Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Norton
First of all anti-virus software always slows your computer down. I don't know why people write reviews commenting out that. What is important is how much does this software slow you computer down in comparison to Norton or Symantec or whatever you are using.

I have found this program superior in all respects of performance; it does not slow you computer down...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by JM

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Anti Virus Only.
Keeping yourself and your computer safe is something that has become increasingly important with more and more of our lives taking place on line.

I work in the IT industry and for years have kept myself safe by ensuring that my PC and the applications I use are always as up to date with patches as possible, backed up by anti virus products available free (e.g...
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by S. Horrigan


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Norton, 7 Sep 2011
By 
JM (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all anti-virus software always slows your computer down. I don't know why people write reviews commenting out that. What is important is how much does this software slow you computer down in comparison to Norton or Symantec or whatever you are using.

I have found this program superior in all respects of performance; it does not slow you computer down as much as other anti-virus software and, in my opinion, the updates are faster and the protection better than Norton with out a bunch of stuff you don't necessarily need or want.

Pros:
- Lets my system run more smoothly (in comparison to Norton)
- Less intrusive. It just works without telling me everything it does!
- Easy to install and configure (on Windows 7)
- Good level of protection (always hard to gauge but I haven't had any problems, at all)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't got the firewall or parental control of Kapersky's Internet Security 2012, but good & fast malware/anti-virus protection, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Now that Kasperky Anti-virus 2013 is out, often this old 2012 version is far cheaper - and it will update to the latest 2013 version on installation. Computer Shopper recently rated Kasperky Internet Security 2013 the best they had tested for malware protection. This Kapersky Anti-virus 2012 offers a 3-licence protection for 3 PCs (all three licences count down the 365 days after the first install activation). Unlike 'Kaperksy Internet Security 2012', this 'Kapersky Antivirus 2012' lacks a firewall and parental controls, and relies on Windows less effective inbuilt firewall. It installed on our Windows 7 64-bit PC and laptops OK, and quickly updated itself to the lastest version. It also installed a pretty Kapersky widget on the desktop.

The front end of Kaspersky has a classy feel and it doesn't seem to have much of a hit on PC speed when gaming, which my teenage son and I do a lot - although I haven't noticed it to be much different to Norton 360 in that respect (which my son still uses on his main gaming desktop PC). PCPro have 'A listed' Bitdefender Internet Security 2013 or the freebie Avast Free Anti-virus in preference to Kasperky, but Kaspersky's Antivirus also scored very highly for malware and virus protection. All three of our Kasperky Anti-virus 2012 installs are running smoothly 3 months on, so we rate it 4* for value. As usual it's far far cheaper buying this anti-virus via Amazon than direct from Kaperksy, so order an a new install licence well before the 365 days are up (you just have type the new install code into your account to renew the licence when it expires).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can use the License key for anti-virus 2014, 26 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
I purchased a copy of this software for my laptop and then realised that I have a Windows 8 laptop and this software only works on Window 7 and below. However, you can download an update to Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2014 and it will accept you license key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No complaints, solid anti-virus software., 6 Nov 2011
By 
Sam "kingathon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I must admit that when using anti-virus software I have three basic requirements: 1) There are no annoying pop-ups. 2) The software does not slow the performance of the computer significantly. 3 most importantly) It protects my computer from viruses.

So I guess I shall briefly comment on how Kapersky performs on each of these counts:

1) There are no annoying pop-ups. I shall add a caveat of 'yet' to that sentence as I realise that the annoying pop-ups tend to occur towards the end of the expiry period of the license and I haven't reached the end of that year yet.

2) The computer's performance does not appear to have been noticeably slowed, although when the product is performing a scan there is a slight overall reduction in performance. In addition there was a brief period during which my computer did slow down, but it has now returned to normal and I cannot be sure as to the cause of this problem.

3) My computer has caught no viruses whilst using the product.

Therefore on all of these counts the software has performed well and met my expectations of an anti-virus software. I therefore cannot award the product any lower than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Efficient, 15 Sep 2011
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great value and efficient for the increasing multi PC owning home. This is my second time of having a Kaspersky security package and as before we've found it to be highly effective and only slightly intrusive, meaning that unless you have a state of the art computer you are always going to notice your processor slowing down when the anti virus scan is operational. The real time protection is good too, so far it seems to have blocked every malware thrown at it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Anti Virus Only., 27 Aug 2011
By 
S. Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Keeping yourself and your computer safe is something that has become increasingly important with more and more of our lives taking place on line.

I work in the IT industry and for years have kept myself safe by ensuring that my PC and the applications I use are always as up to date with patches as possible, backed up by anti virus products available free (e.g. Microsoft Security Essentials) and by being very aware of the types of social engineering that is used to get you to open and unwittingly install scareware and malware on your PC. I have never wanted a full "internet security suite". Personally I prefer a lightweight Anti-Virus package backed up with a hardware firewall and by taking sensible precautions with my own behaviour when online. This set up also tends to have the lowest impact on system performance when gaming.

Onto this product:

This is an anti virus product only (despite what it says in the product description). It does not offer an integral firewall, or parental controls etc. This for me though was exactly what I was looking for, but obviously for some people the additional peace of mind of a full internet security suite may be more appropriate.

Installation was simple. The product detected that there was a newer version available online than was supplied on the CD and offered to install that (a 149 mb download) rather than you having to upgrade later. The whole process took less than five minutes.

Once installed the product placed a very large Widget in the Windows side-bar. Fortunately this can be closed and you can control the product from the small icon in the system tray.

I decided to run some start up and shut down performance tests comparing Kaspersky to Microsoft Security Essentials, to a clean system. For reference, my couple of year old PC runs the 64bit version of Windows 7, an E8500 dual core processor, an Nvidia GTX 460, 4 gig ram, and has a SSD Solid State boot disk. Basically it is reasonably powerful but no longer state of the art. The figures below are the average of three boots and three shut downs for each test. The start up is from pressing the power button to being able to open Google. The shut down is from pressing "shut down" to the power switching off.

No Anti Virus: Start up = 49 seconds. Shut down = 6 seconds
Microsoft Security Essentials: Start up = 50 seconds. Shut down = 7 seconds.
Kaspersky Anti-Virus: Start up = 55 seconds. Shut down = 10 seconds.

As you can see there is a small but significant impact in both the start up and shut down times. Not only that, but my PC feels very slightly less responsive all round.

Overall: I am going to give this product an initial rating of three stars and monitor performance during day to day use. If anything good or bad influences my rating over the next few months, I will add it in to this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic Malware Protection., 22 Sep 2011
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It seems a trend nowadays for Antivirus makers to create two main versions of their antivirus one is: Antivirus and Internet Security. So far in all the antivirus programs I have used, the Antivirus version is a stripped down version of the Internet Security version.

So this is the case, here. Kaspersky Antivirus 2012 is a stripped-down version of Kaspersky Internet Security. It has the core functionality of Kaspersky Internet security such as:

CLOUD PROTECTION: Here the antivirus benefits from cloud protection. When your computer syncronises with the Kaspersky server in 'the cloud' it benefits from virus definitions created in response to any participating computer. In the same vein, any suspicious objects on your PC is sent to the Kaspersky server and any resultant virus definitions are sent to all participating computers. Cloud protection is in addition to the traditional protection offered by the antivirus so you get hybrid protection.

CORE VIRUS SCANNER: The usual virus scanner that allows you to scan for viruses using full or quick scan.

MAIL ANTIVIRUS: This protects your PC from infected emails, and it's really cool in that set your email client such as outlook to delete emails with particular file extensions such as .dll, .doc, .bat etc. You can enable heuristic analysis where the software uses known virus behaviour to flag an object as a virus without using virus definitions.
SYSTEM WATCHER: Allows you to reverse changes made to system files by malicious software.

MISSING:
No firewall! You have to get a third part firewall or rely on windows firewall. Kaspersky firewall is very powerful and nicely configurable. I wish they removed some other feature but retained the firewall as it is central to security.

Safe Run For Websites: You cannot browse safely as the feature is not included.

Anti-spam: It also lacks the powerful Anti-spam feature so to fight against spam look outside this antivirus.

No Parental Control: It has no monitoring/ control component like parental control found in Internet Security Versions so if you have little ones ypou may have to configure built-in parental control in Windows if you are using Vista or Windows 7.

RECOMMENDATION:
If you do online banking on your computer, I do not recommend this software unless you plug-in the holes with appropriate third party tools like a Firewall. The internet version is best if you want to be protected from online fraud.
If all you need is basic protection, then Internet security may be overkill, this one can do and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't use windows, try linux, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
Got this for my girl, as her windows machine was riddled with viruses and trojans and the rest. Seems to be doing an all right job of keeping it clean, but would prefer she swapped OS then this purchase, good as it is, would not be necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I never persuaded it to load on my Vista on my desktop., 1 Jan 2013
By 
I. STOTHER (glasgow scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
I spent a lot of time trying to load this from the disc supplied without success despite using their helpline. I abandonned it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) (CD-ROM)
This is a great product easy to install and set up to do scans it alerts you when the scans are done and if there is anything at risk its a great product that we all need to keep us safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC)
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2012 (3 PC, 1 Year subscriptions) (PC) by Kaspersky Lab (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews