Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i think it even beats most wanted
i own all the nfs games apart from the shift series and this 1 was well enjoyed. people saying because its short its crap, well they are wrong main race is still a good few hours gameplay. wonna whine then turn up the difficulty. the games about competing with other people and unlocking cars, which btw is awesome online with different rewards per game for 1st, top3 and...
Published on 26 Dec 2011 by Ashley Halliwell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
I have never really been a huge fan of the "need for speed" series...although I loved Need for speed - Shift", but thought I would give this a whirl.

What I immediately noticed was the fact it's a typical E.A. presentation, where you have to wait for ages for any action to happen...menu after menu, cinematic sequences, etc etc...sometimes I feel a little less...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by S. Hammond


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 4 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Seen mixed reviews for this game so weren't sure what to expect. Had all the previous NFS games, game has a good plot and an enjoyable storyline that really keeps you locked into the game, cars are great and graphics are good as always. Only fault I could give it is the length, its pretty short so if you a decent gamer a couple of hours and you'll be done, kept me entertained and will be playing it again for sure, worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed: The Run, 30 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is excellent will keep you entertained for hours.

The graphics are pretty good and the storyline keeps you interested throughout.

There is a wide range of different cars and tracks to race though many in the "run" series are fairly easy , however if you play the challenge series to obtain a gold medal is much more challenging, and will have you hooked as you unlock more cars and tracks.

The online play is just as good although it is full contact there is alot of crashes which ruin your chances of setting a good time or winning.

Overall i gave it 4 out of 5 , just missed out on 5 due to the fact it does take quite along time to load each race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i think it even beats most wanted, 26 Dec 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i own all the nfs games apart from the shift series and this 1 was well enjoyed. people saying because its short its crap, well they are wrong main race is still a good few hours gameplay. wonna whine then turn up the difficulty. the games about competing with other people and unlocking cars, which btw is awesome online with different rewards per game for 1st, top3 and top 5 in the races depending on which roles in. Loads of cars to unlock and there is a slight mod car peature where u can pick the body kits and different paint jobs. story line is good, online play is lots of fun and the best way to unlock some awesome cars. i think if you have an issue with this game you havnt given it a chance to win you over. my need for speed favourites 1.the run / underground 2 , 3. most wanted , 4. hot pursuit 2 (very old but i loved it) , 5. underground , 6. undercover , 7. hot pursuit (new) , 8. undercover , 9. shift 2 , 10. carbon.. ANYWAY this game is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 10 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The latest in the NFS series is a coast to coast race across the USA.
It's exactly what you'd expect - decent graphics and performance and good entertainment.

For some reason though they've decided to try and incorporate some action outside of the car which doesn't add anything to the story and simply involves pressing the button shown on the screen at the right time. Fortunately there are only a few of these sections in the main game.

It's also feels like they've rushed it out a little, I've encountered a few graphical glitches along the way and it's crashed the console twice (an experience my friends have also experienced whilst playing this).

The multiplayer element of the game is the bit that will keep you coming back to it time and time again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 22 Feb 2012
By 
S. Hammond "Steve" (Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have never really been a huge fan of the "need for speed" series...although I loved Need for speed - Shift", but thought I would give this a whirl.

What I immediately noticed was the fact it's a typical E.A. presentation, where you have to wait for ages for any action to happen...menu after menu, cinematic sequences, etc etc...sometimes I feel a little less could be more, although presentation certainly is glossy.

Gameplay however I found really infuriating, whereby you have to be as quick as you can to reach a certain place...and as far up the rank of drivers as you can.

I found time and time again, it reminded me of the infuriating "burnout series".....negotiating often impossible obstacles on your way...resulting in slow-mo presentation of the crash you just had...just as in "burnout"....which I find really tends to rub my face in it, it's almost a case is "here's what you just did...which you shouldnt have done!"...

Graphics are good, sound is good, presentation if glossy, if a little long-winded, The fun aspect I found quickly dissipated, but I am sure with a lot more practice, this will prove to grow on me (hopefully not like some kind of lethal fumgus!!!)

Give it a whirl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great game, 28 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game is great and unique because its not like any other nfa game. It takes place in difrrent location like San Fransisco, Las Vegas, Chicago and New york!

this game reminds me on the 2 fast 2 furious films :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Need for Speed Yet, 18 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have know idea what game the other reviewers are playing but it can't be the run....

There are a few bad points... ie the beginning sequence makes you push a bunch of buttons to escape a car, very tedious and a video would have done. Also the crashes are good but you only ever see the damage to your own car and so no satifaction destoying a camper van on the way to their jollies... The pop ups giving you info 'ie pull into a petrol station to change your car' seem to come at the worst polissble time, the only times I seem to crash are right after those bloody pop ups which thank fully are only about once per race and will hopefully stop once I've got further (3 hours into playing). My final niggle is the story line, so you escape from a car and get spotted on the run, so surely the idea is your on the run? but wait now your racing against 200 other cars, confusing and not fitting to the title and game... Oh and the Music score is pants

HOWEVER, the gameplay, graphics, controls, cars, tracks etc are STUNNING, I own a PS3 and a 360 and can hands down say I have had more fun with this than any other racing game, PERIOD, beats GT, Forza, Dirt etc etc, the graphics are stunning, the cars are gleaming and every detail is there.... I am blown away by this game....

The whole point of a game for me is to be immersed and enjoy myself and that is what this gives, it's not like GT and F1 where you need days of playing to perfect the driving skills, this is a get it out the box and play type of game, no experience required to win first time kinda thing..... Great for a Friday night when you've finsihed work and just want to kick some A$$.

And to think I got this on pre-order from Amazon for £24.99 makes me even happier (37.99 on the day of release).

Great Job, Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 25 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love most of the NFS games and this one is good too but its a bit short, i completed it in a couple of hours so if its just the run that you want to do and not the online features, id rent it instead of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Perfect but Fun in Short Bursts, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Lova - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a racing game this is definetly in the "Arcade" category.Most damage that occurs to the selected vehicle appears to have no effect on performance unless the crash is so severe that a restart level is activated.Braking on an apparently icy road at 200 mph brings the vehicle to an incredibly abrupt halt!
However,it cannot be denied that the actual gameplay is very entertaining.Graphics,sound effects (Turn off the Dire Music!)and gameplay are top drawer.What's not top drawer are the annoying scenarios that occur between some levels involving your character,fighting,running,jumping and other such nonsense.Truly Tiresome!The long time waiting for each level to load is also below par in this day and age and spoils the flow of the game.
In my view a great game to play for 30 minutes or so but fails in the addictive quality category that excellent racing games have going for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointed! We need Underground 3 or Most Wanted 2!, 15 Feb 2012
By 
M. TERRY-BEDFORD "M4rcu5 GT96" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I had been waiting a while for this game to come out and looked forward to playing, however I actually didn't enjoy playing it!

Story - 4/5, The game does have a good story too it but it isn't the whole point of the game. You have to race from San Franciso to New York for a $25,000,000 purse and pass 199 car's throughout the (sarcastic) 3,000 miles of aspalt! You play as Jack who is a marked man and is at threat by the mobs, so he enters the race to settle it down!

Gameplay - 1/5, Yes, this is what I am saying is wrong with the game. Everycar does feel different and drive different, but lot's of cars oversteer and loose control at slow speeds, so you lose time and car's pass you. Muscle car's are a total waste of time (except from the Shelby Cobra Daytona), they just drive the same speed of any other car but they are too slow arround corners. There are parts where you play on foot, which are kind of fun but useless because you just press a button (I thought need for speed was just a plain driving game). There are often police helecopters and the mob that chase you with a gun which make you crash because you are forever avoiding gun fire and crashing into things, making you waste all 5 reset's at the start of the level! Completing through the run can be done in a matter of a few hours and is no-where near 3,000 miles, more-like not even 300 miles, and the challenge series is fine but it get's boring quickly!

Fun - 2/5, I would say that the game is pretty fun through the run, when you just drive arround quite roads but when there is gun-shot or oncooming traffic, it's waaayyy too much! The challenge series is also something cool to play too after you complete the run!

Sound - 3/5, The engine sound is very alike the past need for speed games but the music used makes it too-much like a hollywood movie than a game and most soundtracks don't even fit the tracks you race at!

Graphics - 2/5, To say that the game run's on the frost-bite 2 engine, the graphic's don't look anything like it! The car modelling is very good and im not saying that the world modelling is bad either but in mountain levels, the textures of rocks and snow is very low resolution and fuzzy but the game runs at 1080p, I would much sooner see the game running at 720p but with high resolution texutres and better anti-aliasing. Also the colour sceme is too dark and full of dull colours, so that I can't even see the damn roads! Most wanted was released like 6 years ago on a past-gen console and even had better graphics, what have EA done?

Online Play - 1/5, What the heck! they expect me to pay 800 microsoft point's to play online with this game whic his like £6 when I already paid £39.99 for the game itself. Why would I pay that after I tried out the trial and it just cut-of my connection between races so that I couldn't earn any achievements there!

Conclusion - I give this game a 2.2/5 (2/5 on amazon) and don't advise you buy this game unless you wan't to give it a try and see what you think, It just wasn't fun to me most of the time. If you don't have Need for Speed most wanted or one of the old Undergrounds, buy those instead. Don't waste your money, We need an NFS Underground 3 or NFS Most Wanted 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360)
Need for Speed: The Run (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews