Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2004
I was surprised when i first listened to this album, i had read a book on Black Sabbath, and was informed that if you like Sabbath then you are bound to like this, I wouldnt agree.
The link between the two ends at the occultist lyrics, i put this on expecting to hear doom laden heavy riffs, and they just didnt happen.
Thats not to say that this isnt an interesting and in parts very good album, the opener In ancient days is stong, as is Way to power, come to the sabbat is not so good, the chanting becomes tiresome and doesnt shock at all. My favourite track is seduction which contains a really cheesy (but great) organ/sax sound which i cant listen to without a smile.
The rest of the tracks are interesting enough, although not groundbreaking in any way.
There is some great artwork inside the cover, and all in all this is worth buying, most people will find something to like about this.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2008
People tend to read about Black Widow's theatrical devil-worshipping antics and assume some Midlands blue collar heavy rock kinship with Black Sabbath. Not so. When you come to terms with the fact that the Widow weren't a particularly heavy band, you can settle down to a fine, fine album of period jazz rock, man. No headbanging here, this is thoroughly groovy stuff.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2010
I love this album. it has oodles of flute, heavy bass and drums and nice Hammond organ swirles.Plus, a great prog feel to it. I cant stop listening to it. Occult? Black magic? Ooops I dont really listen to lyrics. Hmm, seems pretty tame to me, bit of a ghost story. I cant see what the fuss is about, heck you gotta write about something for an album. This is a great lost prog album, similar in feel to the Nice or Atomic Rooster. It really is good if you just forget the lyrics, which arent really that bad anyway.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2001
Black Widow were one of those bands who formed in the late sixties when Black Sabbath were just starting. Their music is Sabbath influenced especially the lyrics though the sound is more folky with flutes etc. The opening song "In ancient days" has probably the most satanic lyrics ever written, probably made even more sinister from the fact that the song is quite light and has a Jethro Tull feel to it. Although the style of lyrics changed in their latter albums, this album was probably influencial in its own way on the occultish bands that followed in the seventies and eighties. The last track has a strange interlude where the flautist plays a repetitive riff which reminds me of the Prodigy's "113 kilos". Overall this is an album for completists who want to delve into the historic origns of dark rock. The anthem "come to the sabbat" is probably the best know track they have ever done but personally I think it is the weakest track on the album. This is an album for those who want an obscure title to use as a talking point for their friends. I have given it a 4 as it WAS innovative back in 1970 and there are some memorable points on it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Had this on vinyl in 70s and as happens disappeared through varying moves and lending to people and not getting back. I love it very nostalgic
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
if andrew lloyd webber wrote a musical about satanists it would sound a bit like this and throughout the album there are places to squirm . But this is due to its age and the period it was created in, there are some wonderful light jazzy moments which relieve the satanic revelling and these are surprisingly effective thirty years on . Some have menace and joy in equal measure as come to the sabbat , in ancient days et al. if satanism is to be at all alluring it has to express an ineffable desire for the supernatural and this album does just that 5 stars !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
'The group were pioneers of dark metal...' WTF? Do all the reviewers who Amazon selects for their product descriptions actually listen to the CDs they write about? Just to hammer it home to stop people mistakenly buying this thinking it's something like Black Sabbath, or early death metal, the only connection between metal, Sabbath and this band is the band's name and the song titles. Electric guitars play a small role in this band's music, and guitar solos are few and far between. The organ is far more prominent, and there are even brass instruments (their only mistake in my opinion). This is competent early 70s jazzy progressive rock but with satanic-based song titles and themes. It's great if you like that kind of music, although the lyrics and song titles have probably put many people off from giving the album a good listen, but metalheads will no doubt find this deadly boring.

However, I must disagree with those that hate this album. It must surely be a big disappointment to find that what looked like a lost Black Sabbath album turns out to be folky jazz with horns. But actually, this album has atmosphere, often generated by the dark organ playing that plays the role of the electric guitar on this album. There's a bit of tasteful wah-wah guitar on one or two tracks, but more like standard blues-rock playing than anything like Tony Iommi. I would like this album even more if there were no brass instruments - I've always hated them in any hard music, or music trying to create a serious atmosphere. In jazz rock they are very important, but I could have done without them on this album. So if you like progressive rock, you may be surprised how good this is. These were not bandwagon-jumpers without a clue, but competent musicians who'd already released a semi-decent album in 1969 as Pesky Gee!. On the other hand, if you like metal or are looking for more Sabbath, more than likely you'll hate this with a passion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
New remaster better than this made far to loud and lacking space if you love the band get the new ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)