Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME FIGHT MOVIE.."
This is one of the coolest martial arts films in a while, being straight to DVD and Bluray you would think it was just another cheesy low budget film but its not, the production on this is pretty sweet and quality all round, this is pretty action packed from start to finish with so many awesome fight scenes mainly between Cung Le and a whole bunch of big ugly thugs and...
Published on 21 April 2012 by S. Drury

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad
well I've just watched this and while I was actually now dreading it from all the negative reviews I wasn't actually let down atall.
I expected hardly any jcvd, thin plot and action and that's what I got.
I thought there were some funny moments (the scene with the character of Beech had me chuckling) and the fight scenes looked really good, some complained about...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Jay79


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
well I've just watched this and while I was actually now dreading it from all the negative reviews I wasn't actually let down atall.
I expected hardly any jcvd, thin plot and action and that's what I got.
I thought there were some funny moments (the scene with the character of Beech had me chuckling) and the fight scenes looked really good, some complained about the slow motion but i thought it served well to show how brutal the hits were.
The sepia like colour was annoying to begin with but then it changes later in the movie so that didn't matter too much.
I didn't have the gripes that some did about gang members teaming up with Cung, he had gained their respect. Ok highly unlikely in real life as a real gang would have come back later and shot him dead but hey its just a movie.
I liked the jcvd training scenes but there could have been more, a big fight in the prison for him would have been great.
He really suited this part and I actually think he would do well as the mentor in a new martial arts movie, his moves and kicks looked as good as ever. The audio was a little quiet in these parts and was quite hard to hear what jcvd was saying but there is subtitles or even the volume button.
Cung wasn't as bad as was made out, he was like a quiet assassin, no nonsense man of few words, maybe the odd funny quip would have made him more appealing but in the action/fighting stakes he gets the job done.
I didn't find Peter Weller as over the top as I was led to believe, he's actually quite entertaining and did a decent job.
Maybe there could have been one or two more action scenes overall but what we have is pretty brutal and heavy hitting, no annoying cgi blood popped up or people getting hit 20 times and still standing.
I would watch this again maybe not too soon, it's not great but it's good enough for a night in with a beer and a pizza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME FIGHT MOVIE..", 21 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the coolest martial arts films in a while, being straight to DVD and Bluray you would think it was just another cheesy low budget film but its not, the production on this is pretty sweet and quality all round, this is pretty action packed from start to finish with so many awesome fight scenes mainly between Cung Le and a whole bunch of big ugly thugs and gangsters!! The movie Co stars Jean-Claude Van Damme as a mentor to Cung Le who trains him in the deadly art of martial arts to take out the trash in a town overrun by villains and gangs. Great story, quality action and well directed, if you love martial arts and gangster movies this is both and done with style and well worth watching. Cool soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JCVD hasn't lost it! still putting out great action movies, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great action movie that returns to the heart of the genre. Van Damme still has it and it is great to see him doing what he does best. Great to see a film not reliant on guns!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SYMBOL FOR CHANGE, 20 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Jean-Claude Van Damme plays a minor role as the prison mentor for Mr. Hong (Cung Le)..."There are two tigers inside you." These are seen as occasional flashbacks. Mr. Hong rents an apartment in an Hispanic neighborhood of St. Jude and immediately draws attention to himself. He attempts to pit two gangs against each other (both work for Mr. V (Peter Weller) although does so rather poorly as he leaves a calling card with an oriental symbol for change. But wait...that is all part of the master plan. Mr. V also controls the local cops (Craig Walker, Kristopher Van Varenberg).

Rosanna (Crystal Mantecon) plays the straight honest daughter of the landlord.

Mr. V. recruits Mr. Hong to work for him. The film has some questionable plot points...such as why Mr. Hong was allowed to live so many times. It utilizes grindhouse style music and introduces characters with written screen titles, however the film doesn't quite flow lie a good grindhouse, either by design or poor editing.

F-bomb, sex, nudity (stunt double Arielle Zimmerman)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
very good film at a good price,quickly recieved,thanks,another good film very full of action,more mature than older van damme films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not enough van dammage, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie itself is ok but the main reason for buying it was its supposedly a van damme movie and he just doesn't have enough screen time. But the fight scenes are good and are hero of the piece is quite impressive. Worth a watch and the price I paid wasn't much more than a nights rental so if you can get it for under a fiver you shouldn't be disappointed.
On to the blu ray hd quality well its got a superb picture and very good sound mix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A van damme movie?, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this, as I always do, because it's a new Van Damme movie. Unfortunately, at this stage of his career, Van Damme is obviously beginning to agree to supporting roles. This can be loosely described as a supporting role. I think in all, Van Damme is maybe on screen for 8 minutes or so. Needless to say his name and picture is still plastered all over the DVD case. However, I persevered and watched the whole film as I am a fan of martial arts movies anyway. This was poor at best. Some of the choreography is OK but all in all it is a pretty below par action movie and the fighting scenes start to feel very repetitive. Just gets pass marks for a bit of easy watching, but Van Damme fans will be very disappointed and advised to steer clear. Go for 6 Bullets instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a lazy martial arts film, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly don't bother with this film, i was lucky to see this film for free and i still think that i wasted my time watching it.

Okay i knew Van Damme had a bit part in it and i thought that this film would be a vehicle for Cung Le to show his skills in the fight scenes, but he barely broke a sweat.

The story was terrible, and has been told better in a lot more movies, the acting scenes were just medicore and the fight scenes were just damned lazy, everyone associated with this film should be sacked, that's how bad it is.

Do yourself a favour and if you want to see an action film go and buy from Amazon 'Bad Cop', saw it over the weekend and it wss awesome, why this film didn't have a cinema relise i do not know.

Dragon Eyes, more like Lazy eyes.

Don't watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
good film plenty action good plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ultra violent martial arts flick, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Eyes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
But don't be fooled. Van damme is not in it that much. And he hardly does any fighting at all. But the violence is good. And relentless too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Eyes [DVD]
Dragon Eyes [DVD] by John Hyams (DVD - 2012)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews