Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There be dragons (Blu-ray)
I chose to buy this Blu-ray because I had seen a trailer on another of my dvd's. I knew nothing of the backround to this film but I am interested in the historical time frame of the film, the Spanish Civil War is of great interest to me. I found the story easy to follow, although it does jump forward and backward in time. I am also a Roland Joffe fan. There is some...
Published 9 months ago by B&W Fan

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid War Drama.
Arising out of the horror of the Spanish Civil War, a candidate for canonization is investigated by a journalist who discovers his own estranged father had a deep, dark and devastating connection to the saint's life.

Good war drama, well acted all round and well directed,good battle scenes,keeps you watching to the end. I recommend this film to anyone who is a...
Published 9 months ago by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There be dragons (Blu-ray), 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Be Dragons [Blu-ray] (2011) (Blu-ray)
I chose to buy this Blu-ray because I had seen a trailer on another of my dvd's. I knew nothing of the backround to this film but I am interested in the historical time frame of the film, the Spanish Civil War is of great interest to me. I found the story easy to follow, although it does jump forward and backward in time. I am also a Roland Joffe fan. There is some unusual casting in the minor parts.Who would expect Geraldine Chaplin or Sir Derek Jacobi to appear in such small roles ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional epic war drama & damn good value- buy it!, 24 Aug 2013
Historical inaccuracies apart (of which much is claimed by other reviewers), I thoroughly enjoyed this film & was very moved by the ending. Could not fault acting, photography, dialogue, story etc. I especially enjoyed the fact I didn't pay much for the film although I would not have been disappointed had I paid much more. So, there are those who will dispute real events but for film lovers, I say just enjoy this film for what it is.
(Just how did they get Tyrone Powers to resurrect himself to play Wes Bentley's part?)
In similar (cheap but very good emotive film) vein, I would recommend 'GOING BACK' - Vietnam flashback film starring the excellent Caspar Van Diem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE, 30 Nov 2013
Movie loved and hated in equal parts.To start mix Spanish civil war and religion 2 controversial issues in my country.
But there be dragons is much more, it is a very neutral look at our war, which is not expected to arouse old hatreds but well otherwise preaches forgiveness, which is the central theme of the entire film there lies the entire message.
Where everyone isn't bad or all good, which is welcome.
We follow the childhood and youth of 2 friends Joseph María Escrivá and Manuel Torres very different between them since the provincial Spain to Spain in war and look at the different ways that take both.
The script is very good as well as the direction, outstanding performances, as well as the technical aspects, photography, sound, soundtrack, costume... etc.
Film that can be enjoyed equally whether you're religious or not.
I for example am not and is already among my favorites.
The best:Everything.
The worst: that has been so misunderstood in Spain.
Recommended 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Every saint has a Past and Every sinner has a Future', 15 Mar 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This film is `inspired by true events', and as such takes quite a lot of poetic licence. The story begins with Robert, a journalist, (Dougray Scott) being asked to investigate the life of Jose Maria Escriva (Charlie Cox), as he is about to be Canonised. He discovers that his estranged father went to the same seminary as him and so uses it as an excuse to reconnect with his dying patriarch.

The story then starts to be told in flash back and we start around 1911 when the two boys were friends. It turns out that his father knows a lot more than most and all of their lives are sort of intertwined. The real story takes place during The Spanish Civil War (1936 -39) where Manolo (Roberts dad played by Wes Bentley) gets involved with both sides in the fighting.

The story of the War is told in tandem with that of Jose Maria as he becomes the modern founder of Opus Dei and does charitable works and faces many threats; being a Priest he is particularly susceptible to summary execution at the hands of the Republicans/Communists/Socialists/Anarchists or what ever you want to call the `legitimate Government'.

This is written and directed by Roland Joffe (`The Mission' and `The Killing Fields') and had a fairly big budget that was actually quite well spent. The battle scenes are effective, with good CGI where it is used. The direction is excellent and the acting is all above par. But the narrative drives this and as ever there are some stretches of belief required a couple of times. To say any more would be a plot spoiler. It is also just over two hours long, but it does not feel like a long film and I thought it ended quite quickly as I was up for more. So despite the few flaws this is really rather good. Despite the subject matter this is all in English, although there are attempts at Spanish accents. There are a couple of cameos from Charles Dance and Derek Jacobi too.

This may not be Joffe's best film but is far from being a bad one. If you are an historically accurate fan there will be things to take issue with, but if you want a rather original film set against the background of a tragic episode in World history then this should be one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, detracktors are wrong!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie is not as overly religious as some reviewers have made out. It is a war movie with a great emotional involvement from various characters. Some say that the portrayal of Saint Jose is over the top and that he was seen as some sort of Hero, the movie is not about Saint Jose being a hero, it's about him being a human being who struggles in the Spanish civil war. Some people said that the movie puts a gloss on one side and a frown on the other. It is neither, all sides are shown to have their bad side. Look at the movie, even the followers of Saint Jose say they want to take revenge for seeing a priest being killed. This movie is about a war, and with any war movie, there is good and bad on both sides. Regardless of your religion, this is as good a movie about the Spanish civil war you will get in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Kevin Sorensen (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There Be Dragons [Blu-ray] (2011) (Blu-ray)
Though the movie is not 100% accurate it is still worth watching. The story of two boys who were friends and then separated after one family went into poverty. It's telling the story about these two boys by one of them, who is in hospital and his "son" is writing about the other. Don't want to tell too much because it would spoil the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining and inspiring film, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this film especially because I am a fan of St Josemaria Escriva. There was so much I did not know of his life and it was a real treat to watch this. The film is dramatic and well acted and very funny in parts. If you love films about the lives of saints this film is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There Be Dragons, 21 Mar 2012
Director Roland Joffe has made a fair attempt to portray the early years in the life of Jose Maria Escriva de Balaguer, founder of Opus Dei the Organisation, Branch, Section, Extremely Religious Order,call it what you will of the Catholic Church that is allegedly 'shrouded in mystery' but IS really no more than THAT - extremely devout!
Joffe takes us from Jose Marias' childhood through the eyes of his close friend and on into his teenage years when he joins the Seminary and has the first thoughts of what is to become Opus Dei.But this isn't a film purely about religion? It involves of course love,hatred,death,jealousy,torture and everything else that went with the period that was The Spanish Civil War,the worst of ALL Wars, when Fathers killed Sons and Brothers killed Brothers all because of their Political beliefs!
The Church and its' Priests were especially targetted and the Battle scenes are very realistic.
Personally I think that Joffe has made a very interesting film of what many people would perhaps have thought would be simply just another religious film. Well acted, especially convincing by Charlie Cox in the lead role, filmed in Spain and Argentina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well produced film based on the life of the founder of Opus Dei through the presumably fictitious eyes of a contemporary and former friend. I won't spoil the plot for you. I was impressed with the film in terms of acting, locations and scenes, and the overall message which is that of Opus Dei: that God can be found in the everyday lives and duties of each person. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Story of Forgiveness and Redemption Set Around the Spanish Civil War, 28 Mar 2012
This little known true story I found very watchable. Two childhood friends lives take different, but not completely seperate paths. One seeks to help peoples lives better, the other for ever struggling with himself and making the wrong choices. Through flashbacks the son of the errant friend uncovers his father's and friend's past.

For the subject the filming is excellent as is the acting with strong characters and I was gripped all the way through to the end to see what the answer to my curiosity would be.

The backdrop to the story is the Spanish Civil war which pitted Facist against Communist and family against family. the Spanish Civil War has been much overlooked due to the more widespread and brutal World War which followed just a few years later, and this film has done much to highlight this painful time in Spain's history in a sympathetic way. The film's underlying message of forgiveness and redemption reached a powerful conclusion at the very end of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There Be Dragons [Blu-ray] (2011)
There Be Dragons [Blu-ray] (2011) by Roland Joffe (Blu-ray - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews