Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are they alone?
An effectively creepy story set on a deserted paradise Island. A young couple take a ten day trip to an uninhabited island off the coast of Australia. After a short time they wonder if they are actually alone.

A good film that I would recommend. But don't expect a blood and guts hooror film, it's more of a chiller.
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Stephen Macdonald

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Garbage
1 hour or so of my life I will never get back. Yes it's beautifully shot but you at least need to things in a film for it to be at least watchable, actors who can act and a plot. This has neither. Don't even talk to me about the ending! Avoid, please please save your money!
Published 17 months ago by Anthonyb6000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Garbage, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
1 hour or so of my life I will never get back. Yes it's beautifully shot but you at least need to things in a film for it to be at least watchable, actors who can act and a plot. This has neither. Don't even talk to me about the ending! Avoid, please please save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor! boring! nothing there!, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
i agree with the most helpful critical view! it was dull and very dissapointing! also the acting was so bad! i couldn't wait for it to finish! no scares at all!. i was suprised to see it did get no bad stars except mine! honest guys if this is classed as good then i must be missing something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are they alone?, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
An effectively creepy story set on a deserted paradise Island. A young couple take a ten day trip to an uninhabited island off the coast of Australia. After a short time they wonder if they are actually alone.

A good film that I would recommend. But don't expect a blood and guts hooror film, it's more of a chiller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film..theres no blood/gore etc, which i like , but i did like this one aswell..Was quite creepy in bits..A slow burner but stick with it, and the end isnt bad either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, predictable and generic: A total disappointment, 25 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
I had my eye on Uninhabited a while before its release, hoping that I'd found a little gem of direct to DVD survival horror. What I got was quite the opposite.

A Marine Biology student and her boyfriend travel to a remote coral island on the Great Barrier Reef for a romantic sun-sea-sex holiday. Supposedly deserted, the island would seem like the perfect paradise. However, when our couple find mysterious footsteps in the sand near their camp, it becomes chillingly apparent that they're not alone.

You'd think that Uninhabited has the perfect setup for at least an original plot and some effective scares, though it fails quite dramatically on almost every level, becoming a painfully predictable and tiresome struggle to reach the final frames. Chemistry between the couple is completely non-existent and the acting, particularly from the male lead, is noticeably bad. I found myself glancing anxiously towards the clock around the half way mark, which is never a good sign.

That said, the film does take good advantage of its gorgeous, eerie locations and is reasonably well shot, considering the fairly low budget. Hence two stars instead of one.

Ultimately, Uninhabited is a disappointing missed opportunity. What could've been a fantastic, innovative and surprising survival horror is instead a forgettable waste of time and money. See it if you have 'must see every single direct to DVD thriller ever made' syndrome, like myself, otherwise I'd leave it well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
Most boring film i have ever watched. That's an hour and half i will never get back. No exciting or scary stuff in the film. Acting was terrible. Only one word to descibe the film BORING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother watching, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. Davy "Jonno P D" (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, East Midlands, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
Worse film I've ever seen. Nothing happened for an hour... and I missed the end as I fell asleep!

May watch again from the last 30mins of the film as I always watch my films to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kept me interested, 15 July 2013
By 
James Redford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
two people on a supposed deserted island sounds boring but i must say i liked it acting pretty good. watch it for the blue sky's and barrier reef if nothing else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Fordy Finn "Agent Finn" (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked Paradise Lost you will probably like this. It was a decent little ghost story and had one of those 'Inspired by actual events' slapped on at the beginning. Which I thought here we go another Wolf Creek 'lets make everyone think its real'.

But after watching the special features at the end it appears it is based on the writer/directors partial experience from 1974! I think this actually added a little creepines to the film expecially as they showed you photographs of the actual hut & grave. Therefore my 6 out of ten rose to 7 out of ten.
Its ok for something to watch, but dont come here looking for gore, violence or jump out of your seat scares... there aint none!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced... un convincing end, 26 Oct 2011
By 
popfan (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Uninhabited [DVD] (DVD)
this film is about a couple who go to an uninhabited island- oh surprise! its not uninhabited- there is a vengeful spirit. To not spoil it i will say the ending trys to set up a sequel, having seen plenty like it i saw the ending a mile off. Thats not to say it hasnt its moments , the location is stunning and the fact there is a decent plot makes it a fine watch. If you like to watch hot people scared then give it a go- its predictable but worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uninhabited [DVD]
Uninhabited [DVD] by Lachlan Milne (DVD - 2011)
5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews