Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting
This book certainly opened my eyes about the Royal Family. Felt so sad for that poor woman. If you are interested in European Royalty this is the book for you. It's Royal Babylon gone extreme
Published 22 months ago by Aoife

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting, but familiar read.
Like most of these books, this text takes you through many of the (now well known) stories in Diana’s life - namely the eating disorder, the suicide attempts, the collapse of the “Royal Fairytale”, including the incessant influence of Camilla Parker-Bowles. This is perhaps a more personal account than other such texts, given that it is based on...
Published on 18 Aug 2002 by Christine Medway


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting, but familiar read., 18 Aug 2002
By 
Like most of these books, this text takes you through many of the (now well known) stories in Diana’s life - namely the eating disorder, the suicide attempts, the collapse of the “Royal Fairytale”, including the incessant influence of Camilla Parker-Bowles. This is perhaps a more personal account than other such texts, given that it is based on tape-recorded interviews that Diana herself gave to Morton in the early 90’s.
Despite its ample publicity, I wouldn’t rush out to buy this book – there aren’t actually many surprises in here. Most of it reiterates what we have already heard numerous times in the media. In many ways it is a sad and arguably incomplete version of her life, but does touch upon some interesting discussion points, particularly around the position of the traditional monarchy in modern society, Diana’s image both in life and in death, and what “the people” (continue to) bring to such matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating at times, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
It was certainly a good read and very shocking to hear about how she was treated by the royal family but I would have appreciated a more factual account highlighting her mistakes as well. It literally skimmed over her affairs and seemed to revere her as if she was a saint which I don't think paints an accurate view of her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story (Hardcover)
Starts of with a sycophantic piece by Morton and then goes into Diana's "own words" - short sentences that contradict statements made in the previous paragraph. Felt unhinged and endlessly self pitying. Virtually unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Aoife (Dublin, IRE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book certainly opened my eyes about the Royal Family. Felt so sad for that poor woman. If you are interested in European Royalty this is the book for you. It's Royal Babylon gone extreme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good insight, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After all these years and the Diana mania has died down I read this book and found it fascinating. She clearly wasn't able to cope with Royal life and Prince Charles' indifference to her, but then again, she could not have been easy to live with.
Had she not have been married to a future King she could have walked away from it.
Don't wish for what you dream for, it may come true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read. Millie Maxwell, Port Elizabeth, South Africa, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book. Although I knew many of the facts gleaned from newspapers and media reports, this gives you an insight into just what Princess Diana was up against, finding integration into the Royal Family impossible She received no help whatsoever, and was just thrown in at the deep end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words (Kindle Edition)
It is interesting to read all we have heard in the popular press put into its proper context, but this is more of a hagiography than a biography, and there are some glaring omissions. Whatever happened to her supposed fling with Pakistani heart surgeon Hasnat Khan? It merited not a single mention. That alone throws doubt on the veracity of the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 10 May 2013
By 
Clarey R (Leeds. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most of this I have heard or read before but still enjoyed it. Worth a read if you're not familiar with the Diana era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First part is great, second part boring, 24 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved reading the first part of the book, written/spoken by Diana but then after a few chapters it changes, as it is written by some one else and it gets very boring.

Shame as i really wanted to read all about Diana's life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diana, 5 May 2010
By 
Lez (Newcastle upon Tyne. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying this book (just purchased). Wasn't bothered about it when it first came out but after seeing a programme on television I thought that I would like to read it. Pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews