Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to sum up a film like this
I watched this film the same night that it was delivered and I have to say it's not your everyday run of the mill horror flick that we as horror fans know and enjoy.
The cover is probably why a lot of people will buy it but the comments on the Blu-Ray case is what got me thinking this could be a very good flick to view.
To sum it up, I would recommend that you...
Published 12 months ago by Neal "Neo"(Lincolnshire)

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not really worth it
I'm a huge fan of Bill Moseley, but sadly this is really not the awesome film it could have been.
Like other reviews say this film had so much potential but it feels like the director just got bored one weekend and thought "well i could just throw together a horror film" the script is poor and the acting is pretty rubbish!
Its not the worst film i've ever seen,...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by TKE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not really worth it, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of Bill Moseley, but sadly this is really not the awesome film it could have been.
Like other reviews say this film had so much potential but it feels like the director just got bored one weekend and thought "well i could just throw together a horror film" the script is poor and the acting is pretty rubbish!
Its not the worst film i've ever seen, but it could have been a lot better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars could be better, 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
i saw a trailer and thought it looked great but when i saw it its rubbish the script is poor and u just cant see why she would stay with them it could have been so much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPPOINTING!!, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Adam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this considering the trailer looked pretty good and I have seen other After Dark films like Husk which are awesome!! But sadly this is nowhere near as good and is a HUGE disappointment. Firstly the script is pretty bad and the story has no meaning what so ever, the film is mostly boring because all the best bits are already shown in the trailer. There are one or two gruesome scenes and that is it! Secondly the film makes no sense at all, and there is no real story behind it. Michelle Page is a good actress in this but nothing special, Lucinda Jenney saves the film and stops me rating it with a 1 star and Even Bill Moseley isn't very good in it. If your a huge fan of some of the After Dark movies and you want to add this one to your collection, then I suggest you wait till the price goes down, I wouldn't pay anymore than 4.99 for this and that's being kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to sum up a film like this, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this film the same night that it was delivered and I have to say it's not your everyday run of the mill horror flick that we as horror fans know and enjoy.
The cover is probably why a lot of people will buy it but the comments on the Blu-Ray case is what got me thinking this could be a very good flick to view.
To sum it up, I would recommend that you look past the scantily clad woman on the picture who doesn't even look like this in the movie as she doesn't even go into the water and just enjoy it.
Horror has been waiting for a flick like this since Last House on the Left and The Girl Next Door (Jack Ketchum).
Don't spend more than 10 on it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lame, 24 May 2012
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
Naff film not worth the money even second hand. Cheply made and cheese. There seems to be a lot of these straight to DvD movies that aren't worth the plastic there made from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable rubbish, 3 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
Only the most naive and idiotic of people would allow themselves to wind up in the silly and borderline hilarious situation that the girl in this film gets into. From the opening scenes where she gets into a strangers car, who then takes her to meet his wife, who then offers her to stay in their house, she almost deserves everything she gets. So for that reason alone this film is impossible to take seriously in any way. Because of that, there is little tension and no empathy with any of the characters. The wooden acting is the icing on the cake of this stupid and vaguely unpleasant movie. Almost every scene in this production has been done better many times in the past, so if you want a 'crazy locals terrify visitor in the house' type film, then re-watch The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (original or remake).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A billion and 1 plot holes, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
To get the good stuff out of the way first. It has Bill Moseley in it. The motives of the kidnappers had potential but was not fully explained so is pretty irrelevant. And that about covers it.

The script is trite, the film is trite. It starts with a girl who goes to some rural location to scatter the ashes of her Dad down a river. While there she meets a seemingly friendly man who offers to walk her back to her car. When they get back to the road however, her car has vanished without trace. The mans explanation is that the local sheriff probably towed it away. I mean come on, she was only there for like 10 minutes! Enough time for the authorities to pass by, arrange a tow truck and just simply take it without checking around first? OK. Anyway, was the girl upset or angry that her car was missing? No. Does she bother to question this guys explanation? No. From this point onwards it just gets worse, the 'highlight' being a scene of unintentional forced incest which is so poorly realised it is just ridiculous and more funny if anything.

There are so many plot holes here and questionable decisions that it borders on ludicrous. Bill Moseley is great but he can't save this hopelessly generic film. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THIS SHOULD STING.., 7 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
The movie opens with a potential plot spoiler as it shows you a scene near the end of the film. Why do they do that?

In the next scene a brother and sister are talking. She goes to an isolated spot along Rogue River, Oregon where the trees are all the right height, to scatter her father's ashes. While there, she meets a nice man (Bill Moseley) who is slightly creepy. When she gets back to the road, her car is missing! With no cell reception, the creep offers her a lift, but first must stop by and tell his wife.

The wife (Lucinda Jenney) insists Mara (Michelle Page) stay for dinner and spend the night. They will get her car tomorrow...as the night goes on things get creepier bit by bit as her hosts are not what they seem. The couple has some dirty little secrets, that are not too difficult to figure out, but you are drawn into the fact there appears to be a distinct method behind their madness.

I was disappointed in much of the film. Fairly Cliche.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, torture, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but not that bad either, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, so the premise is as old as the hills in horror movie history - girl-on-her-own gets lost in unknown territory and ends up being either hunted and/or captured by the locals.

And there is nothing new here in Rogue River. However, I actually found I enjoyed (most) of it - which is more than I normally enjoy of this type of clichéd horror film.

First of all, when you watch these movies, you normally ask yourself the question: What would I do in this situation? If you see the heroine running away from the killer when she could have just put a bullet in his head then you begin to lose interest and start to hate it due to its obvious lack of realism. At least in Rogue River, the heroine isn't completely stupid. She does make logical decisions and does her best to escape. Therefore I found it watchable and wasn't shouting instructions at my TV screen.

All in all, it's worth a watch if you feel you can sit through another film like this.

It's only real drawback was the ending. I won't say too much about it for fear of spoiling it, but, in my opinion, there were `questionable' decisions made by the writers which I felt wouldn't have happened in real life. But, despite that, I did enjoy most of the film which, as I've said, is more than I normally do of films with such `been-there/done-that' plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An ok film, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue River [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this film tonight and thought it was ok..surprised at the end..one of those films with the pyscho mad people in and take in the distressed lady..then trouble comes ..i enjoy them lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogue River [DVD]
Rogue River [DVD] by Jourdan McClure (DVD - 2012)
2.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews