Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Later that same evening
Whilst not the best nor worst of the series, Halloween II is a middling addition to the series but is far better than some of the later entries. The film follows directly on from the first, iconic John Carpenter movie - so much so that there are mere seconds between the end of the 1978 original and this sequel.

Several concepts are introduced in this film that...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by M. Hevingham

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BUYERS BEWARE!!
UK buyers beware!

This review is for the Collector's Edition of Halloween II from Shout Factory. This disc is LOCKED to Region A and will NOT play on UK players. See here for confirmation: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Halloween-II-Blu-ray/46632/

I suggest either buying the region free 30th Anniversary edition (see here:...
Published 12 months ago by Pantheon


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..GREAT SLASHER SEQUEL..", 7 Feb 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This sequel continues the story exactly where the original left off, its a rare example of a sequel that's as exciting as the original, great same cast, more bloodshed and crazy slasher kills from Michael Myers! as usual the cool creepy music score is present! This Blu-ray is the 30th anniversary version and is region free for UK players, good picture quality and a couple of extras!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The suspense is unreal!, 6 May 2013
By 
john (liverpool) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Halloween 2 continues exactly where Halloween left off. Dr. Sam Loomis is the only one who takes the case serious enough to pursue the never-ending chase of Michael Myers. Meanwhile Laurie Strode is taken to the Smith's Grove Clinic where Michael tracks her down and stalks the corridors until he gets to her. A must-see for all Halloween fans. Much better than the remake, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a 2 disc set, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great sequal and this superb 2 disc set by shout factory is well worth buying.you get two versions of the film and a host of extras ins:horror's hallowed grounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but missing Terror in the Aisles on this edition, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Marcrob (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, first off the main feature itself looks great, the extra features will please any fan and it includes a television edited version with extra footage. However, thanks to Amazon's bizarre system it was not obvious that this edition from shoutfactory.com does not include Terror in the Aisles, or that one of the discs is SD and on DVD. I went for this as it was the only one that stated for sure it would play in UK, if anyone reads this and knows which one I should have went for, please let me know, cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good sequel better then the other Halloween sequels, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this film as much as the first, it continues from the first film very well. The Blu Ray picture is excellent and plays fine on my player. This movie is not available on Blu Ray in the U.K. so I am pleased I have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
How do you follow up one of the greatest horror films of all time? Well start the sequel on the same night the original ended and you know your a quarter of the way there.

Halloween 2 works because it retains that dark claustrophobic feel of the first. Set almost entirely in a hospital housing the injured Laurie Strode, Michael is not quite finished yet.

In fact this is a wodnerful horror sequel to such a classic. The only blemish being the unneccasary slaying of a young teenage kid near the beginning of the film. She was just killed for being killed. Unlike Halloween to tread this water.

A great movie, could even be watched back to back with the original. Though I regard the first movie as the greatest of all horror films and so would not watch like this.

Jamie Lee Curtis by the way is excellent as a clearly disturbed Laurie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray confusion, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. C. Otter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So which release is this? It's listed as starring Scout Taylor-Compton and directed by Rob Zombie, but shows the cover for the Blu-ray of the original sequel and has same description as the original. So which is it? People will be put off buying if they're unsure which one they'll be getting! Is it the sequel to the original film or to the remake?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blu-ray., 17 Sep 2011
By 
Ok once again amaazon are mixing up the reviews for all the different reviews for halloween 2, so lets make this clear from the start... THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE US BLU RAY OF HALLOWEEN 2.

ok, now thats out of the way, halloween 2 follows on directly from halloween only this time directed by Rick rosenthal, as after writing the screenplay carpenter didn't want to direct 'more of the same' and moved on to other projects. The film takes the action to the local Hospital where michael myers quickly begins carving his way through the staff to get to the films last survivor Laurie strode (still played by jamie lee curtis from the first movie) all the while pursued by Dr sam loomis (donald plesence, who bcame a mainstay of the franchise).

Halloween 2 is gorier and louder than its predecessor and while some say its not as good as its predecessor (and their probably right about that) Halloween 2 is a LOT of fun nontheless and will certainly entertain fans of the origional. I'm not sure the gratuitous gore shots are really needed but are probably included for commercial reasons as at this point the slasher craze was in full swing and much of the competition was laying the grue on with a trowel. If you havent seen the origional Halloween then shame on you, go buy it now, if you have then this is well worth watching and definately one of the better horror sequels out there.

So is the disc worth getting?

YES.

If your a halloween fan the 35th anniversary blu-ray is a fantastic update. The picture quality is phenomenal and far better than even the previous, great quality, universal release. Extras-wise we get a featurette, and alternate ending and some deleted scenes (all of which seem to come from the TV version) but sadly we dont get the kim newman and alan jones commentary track from the uk version, which is a shame as the picture quality on that release was dreadful.

Overall then, this is a definate must buy for anyone looking for the film in hi-def, and definately worth watching if you havent seen it before. It looks and sounds fantastic and is definately the best presentation of the film to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the origional!, 6 Nov 2007
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this sequel and was very impressed by it as it managed to top the origional - a rareity for sequels! Although not made until 1981 (three years after the first Halloween) the movie carries on directly from the ending of the first one, the opening scene of this movie being the last 4 or 5 minutes of the first.

Micheal Myers is still after Lorrie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis), this time going on a killing spree in the hospital where she has been sent because of her injuries from her encounters with Michael earlier that night.

I liked this movie even more than the first, it is scarier and gorier and has a higher body count as Michael slices and dices his way through the hospital staff (strangely there were no other patients in the hospital) to get to Lorrie.
Unlike the deaths in the first movie, some of the kills in Halloween 2 are quite gory. I liked that some of the deaths are quite creative, as opposed to every character being stabbed. Also, a clever idea was that Lorrie has a bad reaction to the medication she is given which causes her to muscles to episodically being weak/paralysed which adds a lot to the suspence during chase scenes as we root for her to escape.

I would deffinatly recomend this movie to fans of the first in the series or of the horror/slasher genre in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel!, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
This film is set on the same night of the original movie. Jamie-lee-curtis is taken to hospital to be treated for her wounds after beeing attacked by Michael Myers in the first movie. However Michael is not dead and comes to the hospital to finish her off...as well as about 50 other people!!!
There is some gore although not loads of it. Friday 13th is better at that. It's suprisingly menacing, but not scary.The creepy music is still here, and Michael couldn't be freakier!
A great sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween II [DVD]
Halloween II [DVD] by Rick Rosenthal (DVD - 2011)
3.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews