Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
This was the first book I had read by this author and I totally loved it! It's the first who-dunnit I have ever read that wasn't from the point of a detective. It really made you feel for the characters, dealing with the grief of tragedy hitting so close to home, wanting answers, whilst trying to get on with everyday life. She builds an intricate, totally believable story...
Published on 2 Jun 2012 by Dibdob4

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disappointment!!
I picked up Kate Pepper's "Seven Minutes To Noon," curious to see if she was able to capture the urban Brooklyn setting I am so familiar with as a New Yorker. She does indeed succeed in bringing the area vividly to life - Carroll Park, Carroll Gardens, Cobble Hill with its green and leafy brownstone-lined streets and upscale shops, the results of many gentrification...
Published on 24 Aug 2005 by Jana L. Perskie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disappointment!!, 24 Aug 2005
I picked up Kate Pepper's "Seven Minutes To Noon," curious to see if she was able to capture the urban Brooklyn setting I am so familiar with as a New Yorker. She does indeed succeed in bringing the area vividly to life - Carroll Park, Carroll Gardens, Cobble Hill with its green and leafy brownstone-lined streets and upscale shops, the results of many gentrification projects which have sent real estate prices soaring. The book would be near perfect if Ms. Pepper's suspense thriller storyline mirrored her flair for descriptive writing. Unfortunately, it does not. Her writing is laborious and the pace plods. The conclusion is weak, not very credible at all, and threads are left dangling. Truthfully, beach reads like this one are a dime a dozen on today's market. (This is not a derogatory statement about light fiction. I am talking about quality and being a selective reader). This novel is mediocre, at best. From her descriptive style, character development, knowledge of children and the ability to capture their antics on the printed page, I think Kate Pepper is talented enough to improve her storytelling, tighten up her narrative, pick up her pace considerably and come up with a winner. This one is definitely not!

The plot basics concern Alice Halpern, homemaker, shoe store co-owner, mother of young Peter and Nell, wife to Mike, and pregnant with twins on the way. She waits to have coffee with friend Lauren, also pregnant, in her last month. They planned to meet in Carroll Park today and then pick up their children from school together. Lauren doesn't show. And when she finally does, she is a corpse, the baby torn from her womb and missing. Later the police mention to Alice that her friend is not the first pregnant woman to go missing in the neighborhood. As the story progresses, Alice begins to fear for herself and her unborn babies. As she approaches her ninth month she senses that she is being stalked. As her previously safe middle class existence turns into a world of nightmares, keeping the twins safe becomes her overwhelming priority.

I think the audience for this type of "domestic" mystery is limited to women, since much of the narrative not dealing with crime is devoted to pregnancy, birth, child rearing, women's friendships and midlife crises, etc.. I really cannot recommend "Seven Minutes To Noon," but will take a look at Kate Pepper's next novel when it hits the shelves. I wish her good luck!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Dibdob4 (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book I had read by this author and I totally loved it! It's the first who-dunnit I have ever read that wasn't from the point of a detective. It really made you feel for the characters, dealing with the grief of tragedy hitting so close to home, wanting answers, whilst trying to get on with everyday life. She builds an intricate, totally believable story that kept me guessing right until the end. I couldn't read the last few chapters fast enough. Have just bought all her other titles- lets' hope it's not a one off!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chick-lit tension builder, 8 July 2012
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
"Seven Minutes to Noon" is an early Katia Lief novel, dating from 2005, originally published under the name of Kate Pepper. Fans of this highly prolific author's later books (such as "You Are Next") now turning to her earlier works in the hope of finding the same evocative scene-setting will not be disappointed, at least as far as the atmospherics are concerned. Here, she conjures a perfect image of the leafy brown-stone housing areas of Brooklyn and portrays superbly the life-style values and priorities of its modern up-market urbanites. When it comes to handling the thriller aspects of the story, you can tell that this is an early work.

As the book proceeds, it portrays well the personal responses and concerns of the main protagonist and very convincingly leads the reader into the mind of a heavily pregnant mother of two in the days following the disappearance and subsequent murder of her best friend, herself in the last month of pregnancy. Simple domestic concerns are replaced with confusion, fear and paranoia, all of which build steadily as events unfold and the tension mounts.

Sadly, the story is let down by a less than credible and overly convoluted murder plot with more threads than can be tied off satisfactorily and with too many unbelievable aspects along the way. Also, in trying to avoid a predictable or hackneyed conclusion, the author seems to have opted for no real conclusion at all, depriving the reader the satisfaction of closure at the end. As a chick-lit novel with an air of tension, the book has its merits; as a murder mystery, it is something of a mess and at times highly frustrating. As a book, it is probably best saved for the beach, or some other occasion when all you need is something light to pass the time. And if you happen to be pregnant yourself, I would recommend giving it a miss altogether!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars None, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
I was disappointed with this book. It started off well but then beceme far-fetched verging on boring. Lief brought the location to life but the plot let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have read for months, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
I am an avid reader, I get through about 3 books a week. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it is captivating. I will be looking out for more by the same author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me guessing right to the end, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I've read a novel by Katia Lief and thoroughly enjoyed it and my first experience using my kindle. The suspense of 'who did it' was kept right to the end and I've since purchased other titles by this author. A great read that had me in tears on occasions and brought my recent trip to New York back to life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite writers, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
I just love all Katia Lief's books, very compelling reading, wonderful. Just could not put the book down every spare minute I had I was reading the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 11 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
A clever plot & interesting characters make for a gripping read. Only weakness is the Epilogue which involves a massive coincidence making it totally unbelievable.
Better omitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
First book I have read by this author, lots of twists, gets you thinking, trying to solve it. Couldn't put it down. The only let down was the ending, to much of a coincidence......in the back of beyond....really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A PAGE TURNER, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Minutes to Noon (Kindle Edition)
Great thrilling read. Kept me guessing all along. Plausible characters. First read by this author. Has made me download more of her titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Minutes to Noon
Seven Minutes to Noon by Katia Lief
2.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews