Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2011
This is a welcome additional to the growing body of literature in the world of academic writing. With its clear format, easy-to-follow contents page and near comprehensive coverage of the main bases of academic writing, it will equip both international and native students with the understandings and skills they need to cope with the writing of academic assignments. I have certainly been able to use sections to guide my own teaching and those of my students who have bought copies for themselves have reported increasing confidence with writing (the most difficult skill for non-native students to master!).
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
To obtain the answers to all of the exercises, you need to go online to MacMillan's website. This hardly makes the book a convenient handbook.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
As a teacher of English for Academic Purposes, I've found the best thing about this book is that it works well both as a coursebook for classroom use, and a self-study/reference book which lets students work by themselves or revise. They find Academic Writing is organised in a straightforward way, and the website provides extra exercises and answers. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This book provides excellent practice for international students to master the stages in writing a variety of academic genres. It is logically organised and practical with a strong emphasis on citation and referencing in order to avoid plagiarism. Strategies to develop paraphrasing are also valuable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Bailey's work is solid enough + updated version is an improvement. Easy to use. Classes of this nature are often very tedious for the trainer and this book provides a solution. Great for non-thinking teacher. Just plug in the class and stroll around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This text does nothing more than skirt the surface of academic writing. I bought this text to use with a university group of international students and I have to say I have hardly used it. The units are not very well presented and tasks are very slight and not at all stimulating. Some material could be adapated perhaps but the amount of white space in the text tells its own story...nowhere near enough care and thought in this text.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This book really is the complete deal. I've used it with a number of classes, who seemed to enjoy it and certainly had no complaints. The chapters stand independently, but are also presented in a logical sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
my friends and I are really like this book. It teaches us a lot about writing, especially, English is not out first language. it really help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Very useful book for international students. Easy to follow instruction. Really helped to cover basics of academic writing. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
An excellent book, easy and logical for international students to follow as independent learning aid or as supplementary material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)