Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Really enjoyed this sequel, although it could easily be read as a stand alone book. If you haven't checked out the authors first novel, First to Kill, that's just as good too. The characters are unusual enough to be interesting and aren't just carbon copy Jack Reacher rip offs as books of this type can sometimes tend towards. There's just enough technical detail on...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by Samuel Denton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars B movie script
The second book in the Nathan McBride series. I gave the first book the benefit if the doubt and awarded 3 stars based on it being the authors first book, hoping the 2nd would improve on it's wooden character but am afraid it doesn't!
Thus one revolves around the man hunt( first book was man hunt too....wonder what the 3rd is!) of the guy who tortured McBride...
Published 2 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars B movie script, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Steve (worcs, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book in the Nathan McBride series. I gave the first book the benefit if the doubt and awarded 3 stars based on it being the authors first book, hoping the 2nd would improve on it's wooden character but am afraid it doesn't!
Thus one revolves around the man hunt( first book was man hunt too....wonder what the 3rd is!) of the guy who tortured McBride.
The characters are still wooden, they lack depth and realisim. The dialogue is stoked and not how people speak to each other. It all feels just like a script for a 80'saction B movie, all very Chuck Norris.
The author also goes over the top on detail.
The author is not a bad writer, and the book would be really quite good if he only showed a little more reality with characters and dialogue. At the end I expected a little Stars and Stripes to pop out the top of my kindle whilst the Star-Spangled Banner played!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Samuel Denton (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really enjoyed this sequel, although it could easily be read as a stand alone book. If you haven't checked out the authors first novel, First to Kill, that's just as good too. The characters are unusual enough to be interesting and aren't just carbon copy Jack Reacher rip offs as books of this type can sometimes tend towards. There's just enough technical detail on weapons and aircraft etc to be interesting without being boring!

For this eBook to be sold for £2.00 on Amazon is cracking value and is something that other publishes should take note of!! I appreciate that the author needs to be paid for their work but for an eBook to cost the same - and sometimes more - than a printed book defies belief or logic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Viewpoint, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting viewpoint & a different take - from the snipers point of view, you really like Nathan & want to know what is going to happen apart from a couple of minor errors in the proofreading I really loved this book & the character, a real Jack Reacher type bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a good read and attention to detail was also excellent. Would certainly recommend this for an exciting read.
Although not in the realms of Ian Fleming or similar, still keeps you reading to see what the next chapter will give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gripping thriller but hard to believe, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The hero is ex marine superman who had been captured by a mercenary skilled at torturing terrorists on behalf of the US government.Hero escaped and works as a private security expert. Then he becomes involved in the rescue of the wife and children of an important US Government diplomat. There follows a long rescue mission with the involvement of the CIA and FBI . Lots of blood and military gadgetry bring the mission to a successful conclusion with the mercenary hunted down and imprisoned in Gitmo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good holiday read, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second of the Nathan McBride series. After reading the first I thought this would be a entertaining page turner for my holiday.
It was. It had me flicking my Kindle in the sun (obviously not a kindle fire, which are rubbish in the sun). Did not have to think much, easy to follow story. I don't give this more stars because of this.
A predictable bad guys vs good guys shoot them up novel recommended for guys who want to chill out on the beach without having to think too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put book down.From start to finish it has you gripped.Would recommend to everyone. If you want a book that you can't remove from your hands this book is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forced to stay awake, 4 May 2013
By 
D C. Collins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very tired,dye totally to this being yet another UN-put-downable book.
Can't wait to start the next one, but not tonight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read,enjoyed,look forward to reading more in the series., 12 Jan 2013
Good read,enjoyed,look forward to reading more in the series.4 stars
Would recommend book as a good bit of fun,read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last of the trilogy, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good twist to the story telling. Read all books one after the other.Can,t wait to read follow on books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews