Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars32
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2011
I have to say after purchasing bootlegs of Slaughter High aka April Fools Day years ago, this is the best I have ever seen this movie! The filming is even much better than that bogus Liongates Lost collection. Arrow has created April Fools Day(as it was earlier named before naming it Slaughter High)into a real movie. No dark filming as in the previous filming where you cant even see the actors well! This time we can actually see them with the bright photage Arrow Video provides! The features are also better than Liongates with interviews by Mark Ezra and Caroline Munro, along with a booklet pertaining to the movie itself, and commentaries as well! Thanks Arrow for returning the original title to Slaughter High, APRIL FOOLS DAY again! May this new UK make of Slaughter High remember the memory of Simon Scuddamore, for the role he played as the nerd Marty, to where he tragedly took his own life because of drug abuse. RIP Simon Scuddamore! APRIL FOOLS DAY is BACK thanks to ARROW VIDEO!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
This film brings back great memories of the horror films of the 70's & 80's,So much so that i still have the original vhs released by vestron videos.In my opinion not all films of that era age well,This film does not show it's age at all,It's just a fun horror film that probably is best enjoyed with a few friends and some beer.One or two of the murders are really something different,Especially the one involving a bed and an electric current.The one slight draw back with this film is on a couple of occasions the sound dips a little bit, But don't let that put you off,This is just a thoroughly enjoyable horror film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
This is yet again another awesome slasher movie from the 80s, one of the best I think, the story is your typical kid gets picked on by the other students and plots his revenge years later at the high school reunion!! There are lots of bloody kills and great gore and make-up effects, the film is scored by Harry Manfradini who did a lot of music for the Friday the 13th movies so its very good and always keeping you in suspense! If you love 80s horror films then this must be in your collection, arrow films have given it a great release it deserves with some good features too including commentaries!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Slaughter High has everything you're looking for in a comically bad horror film: a horrible script, a veritable plague of bad acting, terrible cinematography (it's not uncommon for the screen to go completely black for 15-20 seconds at a time), some enjoyable and even halfway creative killings, a little gratuitous nudity (although very little, in the case of this film), and of course a patented "they should have ended the movie five minutes sooner" ending. Slaughter High is also quite informative. Did you know, for example, that April Fool's Day ends at noon?

Let's begin at the beginning. Marty Rantzen (Simon Scuddamore) is a nerd; there can be no doubt about that. I was a nerd in high school too, but Marty is in a league of his own. He actually believes class babe Carol Manning (Caroline Munro) when she leads him into the girls' locker room and tells him she wants to - well, you know. The poor dope. It's just a setup, of course, resulting in one of the most embarrassing moments imaginable. Unfortunately, that's just the warm-up act for Marty on this particular day. The pièce de résistance leaves him physically and mentally scarred for life. A few years later, all of Marty's tormentors return to the school for a high school reunion. Despite the fact that no other classmates show up at the old, abandoned school house, this gang of friends waits outside all day before finally breaking into the building to reminisce, drink, smoke weed, and sniff lines. Like roaches in a roach motel, they check in but they don't check out. For reasons I certainly cannot explain, they find themselves trapped inside the building - and with a homicidal maniac, at that. One by one, they all meet grisly ends as Marty exacts his revenge for what they did to him. A couple of the killings, as I've mentioned, are actually rather impressive - especially given the film's obviously low budget. They are not overly graphic, though, so you don't have to worry about turning away if you're squeamish - and you certainly don't have to worry about feeling any remorse for the victims because they are all as unlikeable as they are shallow. I was rooting Marty on all the way.

Why these dolts don't find one of the school's many windows and break the glass to escape is just one of many oddities in the story. Why, for example, is a custodian still taking care of the place several years after it was abandoned - and why would he be roaming the halls so late on the night in question? Why does the building still have power and water? Why is there a bathtub in the ladies' locker room? Then there's the whole April Fool's Day ends at noon thing. These people actually convince themselves, with no debate whatsoever, that they'll be safe if they can just hold out until noon the next day. This whole noon rule certainly wasn't in effect the day they ruined Marty's life back in high school, as all of those pranks took place after the school day was over. It's almost as if the actors are making things up as they go along - they really say and do some pretty inane things.

As you probably know, there are two kinds of bad movies, and Slaughter House is definitely of the "so bad it's good" variety. It's a definite "must see" for lovers of bad horror movies, and that is the sole reason I'm giving it four stars. One can only hope that the film will finally be released on DVD at some point.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
A group of popular students play a cruel prank on a shy nerd resulting in a terrible accident.

Years later a reunion is held where each of the students face a stalker killer who may be the same nerd out for revenge...

The thing about this movie is that it comes as no surprise who the killer is right from the moment we see him with his glasses on.

When he is revealed, there is one kid wearing a jester mask for no reason, I wonder what he will wear at the reunion? After the accident, we cut forward to an abandoned place where these guys have been invited, and lots of their trinkets have been found.

It's a mixed bag of kids, one is 35 and one now resides on Emmerdale.

It's a fun movie though, quite gory for a movie like this, and what makes the movie more macabre is the fact that the actor who played Marty, Simon Scuddamore, took his own life soon after completing this.

Acting is okay, and although the ending is bizarre (it reminded me of Thriller) it's a welcome entry into the stalk and slash genre.

Hopefully this won't be remade...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
We used to hire this film out all the time in our younger day. A great, typical Slasher Movie of its day. Hammy acting, predictable in places but a great blast from the past.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This releases brought lost horror to life again. Good covers, restored design and good extras. The ones released only on dvd should be done on blu-ray too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Loved this film,Low budget 80's slasher cult classic!!Fast shipping,would recommend and use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
the us version of this film was originally supposed to be released in widescreen,
but noooooo, we got a bare-bones, we-don't-care-what-you-think fullscreen trivia
track featured release.

this new uk version is much better and at a fair price. this one is in widscreen and completely uncut and uncensored. i love the menacing cover-art.

by the way, i am from the united states in Nampa,Idaho.

this release is better considering the special features.

UPDATE=UPDATE=UPDATE! 5/26/12

i just recently bought the arrow video print of this film and it is the original intended version with the original title card of "april fools day" mark ezra intended and all because paramount studio's in the usa(my country)
decided to indulge in some copyright funny business over the title card for themselves for their own version of this film which i have seen before and no longer respect( shame on you paramount pictures!!!).

lions gate wouldn't even tell the truth about how simone scuddamore died(apparent intentional cocaine overdose/suicide!). lions gate usa just recently threw their edition out of print though there are copies still avaliable. for those in the usa, get an all region dvd player and buy this version and throw away that lions gate trash, because even the sex/execution scene is visible in this edition while the lions gate version is darkened-up
to make it hard to see. over the last few years, i have decided to quit buying us dvds of my favorite classic and modern horror films when the region 2 prints are of better quality transfers, packaging, extras and other goodies
included. in the usa lions gate, paramount, stars/anchor bay, and sometimes even code red, and surprisingly blue-underground will get a few things wrong with some of their releases.

do your research very well or try waiting for a better release and be patient.
1111 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
This has got to be one of my favourite horror flicks!! I can remember watching it at a Halloween party with my friends back whilst I was in school and I`ve never forgotten it.
Synopsis: After a bunch of school friends played a April Fools day prank on school geek Marty Rantzen, he was covered in acid and left scarred for life. Suddenly years later, the friends are invited to a high school reunion on none other than April 1st. Now the school is closed, and the schoolmates remember the old days and reminisce about the good times. However someone lurks the school corridors and one by one the slaughter begins.
But who is killing evryone? Could it be Marty getting his revenge?
The acting isn`t too bad. The music is the best part though. Once you hear the music, you can`t take the film seriously. The dialogue is hilarious and the weird part was when the asian girl was in the bath and turned on the taps for acid to come out, she managed to stand up to escape, but in the next scene she had lied back down again in the acid. And when one of the guys drank acid from a beer can and his stomach exploded, the sound of one of the girls screaming came after her mouth had opened and closed!!! But also it was hard to believe that they were High school students at first because they all looked so old.
This one`s a must for lovers of cheesy horror flicks!!
But I`m still confused as to whether they all died or not as Marty woke up at the end. Did they die or not??
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)