Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars126
3.6 out of 5 stars
Number of Items: 1|Change
Price:£5.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2012
I knew this was cheap and you get what you pay for... but it arrived in a loose plastic bag in a flimsy jiffy envelope - no box and no instructions. The cold shoe (flash holder) was not attached and instead there were a few cheap screws loose in the bag to attach it, which were the wrong size! So after an hour of trying to put 4 screws in, and the screws just slipping out, I gave up and zip-tied it onto the bracket. The construction is plasticy to say the least and it probably won't last more than a few months before breaking. Also, the clamp to retain the flash itself (Canon 430 EX II) doesn't do up tight enough, so even fully tightened the flash can slide to and fro in it, and risks falling out. The fixing bolt to retain it on the stand is on the 'wrong' side, so when I want to angle my umbrella downwards it won't go very far before it stops against that. I've had to spend a couple of hours in the garage to make it halfway useable and I'm going to the local camera shop tomorrow to buy a decent one and spend the money I should've spent in the first place. The bracket is the centre of the whole off-camera flash thing - if this is rubbish you'll have problems all day long. Verdict = avoid this item.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Don't waste your money on these brackets. I bought 2, 1 of which is ok ish for the price but pretty flimsy all the same and the other fell apart before first use and wouldn't even hold together with Gaffer tape (lots of gaffer tape!!). Neewer products on the whole are usually decent value but really, don't waste your money on these brackets there are far better out there for not a lot more money.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
The hot shoe tightening mechanism is absolute rubbish. It's simply not possible to tighten because the bolt is too short! Why oh why they couldn't make it 2mm longer?
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
Don't buy this product. Arrived in bits (obviously should be fully assembled), screws missing etc quality control is obviously not a concern for these guys. Doesn't hold standard umbrella (falls out). Hot shoe holder came in bits and could not be assembled. No instructions. Pay more for something that actually works. This literally was a piece of rubbish. Seller offered a refund but shipping the item back to them would cost 3/4's of the actual cost of item (which they wont cover) so they have gone straight in the bin.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
Looks like its been used for the last 10 years. Full of scratches and heavy dents.
I guess you get what you pay for only sometimes worse. Wouldnt buy ever again.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
I use this little mount between a light stand and my Canon flash gun. It does the job but it is really rather flimsy. The first day some of the screws fell out. It was easy to put them back but why were they so loose in the first place? I guess you get what you pay for.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
The bracket body is pretty heavy gauge ABS with the hot shoe being anodised aluminium. The screw on the hot show is seated in metal so should grip well without stripping the thread. The hot shoe itself adjusts to fit my flashes well but will not reduce small enough to closely grip the (cheap) triggers I'm using - although I can tighten the locking collar on the triggers and they stay put OK. The shoe is securely attached to the ABS with 4 bolts.

The umbrella slot is ~10mm and has a strong leaf spring to grip hexagonal umbrella shafts. If you have a round shafted umbrella, this may not be so suitable as the locking screw is seated only in the ABS and will likely strip the thread easily if tightened.

The swivel between the two halves has a ratchet mechanism to help the parts grip and is tightened with a metal seated bolt.

Finally the base has a slot to allow either vertical or horizontal attachment to a lighting stand up to a maximum shaft size of around 15mm (although there is no threaded fitting to allow screw attachment). Again this is tightened with a metal seated bolt.

At the time of writing this bracket is available for less than £5 and, as such, represents absolutely FANTASTIC value. I heartily recommend this bracket to aspiring strobists.
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
It doesn't matter how cheap it is, it's still not worth the money!
It doesn't attach an umbrella in a firm way (I've tried with two different umbrellas), it feels cheap and if it has been used many times before. Also, the hot-shoe mount although isn't hard to use it doesn't tight the flash properly, so you might have the uncomfortable feeling that the flash might fall (especially when aiming high or low).

I might keep it as a spare/emergency item (since it would cost me the same to post it back), but will definitely go for another one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
They arrived chipped and dented, in fact I thought they had been used but since they are not indivdually packed they most probably got bashed around in transit from their country of origin. They are rather large, heavy and lumpy. the rachet movement is extremely violent and I wonder what damage that could cause my expensive flashes. so dis-satisfied was I, returned them and invested in a more expensve model. Yes, these brackets ARE cheap, the cheapest I've seen anywhere but you really do get what you pay for.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
Surprisingly for a Neewer product this is rubbish I'm afraid. You can tighten everything as much as you want and it will still wobble. There are other versions, look at them first.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)