Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Norton
First of all anti-virus software always slows your computer down. I don't know why people write reviews commenting out that. What is important is how much does this software slow you computer down in comparison to Norton or Symantec or whatever you are using.

I have found this program superior in all respects of performance; it does not slow you computer down...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by J. Murdoch

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Anti Virus Only.
Keeping yourself and your computer safe is something that has become increasingly important with more and more of our lives taking place on line.

I work in the IT industry and for years have kept myself safe by ensuring that my PC and the applications I use are always as up to date with patches as possible, backed up by anti virus products available free (e.g...
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by S. Horrigan


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS EASY AS ABC., 8 April 2012
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
IF IT WASNT FOR THE GOOD REVIEWS, I MIGHT HAVE THOUGHT THIS WAS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, BUT A FEW CLICKS OF THE BUTTON AND 2 DAYS LATER IT ARRIVED. VERY HAPPY. SAVED ME QUITE A FEW QUID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good at what it does, and it does it well, 25 Oct 2011
By 
gadget girl "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
a good easy to use anti virus , it seems to do its job automatically blocking all unwanted viruses ect from your pc, worth its money ,i however prefer the internet security suite just because i feel safer alround and like to scan external devices myself. both great value and very good, both seam to stop everything from bothering you and they update regularly against new threats. the antivirus of choice in my book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doesn't slow your computer down but at what cost?, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Silverfrog (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to say that having used Kaspersky now for the last few years I have now gone off Norton. I find the performance is at least equal to that of Norton and it doesn't slow my PC down. I've especially had problems with netbook protection with Norton previously but having seen the rewards for Kaspersky may now convert to using this on the netbook instead but will use the complete internet protection version. I've never had any intrusions on my computer using Kaspersky however there can always be a first time. I have heard on another site that it doesn't do well with Phishing protection too but as it's the only software protection on the computer it's hard to tell if there is an issue or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing provider, cheap and seamless, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Of the virus checkers that are good, i.e. you dont know they are running. This has to be the cheapest, especially for a 3 PC licence. With the increasing cometition amongst security software manufacturers coupled with the increasing equality in the product (i.e. there mostly identical now) this is perhaps the best buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No firewall with this product, 14 Sep 2011
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sadly this is *just* an anti-virus, there is no (software) firewall included so you would have to depend on the standard Vista/Windows 7 firewall. Kaspersky do sell an 'internet security' package which does include the firewall and additional safe-parenting controls. Still, there is a market for these basic anti-virus programs. They allow minimum intrusion and thus don't affect system performance as much as some of the other products on the market. It's all down to the user's requirements. Kaspersky is a well-renowned brand and offers top-notch performance. To this end I can always recommend their products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Russian Norton?, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Kaspersky, like Symantec (Norton) and McAfee, are names synonymous with `PC protection'. I sometimes wonder what would happen if there were no longer any virus's left to protect against. Perhaps companies be forced to create their own, then offer the protection...

As a long-time sceptic, I view the anti-virus industry as part watchdog, part `snake oil salesman'.
The sheer number of products/versions available, the fancy packaging and the latest, sometimes contrived features - can be mind-blowing.

Dispite the above, I consider Kapersky one of the good guys. Founded in 1997 by Natalya Ivanovna Kasperskaya and ex-husband Eugene, it's the only Russian company that holds a place on a list of the world's top 100 software companies by revenue (ranked at number 76 in 2008). It is still way behind the likes of Norton & McAfee.

The software:
The interface is relatively clean and easy to navigate. This version is lacking some of the features of Kaspersky Internet Security (a few pounds more but worth it) such as 'two-way firewall' and 'robust anti-spam protection' (not that I believe they are necessary for every day PC use.

One of the more impressive features is 'virtual keyboard' that stops key logging programs and various other nasties.

However, the deal breaker for me is that nothing, absolutely nothing comes close to Norton's Identity Safe. It is a mystery why something similar has not been developed.

I also consider this package to be slightly pointless when the 'Internet Security' version is only slightly more expensive but allows safe surfing which alerts the user to potentially malicious websites. Also, Norton's Identity Safe has now been upgraded to work in Google Chrome and it's around the same price.

In summary - a good solid product but for around the same price Norton will remember your precious log-in details and payment information and place them in a secure vault in a fast and efficient manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and solid, 30 Aug 2011
By 
S. Duncan "SED" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the perfect and inexpensive household anti-virus solution from Kaspersky. It does not include a firewall, providing a simple anti-virus solution alone. To that end, Kaspersky offers among the best of its kind.
It is simple to install, taking only a few minutes, and immediately checks for latest to ensure you have the best release available. In addition, the latest virus definitions are updated. Make sure you allow the updates to take place to ensure that your computer(s) are properly protected from the latest known viruses. These are updated automatically every day once the software is installed.
Once installed it will run quietly in the background.
I used this product on my daughter's laptop after she had forgotten to replace her out of date virus checker and it was infected with a rather nasty virus, masquerading as a virus checker which failed to let her access vital university study notes. Kaspersky dealt with the virus, removing all traces and disinfected the laptop without fuss, leaving her original data accessible again. All her programs are working fine again and a valuable lesson was learned.
An excellent and reliable product which, with the daily updates applied will protect from viruses efficiently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No real improvements over 2011, but still the best AV money can buy,, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Clashcity Rocker "Clashcity Rocker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Always rated Kaspersky AV products highly, it has a very decent detection rate, and most importantly it does not grind your PC to a crawl (like some other well known AV products), most importantly, it's also competitively priced. This pack will keep 3x PC's protected for a year, so it's pretty good value for a multi-PC household.

Normally I would downrate a product that's updated every year with little or no changes, but in this case, it's forgiveable, it was already a winning formula and they haven't messed with that.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY! Get Kaspersky Internet Security instead!, 28 Aug 2011
By 
A. Williams "Barry Fan" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've used Kaspersky products for the past few years and have never had an issue. They are easy to use, not intrusive and give great protection. The number of virus/trojans it has quarantined is rather worrying - you don't realise how risky using the internet is for the health of your PC.

The number of awards they've won should give you confidence that your PC will be safe.

HOWEVER - Do NOT buy this product. Currently on Amazon (28/08/2011) it is cheaper to buy the "Kaspersky Internet Security" package which gives all the protection of the Antivirus product plus lots more.

You'd be a fool to buy this instead of the other package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good all round package that works on all computers even less powerful ones, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Richard Pearn "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Kaspersy internet security 2012 is the latest incarnation of this popular security suite. Only a few things have changed since the 2011 version the most notably the access to the Cloud system database. The Cloud system is a backbone of servers linking the internet together. Kaspersky can access the databases and pre-empt a virus attack before it even happens. This is a valuable feature and well worth upgrading for alone. The interface has also got significantly simpler which is no bad thing. Most of us just want to load security software and let it get on with it. All the regularly used features are on the top level such as scan etc with the more customisable items in the settings menu system. It is very easy to use and in my simple tests works very well. On my main machine, an i5 based computer with 6Gb of RAM running Windows 7 64bit, running Kaspersky showed no evidence of slow down. The software deals with its own housekeeping and no technical knowledge is needed to use it. Just load and let it get on with protecting your system. Gone are the days of answering loads of security messages and not having a clue what to do with them. Norton which I have on another machine is just as good but does slow processes down much more than Kaspersky. On my test viruses Kaspersky got them all and took the most appropriate action to deal with them so it works as well as any other software for this function. There are several bonus functions that are very useful, for example the system can remember passwords as a text string so you don't have to type them in each time. This is not just for the lazy but saves typing on the keyboard and defeats any key logging software that may have been inadvertently installed. It has an intelligent scanning system that does not hog resources and its scans are quite fast compared to what was offered a few years ago. To sum up, Kaspersky Internet Security 2012 is a powerful package that gets the job done with little or no user intervention. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone. Having run it for 3 weeks now it has stopped lots of attacks and does this without bombarding the user with questions. You can simply load it and let it get on with it. In independant magazine reviews it has come out top or near the top for full protection scurity. A very useful and reassuring product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2686984)

This product

Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC)
Kaspersky Anti Virus 2012 3 PC, 1 year license (PC) by Kaspersky Lab (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews