Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars14
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2011
This is a one stop shop for the creation of a matte painting for film and television. David (Author) has written a concise and realistic guide to the creation of a matte painting using industry techniques. No step is hidden and all the common matte requests from a director are covered in this volume. The chapters are designed to walk you through the basics to advanced work in a clear legible manner. This is not a ego driven art reference book, it is the equivalent to a haynes manual for matte painting.

If you are serious about matte painting this reference book should be bought, I have even tabbed the pages and it is the most used reference book that I use, it will compliment Craig Barrons Invisble Art and the Digital Artiste books on matte painting from ballistic media.

Sybex are renowned for producing books that help and make a difference, this is one of them.

Buy it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
book like secret! i like it and i understand how make digtial matte painting and some give information of history and why, how , what.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Only read the first quarter but so far this book is brilliant, it covers some great techniques to add depth to digital paintings, basics of perspective and composition plus many usage of many Photoshop tools and manipulations. I would say getting this book and working through it would be a must for any aspiring matte painter or digital artist in general who's interested in doing environments and scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
As a photoshop only user I got a lot out of this book things like changing the weather in a scene and day to night was a lot of fun it's challenging at time there is a lot of prep work to get the results but it's worth sticking with it! It also covers the history of matte painting and leads onto 3d camera projection techniques towards the last few chapters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
As a professional photographer for twenty plus years I found this book to be hugely useful. Quite simply the depth of information relating to perspective and retouching skills is on a level that I haven't come across before. That in itself would have been worth the money and that is before we get involved in After effects applications. I feel I will be using this book for years to come as a reference for creating new works. Very in depth and complicated but very highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
A truly amazing book! Well done and very easy to follow. Easy explanations to somewhat difficult subject - but David is doing an amazing job. Very pleased! Rene, Copenhagen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Brilliant book to get a broad base of knowledge for learning core skills needed for digital matte painting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
A very simple broken down way of showing you all the main techniques of matte painting from old school skills to photoshop and 3d application like maya... for anyone looking for their first steps into becoming a matte artist look no further :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I'm slowly getting into my digital art work, as I use to enjoy doing allot of art back in my school and college days. But the ideas and potential for what you can do in the digital art world now is just amazing. If you want inspiration or any possible ideas for good concept pieces, then you need to buy this book. It's a massive book and full of fantastic designs from various artists, and this includes examples as well as tutorials. I'm by no way finished with this book, as there is so much to do, it really is a working progress. Besides, the old saying is, it's not a sprint, you have to take your time with this and make sure you understand what your doing before moving on to the next chapter.

Is this a book for beginners? NO. It's more for someone who does have a basic knowledge of Adobe After Effects, as well as Photoshop. Both of those program's can take a year at least to get to know the basic fundamentals of how and why they work the way they do. Believe me, when you get the basics down, you will love this book, and then the world is really your oyster.

Buy it, you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
This book is definitely up there near the top of my most useful books.

Half the book covers painting a Castle with a drawing tablet and importing it into Maya.
There are some great Photoshop exercises and some animation techniques in After Effects.
You are basically told the "correct" way to do things, with tips from an Author who obviously knows what he's talking about.

Buy this book.

My only problem has been with the DVD, My windows PC had problems loading the disc at first. Then I had more problems trying to copy the resource files from disc. I tried it on a different computer and managed to copy half the files before getting error messages and Windows crashing. Has anybody else had these issues?.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)