Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME FIGHT MOVIE.."
This is one of the coolest martial arts films in a while, being straight to DVD and Bluray you would think it was just another cheesy low budget film but its not, the production on this is pretty sweet and quality all round, this is pretty action packed from start to finish with so many awesome fight scenes mainly between Cung Le and a whole bunch of big ugly thugs and...
Published on 21 April 2012 by S. Drury

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad
well I've just watched this and while I was actually now dreading it from all the negative reviews I wasn't actually let down atall.
I expected hardly any jcvd, thin plot and action and that's what I got.
I thought there were some funny moments (the scene with the character of Beech had me chuckling) and the fight scenes looked really good, some complained about...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Jay79


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Ultra violent martial arts flick, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
But don't be fooled. Van damme is not in it that much. And he hardly does any fighting at all. But the violence is good. And relentless too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dragon eyes, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good fight coriography, disappointed with Peter (robocop) weller's character and no where near enough of van Damme to say he's suppose to be the main title lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was not as good as i thought it would be, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
enjoyed watching the film it was not as good as I thought it would be I would but it was ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing action movie, 28 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
A lone fighter cleans up a small town, including taking out warring gangs and corrupt cops. The plot is lifted straight from Yojimbo (later copied by High Plains Drifter, Last Man Standing etc).

I was expecting a lot more from director John Hyams, as his first film since the excellent Universal Soldier : Regeneration. This is also the first movie I've seen from legendary action producer Joel Silver's After Dark Pictures (Transit, Stash House).

I won't be in a rush to catch any more. Thoroughly routine, shot on HD video and digitally bleached to almost black and white, with no dramatic tension at all, it's just hard to get into the story. Jean Claude Van Damme is featured prominently on the cover but is only in the movie for about 5 minutes - this is a Cung Le movie. The only positive are the well filmed and choreographed fight scenes.

There are much better action movies out there - it's not worth seeking out unless you are a Cung Le fan.

The DVD has a good picture (it's probably not worth upgrading to Blu Ray), 5.1 audio and optional subtitles but no extras (just 2 trailers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dragon eyes blu, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
a good old school actioner, great picture and sound.... just needed more muscles from brussels... must for your collection.. buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars watchable, 25 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
this was not as good as some of his films his older classics were
much more interesting the storyline was not as good but it was watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and senseless, 19 Jun. 2012
By 
Jono (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
The negative points about this movie are pretty much the exact same negative points as Universal Soldier: Regeneration. Why? Because they're both directed by the same person (John Hyams) who's basically a horrible director. The movie tends to be dull, scenes seem to be scattered all over the place, there is hardly a story, nobody shows any sign of body language, characters have a very mismatching personality if they even have one and there's only a handful of scenes that are worth watching.

The film doesn't seem to know how to keep consistency, at-least enough to make you concentrate instead of cringe. The way it shot a still-screen and zoom in towards the face with a 1-second clip of some trashy metal seemed like an excuse to get out of actually telling you who they are. Yeah sure you know their name or nickname but you're cringing so much at the horrible editing you miss it really easily.

This movie infuriated me with the lack of sense it made. Throughout the entire film, it literally feels as though you're accidentally skipping scenes as things happen almost as if they're in the wrong order.

I was motivated to watch this film as it was martial arts and I saw Jean-Claude Van Damme who I'm a massive fan of. I thought I'd have a better outlook on Cung Le seeing him as a protagonist who wants Justice, after seeing him play a violated terrible Martial Law in Tekken. Was it worth getting my hopes up for? Hell no, Jean-Claude Van Damme was only it for about a maximum of half an hour screening time and Cung Le was lousy as anything, I blame the poor excuse of a martial art that's trained nowadays for that.

Oh and the last comparison between this and Universal Soldier: Regeneration. Don't expect an ending.

Basically, this movie sucks, end of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Very satisfied with my item as I am a big jean Claude van damme person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry but this film is awful. Garbage from start to finish which seemed like forever. Have been a fan of Van Damme for years and some of his films have been excellent sadly this one isn't and if this is what he has sunk to then maybe it's time to call it a day. Please don't waste any money on this lame attempt and spend your money elsewhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful and barely any JCVD, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
I love Van Damme, own all and enjoy all his movies. I pre-ordered this, it sounded decent and of course 'stars' JCVD. He has about 5 minutes of screen time and as great as he is in it, it doesnt account for how awful this film is. The lead actor, Cung Le, is wooden and devoid of any personality. The plot is a confusing mess, I had to rewind a few times as I thought I missed something, no there are plot holes aplenty and after sitting through this the finale/pay-off is quick and thank god, I couldnt take any more. Peter Weller hams it up as the villain and looks like he is having a ball, shame its wasTed in this film because in the right film his performance would have people talking. I bought this because I will always support JCVD and his work but it is a movie his fans can and I live without. DUD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Eyes [DVD]
Dragon Eyes [DVD] by John Hyams (DVD - 2012)
£1.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews