Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read. Millie Maxwell, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Enjoyed this book. Although I knew many of the facts gleaned from newspapers and media reports, this gives you an insight into just what Princess Diana was up against, finding integration into the Royal Family impossible She received no help whatsoever, and was just thrown in at the deep end.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. M. Maxwell

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating at times
It was certainly a good read and very shocking to hear about how she was treated by the royal family but I would have appreciated a more factual account highlighting her mistakes as well. It literally skimmed over her affairs and seemed to revere her as if she was a saint which I don't think paints an accurate view of her life.
Published 11 months ago by Poonum Johal


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was an amazing read but such a sad story. I didn't know how much she went through physically and emotionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diana R.I.P., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable book! Well worth a read .... I learned a lot about Diana from this book. Such a sad and lonely life for a lady that seemed to have people and the media around her all of the time. My impression from this book is that she was the lonliest lady I have ever known. Good book .... very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A tragic story, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
I never read this book when it was first published despite outrage in Royal circles and deep hostility towards the book's author, Andrew Morton. It was only after Diana's death in August 1997 that it was republished 'in her own words' making it clear that the book had her full co-operation. She speaks about her unhappy childhood after her parents divorced and her father's remarriage to her step-mother who she hated. After this unhappy start in life, she was then perhaps too young and naive for marriage at the age of 19 to Prince Charles. She was quite happy at that time living her life as a private individual with her friends in a flat in London and working as a kindergarten teacher. She expresses her deep misgivings about her marriage to Prince Charles even before their wedding day and was warned by her mother that the Royal Family's lifestyle may not suit her. Her subsequent deep unhappiness because of Prince Charles's love affair with Camilla Parker Bowles and indifference to her meant her marriage was doomed from the outset. Instead it became obvious to her very early on that she was cynically being used as a 'brood mare' to produce an heir and a spare. To make matters worse, she felt deep confusion at being propelled into the media spotlight without any support from the Royal Family and jealousy from her husband at being overshadowed by her popularity with the public. Her fragile emotional state led to her bulimia and suicide attempts. Despite all this she was courageous with the charities she supported, such as AIDS, the homeless and support of landmine victims. She clearly grew into her role as Princess of Wales and demonstrated that she was kind, compassionate and a deeply intuitive woman with a sense of destiny. These qualities greatly influenced her sons and their upbringing and left a lasting legacy which has impacted the current monarchy and the way it has had to reinvent itself since her death. Her story, although a tragic one, touched all who knew her personally and those of her public who were deeply affected by her suffering and untimely death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So very touching, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
Touching and tragic tale very much enjoyed - that said some more meat on the bones would have made it better very brief in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad sad sad, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. P. Littler "Polly" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
I read the original book and was glad to see it has been updated. I still feel the sadness now as I did the first time I read it. Just as Diana was thinking of her new life it was taken away from her .But her legacy lives on in her two boys and
they have grown up as she wished them to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down. My first biography and what a tale - hard to believe the monarchy could behave in this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good - even though you think you know the story, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
there's stuff you knew and some bits that are surprising. worth the read after 13 years since her untimely death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good read, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
It jumped about too much I did not find it a good read at all and deleted it from my kindle before the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
this was excellent reading couldn't put this down, shows just what she had to put up with, don't know how she did it, such a shame she had to die so young
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth buying, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
I am very disappointed with this book. It is so repetitive. It starts with what seems like word for word scripts of tapes Diana recorded. The rest of the book is just repeating what she has already said. More and more of the same thing. I even began to wonder if there was a mistake transferring it onto Kindle as I felt as though I was reading sections of the book several times over. Just not worth the bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews