Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mayhem and chaos chewing on a bone
This was one of those books where I kept saying to myself 'Okay,that's as bad as it's going to get' like a child clinging to a safety blanket and then, I turned the page and it got worse...all in a brilliantly gory, intelligent and thought-provoking way.
One day in a normal town, people just start going crazy nuts . It begins with isolated incidents of violence where...
Published on 4 Oct 2011 by vi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unsatisfying
Interesting idea which started rather well, but I gave up halfway through. The problem is that we are constantly introduced to new characters trapped in ghastly situations, but after a time the brutalities all start to feel the same and the reader begins to think 'so what?' and starts to look for developments of plot and character which just doesn't seem to arrive - at...
Published 15 months ago by GMS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mayhem and chaos chewing on a bone, 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Paperback)
This was one of those books where I kept saying to myself 'Okay,that's as bad as it's going to get' like a child clinging to a safety blanket and then, I turned the page and it got worse...all in a brilliantly gory, intelligent and thought-provoking way.
One day in a normal town, people just start going crazy nuts . It begins with isolated incidents of violence where peoples underlying resentments and repressed anger erupts into acts of savagery. Quickly, like a virulent virus of viciousness, the violence spreads and soon most people are effected and everything escalates.
The plot focuses mainly on one man who seems untouched by the madness and has to witness society collapsing around him.
People, male and female,old and young, meek and mild, regress into barbarity. Hunting each other, ravaging, killing and worse. Every little darkness in the soul bubbles to the surface and is allowed to run amok in the streets and homes of the once civilized suburbia.
The writing is brilliant, even though the pages flow red with carnage and I wanted to look away, the writer kept me hooked from the very start, giving me small glimers of hope,of sanity and normality only to snatch it away again and replace it with desperation. But, although I was shocked and disgusted there were some social and psychological 'what-if's' investigated here that added depth and intellect to this gruesome tale. This book is also highly enjoyable in a car-crash rubber-necking kinda way and the pace never slows so my interest never wained. If you can stomach it, you will find a energetic juggernaut of a book that will enthrall and disturb you in equal measure. A must for anyone who likes their gore smeared on the walls. Also brilliant in a similiar way isCarnal SurgeryThank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brutal, 30 Oct 2011
By 
Stuart Pascoe (surrey england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Paperback)
this book is indeed brutal,the violence tends to be fairly relentless from begining to end but if you dont mind that it is the sort of read that you wont want to put down.
it reminded me a little of the film "the crazies" but much more violent.
if this is how it used to be all i can say is i am more than thankful i live in 2011!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalyptic end of the world blood-drenched mayhem!, 19 Feb 2010
By 
M. Middleton "stewartmiddleton2" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Paperback)
The new Brian Keene...

One day, everything changes in a small American city...people act out their inner-most desires, committing murder, rape, cannibalism, you name it! Only a few "normal" people remain...But how long can they remain human when everything around them is crumbling?

Tim Curran pulls out all the stops in this one: gripping house-to-house battles, gangs of killer children, people literally eating each other's brains and hearts...he desribes civilisation hurtling backwards over the course of a few days, with a vivid cast of characters (most of whom you would not wish to meet).

I won't say anymore, except BUY IT! If you are a Brian Keene fan, or like The Crazies, zombie films or 28 Days Later, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unsatisfying, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Kindle Edition)
Interesting idea which started rather well, but I gave up halfway through. The problem is that we are constantly introduced to new characters trapped in ghastly situations, but after a time the brutalities all start to feel the same and the reader begins to think 'so what?' and starts to look for developments of plot and character which just doesn't seem to arrive - at least not in time to induce me to continue reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal - really really brutal, 25 Feb 2013
By 
M. Turner "Matt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Paperback)
If you like brutal, you will love this. The literary equivalent of a Saw film, but it doesn't take breathers between death scenes like a Saw film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was awful rubbish story really silly with no redeeming features will definitely be avoiding this author in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Gory Repetition, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Kindle Edition)
The first few pages are interesting.. unusual outbreak of cruelty in a small, quiet town. From then on it descends into more blood, excrement and cruelty than I would have thought possible, or necessary, and in great detail. What is missing is a story line which would justify so much gore. After a while I was quite hardened to people being eaten, slashed,urinated on and worse, so I found myself flicking ahead to find a bit more story. There was not much story and the reason for all the gore was the return of the (entire) human race to a kind of animal existence. This animal existence provided the reason for killings by packs of humans, cannibalism, torture, rape, and so on. After a while these horrible events become quite ho-hum. Evisceration, fine, blinding, no problem, castration, why not? Thoroughly dreary, certainly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The devil next door, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely gruesome story line but does give you food for thought.Haven't quite finished it yet but it has me picking it up every spare moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Kindle Edition)
Tim Curran is one of my favourite writers. He manages to mix Lovecraftian weirdness with blood, guts and pulpy horror. He's a fantastic writer. 'The Devil Next Door' is pure, unapologetic madness, with dashes of brilliance and enough guts and sadism to keep most gore-hounds happy. But underneath the violence and visceral horror is a running theme, and it's the scariest thing of all about the story - that civilisation is a thin veneer and humanity could return to its primeval dark age in a flash.
Disturbing but brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Next Door (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. Well written and the plot goes on to develop the picture of a total breakdown of everyday life and the potential of the beast in all of us to be released ......... recommended 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil Next Door
The Devil Next Door by Tim Curran
2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews