Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
I thought this was an really entertaining film with a few interesting twists - and a bargain price, it kept me watching an in suspense.
Published 5 months ago by Bluewaves

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty crap...
Some people say they were pleasantly surprised.
I trusted these people and bought it. It was pretty crap.
Acting wasn't really that great. Really the only thing the movie had going for it was the dude from Tron was in it.
I thought it would be dark, scary, full of jumps, brutal but nope. Fair enough it's got violence but it's just as cheesey as the damn...
Published on 16 July 2012 by A Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty crap..., 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 51 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Some people say they were pleasantly surprised.
I trusted these people and bought it. It was pretty crap.
Acting wasn't really that great. Really the only thing the movie had going for it was the dude from Tron was in it.
I thought it would be dark, scary, full of jumps, brutal but nope. Fair enough it's got violence but it's just as cheesey as the damn film. Dude gets stabbed in the face, looked like he enjoyed it.
Please for love of Gandhi, don't buy it. Trust me, you would rather watch something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No go area, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: 51 [DVD] (DVD)
I first found out about Area 51 in the mid nineties as the height of the X-Files' fame. Area 51 is the codename given to a section of land in the Nevada desert in America. Allegedly, it contains the remains of crashed UFOs etc. I always thought it would make a good movie. I still think it would - the emphasis being that it would make a GOOD movie. Sadly, this is no good.

Er, where do I begin? The cheap special effects? The shoddy acting? The wafer-thin characters? The ludicrous plot holes? It's all there - unfortunately.

Basically, what you have here, is a made-for-TV movie, i.e. wobbly sets, unknown actors and not much more.

Bottom line - it's just short of okay. Some people may like it, but not many. There are so many better alien films out there - like `Alien' for example.

Plus side - the leading lady is cute (that's probably more a plus point for the guys - I can see too many women swooning over sci-fi stalwart Bruce Boxleighter).

Oh, well, never mind. I may have wasted an hour and a half of my life, but it was still more entertaining than a Transformers movie.

(and, who gave this film 5/5 on Amazon? they serious must be taking the pi...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sooooooo lame!, 13 Nov 2012
By 
C. A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 51 [DVD] (DVD)
very crap indeed. There are many fine alien films out there, this is a very, very long way from being one of them.

I agree with you, the cover does offer promise, but it fails to deliver. Some of the cast you will recognise from good work elsewhere, but here they combine their efforts to fail dismally and miserably at the same time. They fail 'dismerably'. There, its so poor i felt the need to invent a word just to express it.

This is an all time low.

Move on, please...there's nothing to see here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear !!, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Jeff Donovan (England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 51 [DVD] (DVD)
Quick grab the Cranberry, there is a turkey on the loose.
I am so glad I did not buy this but watched it on prime. Bruce Boxleitner must be cringing but he was probably the best actor in the film. People say this was a good film, maybe they were watching it while paint dried. So a quick run down, Aliens break loose from the depths of Area 51, on the same day as two highly respected journalists and camera team arrive to get an in depth look at the base. Que monsters with close ups of bad teeth dripping with something slimy and guess what happens, the "highly trained military" panic, shoot each other and get literally ripped apart que gallons of watered down ketchup and a hose pipe to spray it every where before the base is blown up to hide the evidence. Of course some live to tell the tale including a little guy in a funny aliens suit that talks like Professor Steven Hawkins,
All this excitement has given me an appetite, going to see if I can get a Turkey sandwich, minus the ketchup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Naff 51, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: 51 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Please save you money and buy something worth watching. This is worse than B movie quality. In a nutshell: Naff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible film., 10 Aug 2014
By 
Miss West - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 51 (Amazon Instant Video)
Unbelivably terrible film, don't waste your time. Terrible plot, terrible acting, terrible aliens. It's not scary, it's not thrilling, it's not action-packed or suspenseful. It's terrible. But not even terrible enough to be funny. Just terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dear, oh Dear!, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: 51 (Amazon Instant Video)
This is one of the worst films I can remember watching for a long, long time. The acting is just......HAM. As each entirely unconvincing alien makes an appearance, every battle-hardened soldier with gun in hand just stands gawping at it in mock terror until he is either killed or the alien makes a getaway. It continues throughout this truly awful film. I laughed loudest at the end during an aerial shot of a hangar exploding as some 'dead' bodies on the ground move away from the blast!

Don’t be deceived by the recent release date. This must have been made on a budget in the 1980s. It shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother..., 7 July 2014
This review is from: 51 (Amazon Instant Video)
Very disappointing special effects for the aliens - in fact I wouldn't call them special! Could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No.... No...., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 51 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sorry. We quit this one after the blood splatter began to cover the screen and body parts started to fly. It just didn't do anything particularly interesting or new. Aliens set to take over the world. Again. And again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: 51 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was an really entertaining film with a few interesting twists - and a bargain price, it kept me watching an in suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

51 [DVD]
51 [DVD] by Bruce Boxleitner (DVD - 2011)
£2.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews