Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling story, well told, pood DVD quality
Of all the films so far to tell the fascinating story of the ill fated voyage of HMS Bounty, this 1984 version attempts to get closest so far to the truth. That the ships catain, William Bligh was a sadistic tyrant as portrayed with gusto by Charles Laughton and Trevor Howard, was misleading, to the point of innaccuracy. Anthony Hopkins portrayed Bligh here as a man of...
Published on 9 May 2004 by Mark Antony

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars September 2011, DVD Re Release
So, this is my review of the September 2011 re release of The Bounty DVD.

Make no mistake the picture quality is absolutely horrendous. The colours are washed, there is lots of noise and the print looks as if it's been up scaled to DVD from a smaller size image.

There also seems to be something wrong with the motion. I'm not even sure how to explain...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Mr. G. J. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Holly Bounty, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best adaptation of Mutiny on the Bounty. Unfortunately the picture quality is worse than imagination. The producers of this DVD had to work on that more properly. Nevertheless the acting and casting are better than the previous ones for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At his best, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
I have written various reviews about the films starring Anthony Hopkins, and with few exceptions I can only say I find them captivating mainly due to the wonderful strength of the character portrayed by Hopkins. This story has been told many times, yet even so I recommend you buy this DVD as in a way the story is overshadowed by the superb acting of both Hopkins and Mel Gibson who in my view is also outstanding, Great classic which I will be watch many times in the future if for no other reason just to watch such a good actor at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 7 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Bounty [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I may be shallow, but the sight of a tanned and gorgeous, twenty something Mel Gibson (Fletcher Christian), in white cotton open necked shirt, wide eyed and vexed, is enough to rate it among my all time favourites.
For those that seek a better explanation of the brilliance of this film, the cinematography is splendid, beautiful locations, haunting soundtrack, numerous fine acting performances from many now familiar faces; Neil Morrissey, Liam Neeson, and a fantastic performance of Anthony Hopkins as Captain Blyth, also wide eyed and vexed. Not sure how the bloke from Kajagoogoo got through the auditions, but he was pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give it a try...., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
This was suggested when I ordered The Edge, it contains two actors whose films I have previously loved so very happy to try this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
This is based on the ture story and is a classic film with a surprising turn of fate in the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 23 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bounty [DVD] (DVD)
Would not recommend,assumed it would be good based on the actors but it lacked excitement for me.I would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bounty [DVD]
The Bounty [DVD] by Roger Donaldson (DVD - 2011)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews