Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting
This book certainly opened my eyes about the Royal Family. Felt so sad for that poor woman. If you are interested in European Royalty this is the book for you. It's Royal Babylon gone extreme
Published 21 months ago by Aoife

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting, but familiar read.
Like most of these books, this text takes you through many of the (now well known) stories in Diana’s life - namely the eating disorder, the suicide attempts, the collapse of the “Royal Fairytale”, including the incessant influence of Camilla Parker-Bowles. This is perhaps a more personal account than other such texts, given that it is based on...
Published on 18 Aug 2002 by Christine Medway


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent insight into the life of a tragic princess, 19 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story (Hardcover)
Diana has been my idol since I was five years old (that was when she came into the lime light as bride to be to the heir to the British throne in 1981). Since then I have always collected and read everything I could about this most prominent royal. But of all the books I have read, no book has ever come as close to her as this one.
In this book we see her motherly nature which is visible from the age of 7 when she mothered her then younger brother Charles, during the seperation of her parents. Her aspirations to be a ballerina, the way she idolized her elder sister, the loneliness she felt when her father remarried.
We also learn about the school girl who was not very good in her studies, but was loved much by her teachers and friends because of her kind heart. Morton vividly takes us through her teenage years, and her life in London. Where she lived with four of her friends and was known as the Chief Chick.
The book excellently descibes her love for Charles, and her heart break when she hears about Camilla Parker Bowles, and her last minute apprehensions to go ahead with the wedding on her wedding eve.
All in all the book makes a very realistic portrait of one of the worlds most loved royals. It portrays her as a caring person, a doting mother to her boys, and a starry eyed bride. All in all a person with dreams and hopes for her life and her children just like all of us. A person who went to no end to make life normal for her boys, to put up with her husbands infedilities and to please the royal family.

This is far away the best book on Diana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Manipulative rubbish, 10 Sep 2008
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story (Hardcover)
This ill-written tract succeeded in making me feel less sympathy for its subject that I felt before - the very opposite of its aim.

Diana comes across as totally unstable, gullible, nasty, and tediously self-pitying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana her true storey, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This arrived very quick, an excellent book I have not been able to put it down, sorry I did not buy when it 1st came out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars repeated its self a bit, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
This book repeated its self abit . But it was a good a book. Not sure if I would read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars product arrived very quickly and in excellent condition, 13 Oct 2010
the product was brand new as promised and arrived very speedily. no problems with this supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
Interesting as I find with all books about Diana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting as a social study, sad as a breech of privacy, 17 Jan 2012
I found this book to be very noisy, if i could say so. The register is mundane and mercantile, it uses the cliches of the moment and its main intention is to shock and perpetuate rumours. It uses all the familiar themes of the moment and the latest ideas that preoccupy the semi-cultural, semi-fashionable world. I think the noise of the book stems from the attention it pays to the rumours and scandals of our days and its end is to reflect and increase them. It seeks to provoke scandal but the kind everybody tastes, full of cynicism, sex and conspiracies. The violence scenes in the book are simply useless for the real action and only serve to please the bored reader. Also, the book is full of more or less masked publicity. I didn't like it as a biography or a pleasant read, but from the moment I decided to read it as a social study, so to speak, I thought it was very interesting to observe how mass media creates a figure and how the same source can destroy a public image. The public surely loved Diana and appreciated her philanthropy, and books on her private life don't do her justice, since I really believe that even public personalities are entitled to privacy and peace, especially postmortem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Morton book on Princess Diana, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story (Paperback)
Read this when it first came out before Diana died, now it is a different 'kind of read', and I liked it better the 2nd time around !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love to read, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
This is more or less what we already know about Diana, but still is a good read. Obviously told from Diana,s point of view, but still worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this book, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
such a good read highly recommend its a book that you can not put down when you start reading it.
It is a real eye opener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews