 there was "Substance". That had a point : most of New Order's singles at that point hadn't been on any album. In 1994 there was "(The Best Of)" which had a couple of re-recordings on. In 1995 there was "(The Rest Of)" which was a bunch of remixes. In 2002, there was "International". And "Retro". In 2006 we had "Singles". In 2011, we have "Total". And I have had enough.

There's one new song here which is thoroughly average b-side fodder. The rest of the music is brilliant. And since "Blue Monday" sold something like 3,000,000 12" singles, and is also on all six of the 'Best of' records, there must be about 20 people that don't have a New Order song in some form. This then, is for them. If you want an introduction to a now split-up band or don't own any of their stuff then this is for you. The rest of you, and the band, should know better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Remastered sound, and includes 7" edit versions not released on CD before, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Memoryboy "Memoryboy" (San Francisco, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
Listen, this release is awesome, there are versions on here that have never been released on CD before.

"In a bid to offer existing fans something new compared to previously existing compilations the album included four never-before on CD versions of the bands tracks, including the original 7″ version of "True Faith" and Shep Pettibone's 7″ remix of "Bizarre Love Triangle". It also includes the shorter 4:24 edit of "The Perfect Kiss". All tracks were mastered from original source tapes by Frank Arkwright."

The sound quality is crisp, clean, nice bass, basically it is not brick walled and all the details are separate as it should be. It seems these days digital remastering is getting better and better in sound quality. People are finally learning how to do it right. Yay! All the Joy Division tracks sound great. And you can tell this is a new digital remaster. Better than even the most decent previous efforts on New Order and Joy Division re-releases and best of's.

Anyone ever wish that the Shep Pettibone 12" Remix of 'Bizarre Love Triangle' were also mixed in to a shorter 7" edit? Because that remix is damn long. Well, there actually was a 7" remix edit released back then. And it's here on CD for the first time. And it's not found on any other past New Order best of compilations. I always prefered Shep Pettibone's extended Remix of 'Bizarre Love Triangle' over the shorter original album version. I had no idea there was an edit of the Shep Pettibone 12" remix. I am so excited about this. It is far superior if you ask me, since the original version is missing some very important parts.

And how about 'True Faith'? Anyone ever feel that all the versions of that song were too long? I had always wished for a shorter edited version. Well it exists! It's here for the first time on CD. The 'True Faith' 7" Edit is basically a single version that was released back in the 80's, but it has never been released on CD ever, until now.

'The Perfect Kiss' is basically the single or album version, but this version included on here is an even shorter edit. I also had no idea this was ever released back in the day. AWESOME! It flows much better as a single version.

The remastering on this collection is the absolute best you will find anywhere up until now regarding New Order and Joy Division. The detail is meticulous, it's perfection. 'Blue Monday' finally get's the excellent remastering it always deserved. The remastering alone is worth the money, but the rare 7" versions are also a must have for collector's (most notably 'True Faith' 7" Edit and also 'Bizarre Love Triangle' Shep Pettibone 7" Remix Edit.)

I do not think 'Thieves Like Us' 7" edit version has been released on CD before, or at least on many past best of compilations. On here it is remastered so wonderfully. I think this 7" edit is only included on that dreadful sounding "Singles" collection from back in 2005. So the 'Thieves Like Us' single is also important.

Another worthy note is the 7" edit of 'Fine Time', which again I think was only included on the horribly remastered "Singles" CD from back in 2005. This new remaster sounds better than anything released up to this point by the band.

I think the most exciting track on here is the Remix Edit of "Bizarre Love Triangle", so awesome they released this. I also find the version of 'True Faith' on here to be exciting, because I have always felt certain New Order singles were way too long in length time. I prefer many of these 7" edits over the original album version's. Now if only there were a 7" edit of 'Blue Monday' that would be awesome. But of course I enjoy the original version of 'Blue Monday' just fine. It sounds great here. This release is worth it for the excellent digital remaster itself. This is a must have.

What some of you negative reviewers are missing is that the sound quality on this release is different than past releases. I have to say, regarding the new track.... I like the last track. The unreleased 'Hellbent'. It sounds like a single from their last album. Really very quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time fades away? Not here!, 8 May 2012
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
What a mixed bag of reviews here! As a fan all I will say is that even though I have all this stuff elsewhere except for Hellbent, it is really interesting to hear the music in this continuous sequence to show the progression of one band into the other, in particular Ceremony, right on the cusp between the two and an emotional memorial to the brilliance of Ian Curtis. Other standouts: She's Lost Control (need I say more?): Regret (I really had forgotten how good this was) and of course the best footie song ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Come Anywhere Near Me Again!, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
Picture the scene, a craggy faced man sits in a rickety rocking chair wreathed in cigarette smoke cradling the limp form of a chimpanzee on his knee, while a weary looking woman with wiry hair at the opposite end of a pink banquette quietly caresses the keys of an accordion. At the centre of the five sided room or space a second man, no bigger than the average nine year old, sways to the music with his one good eye closed and a single tear sliding slowly down his cheek. On the mantelpiece a mirror reflects the face of some being not actually present in the room itself, with eyes like Nosferatu, the nose of Karl Malden, and a mouth much the same as Muhammad Ali's. What could it all mean, you ask yourself, what could it all possibly mean? And then you stop looking for a moment, and listen instead, and the music the woman is playing is either 'Isolation' or 'True Faith' and it all becomes perfectly clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not much joy in the order, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
J. Sharp (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total (MP3 Download)
not enough Joy Division! The New Order tracks are okay, but repetitive as they are all in one block. Think it would have been better to have a 30/70 mix, and a more even distribution, although you can always use shuffle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total [From Joy Division to New Order] (Best Of), 11 July 2011
This review is from: Total: From Joy Division To New Order (Audio CD)
Excellent CD that spans the works of Joy Division and subsequently New Order after the death of Ian Curtis. Plenty of excellent songs as well as a few dodgy ones, but it does contain the John Barnes rap from englandneworder's World in Motion so this CD is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total: From Joy Division To New Order
Total: From Joy Division To New Order by Joy Division (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews